Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Hazardous Materials Endorsement
Agency contact information:
Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 201-7000 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
445 Minnesota St., Suite 190, St. Paul, MN 55101-5190 | (651) 297-5029 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
Contact Info: DVS.firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
In most cases, must be 21 years old to haul hazardous materials intrastate.
Be 21 years of age for interstate transportation.
Be physically qualified.
Complete Commercial Driver's License self-certification form and provide a valid U.S. DOT Medical Examiners Certificate if applicable.
Complete a Security Threat Assessment, including collection of fingerprints at time of adding HazMat endorsement, transferring from another state, upgrading to a higher class CDL, and at time of renewal. The commissioner may charge the applicant a fee of up to $100 to cover the department's actual costs of conducting the required background check of persons applying for a Minnesota driver's license with a hazardous materials endorsement.
Pass CDL knowledge and endorsements tests.
Pass a road test in a commercial vehicle of a size applicant intends to drive.
Pay fees and make application.
Have no disqualifying convictions on driving record.
One license issued, others must be invalidated.
Knowledge test for HazMat is also required at time of renewal.
View the Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety Commercial Driver's License Endorsements and Restrictions information.
View the Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety Minnesota Commercial Driver's Manual.
Fees for Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
Class A - $45.25
Class B - $37.25
Class C - $30.25
Under 21 years of age (Intrastate only):
Class A - $25.25
Class B - $37.25
Class C - $30.25
Examination fee for each endorsement - $2.50
School bus physical processing fee – original and renewal application - $4
Motorcycle endorsement renewal fee - $13
Enhanced license fee (in addition to regular license fee - $15
Duplicate license fee - $15.75
Total license fee includes additional fees per Minn. Stat. § 171.06, subd. 2.
Retesting fee: Third and subsequent knowledge test (after failing first two) - $10
Retesting fee: Third and subsequent road/skills test (after failing first two) - $20
Period of Issuance:
Commercial driver's licenses always expire on the applicant's birthday and must be renewed every four years once they have reached the age of 21. Knowledge test for Hazardous Materials is required at time of license renewal
Length of Determination Process:
Ten days to two weeks.
Other Pertinent Information:
Under the driver qualification rules, a driver must be physically qualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle. Recent changes in federal regulations and state law requires all CDL holders to certify their commercial operating status.