Commercial Pesticide Applicator License
Agency contact information:
Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
625 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 201-6000 | (800) 967-2474 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
Pesticide and Fertilizer Management Division
Licensing and Certification Unit
Contact Info: Xia Moua, State Program Administrator (Intermediate)
License Information System (LIS) Lookup a License
The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Minn. Stats. 18B.33
New Application for Commercial/Noncommercial Pesticide Applicator
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Agriculture website, Pesticide and Fertilizer Management Division at Pesticide Applicator Licensing.
Individuals intending to apply pesticides in Minnesota for hire must be licensed as a commercial pesticide applicator.
All applicants must meet financial responsibility requirement by certifying to the Minnesota Department of Agriculture that they meet one, or any combination of, the following and the ability to provide upon request:
-Net assets available to satisfy judgments equal to or greater than $50,000.
-Liability Insurance with these minimum liability coverages:
$50,000 bodily injury or death, for each person; and $50,000 bodily injury or death, for each occurrence; and $25,000 property damage for each occurrence.
-A Performance or Surety Bond from a bonding institution with the same monetary limits and provisions as listed under the Liability Insurance option above.
NEW applicants must take and successfully pass a minimum of two category exams.
Refer to MDA information:
In order to renew a license each year, applicants must complete appropriate recertification requirements. Recertification is obtained by attending MDA approved workshop(s) or by re-testing. Applicants who fail to complete recertification requirements will not be allowed to renew their license.
Minnesota law requires commercial pesticide applicators to carry a valid license identification card with them whenever applying general or restricted use pesticides. License identification cards are issued and mailed along with applicator licenses.
Reciprocity: Minnesota issues pesticide applicator licenses via reciprocity to applicators from states with equivalent certification and licensing process.
Refer also to Pesticide Applicator Licensing - Factsheets
Annual license application fee - $50 (not refundable).
Annual Agricultural Chemical Response and Reimbursement (ACRRA) surcharge - $25
Late fee of 50% of the application fee is added to the application total if RENEWAL applications are not received by the MN Department of Agriculture by March 1.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
From date of issuance through December 31.
Length of Determination Process:
License processing time is approximately 3 weeks.