Crisis Respite Services for Persons with Developmental Disabilities
Agency contact information:
Human Services (DHS), Minnesota Department of
P.O. Box 64242
St. Paul, MN 55164-0242
(651) 431-2000 | For TTY/TDD communication, use Minnesota Relay Service at 711 or (800) 627-3529
Division of Licensing
Contact Info: General questions email contact
The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) offers programs for health care, child support, food support, general assistance, nursing home care, seniors, people who are deaf, people who have developmental disabilities, foster care, child protection and adult and children's mental health services.
Worker's Compensation Insurance Form
More licensing information and application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Human Services (DHS) website, at People with Disabilities section.
These services are governed by Minn. Stat. § 245B and these standards describe:
1) requirements for conducting assessments of persons receiving services;
2) developing programming to respond to identified needs of the individual;
3) ensuring rights of persons receiving services;
4) identifying staff qualifications, orientation and training requirements,
5) service expectations to ensure health and safety of persons receiving services, and
6) policy and procedure requirements of the program.
In addition, the following rules or statutes apply to this service:
Minn. Stats. §§ 626.557 and 626.5572 (Vulnerable Adults Act)
Minn. Stat. § 626.556 (Maltreatment of Minors Act)
Minn. Stat. § 245A.65 (Reporting of suspected maltreatment)
Minn. Rules, parts 9525.2700-.2780 (DHS Rule 40) Standards governing the use of aversive and deprivation procedures in programs licensed to serve persons with developmental disabilities (DD).
Psychotropic Medication Use Checklist (PMUC) and Psychotropic Medication Monitoring Manual
License is issued for statewide service. Crisis respite services are available under the Minnesota DD Home and Community Based Services Waiver.
Initial License Application Fee: The initial license application fee is $550. It is not prorated, is nonrefundable, and is in lieu of the annual license fee that expires on December 31. No application will be processed until the application fee is paid.
Annual License Fee: See Minn. Stat. § 245A.10.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
For the initial license which is 12 months or less and expires on December 31, licenses are issued for one year on a calendar year basis.
Length of Determination Process:
Minn. Stat. § 245A.04, subd. 1 requires that the Commissioner shall act on the application within 90 working days after a complete application has been received and any required reports have been received from other state agencies or departments, counties, municipalities, or other political subdivisions.
Other Pertinent Information:
Technical assistance on crisis respite services may be obtained by contacting the Dept. of Human Services, Disability Services Division at (651) 431-2400 or (800) 747-5484.
Minn. Stat. § 245B
HCBS Waivered Services of the Minnesota Health Care Provider (MHCP) Manual
Disabilities Services Program Manual
Licensure for adult foster care (Minn. Rules, parts 9555.5105-.6265) or family foster care (Minn. Rules parts 2960.3000-.3340) is completed by the county licensing agency. Please contact the foster care intake worker within the county where services are to be provided.
Information and applications regarding enrollment as a MHCP provider can be obtained by contacting the MN Dept. of Human Services, MHCP Enrolled Providers at (651) 431-2700 or (800) 366-5411.