License Minnesota

Collection Agency and Debt Collector

Collection agency means and includes any person engaged in the business of collection for others any account, bill or other indebtedness except as hereinafter provided. It includes persons who furnish collection systems carrying a name which simulates the name of a collection agency and who supply forms or form letters to be used by the creditor, even though such forms direct the debtor to make payments directly to the creditor rather than to such fictitious agency. Collector is a person acting under the authority of a collection agency and on its behalf in the business of collection for others an account, bill, or other indebtedness.

Agency contact information:

Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 539-1500
(651) 539-1547(fax)
Licensing Unit
(651) 539-1599 | (800) 657-3978 (MN only, outside Metro area)
(651) 539-0107 (fax)
Contact Info: licensing.commerce@state.mn.us

Website:

Collections Licensing

Banking & Finance

License Lookup Directory


The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 332

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 2870.0100 - 2870.5100

Forms:

Collection Agency:

* Collection Agency Financial Statement form
* Officer list
* Electronic application at Pearson VUE PULSE portal


Debt Collector Registration:
 
* Electronic application at Pearson VUE PULSE portal


Surety Bond Forms:


Collection Bond Form--Corp. or LLC

Collection Bond Form--Indiv. Prop.

Collection Bond Form--Partnership


Collection Agency Financial Statement

Disclosure of Company Owners, Partners Officers

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

Requirements:

Collection Agency  

-Electronic Application
-Financial statement
-Surety bond (see Minn. Stat. § 332.34 to calculate amount) 
-Register with the MN Secretary of State - copy of certificate.
-Officer list
-Copy of articles from state of domicile


Debt Collector Registration 

Electronic Application

A collection agency/branch representative must go to the Pearson VUE PULSE portal website, log into the agency's user account, click on "Minnesota Department of Commerce" for the program and "Debt" for the board, and click on "Submit License Application" and "Begin an Individual License Application."

After submital of an individual debt collector registration application, applicant should do an application status inquiry on Pearson VUE PULSE portal to see when the registration is issued.

The debt collector must be employed by a collection agency that holds a Minnesota license for the physical location where the debt collector conducts business.

See the Commerce Department information, Who Needs A Collections License.

Fee:

Collection Agency:

License - $1,000 ($500 of which is investigative fee).
Branch Office - $500
Renewal fee - $400
Reactivation fee (per lapsed license) - $500


Debt Collector:

Registration fee and Renewal- $15 (includes fee surcharge)

The online system vendor also charges a $9.95 application fee and a credit card processing fee.


License Surcharge Notice
Minnesota law now requires any board or agency to assess a surcharge on all new licenses or registrations issued or renewed until June 30, 2015.  Only those applicants already paying a current and separate Technology Surcharge are exempt from the new surcharge. The surcharge is 10 percent of the fee -- no less than $5 and no more than $150 -- on each business, commercial, professional, and occupational license or registration. This surcharge is being collected on behalf of MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)) to fund a statewide electronic licensing system (Minn. Stat. § 16E.22). It is identified on the Sircon and PULSE systems as the "OET surcharge."  Please call (651) 556-8005 for further information.

Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

One year.

Length of Determination Process:

45 days from receipt of complete application.

Other Pertinent Information:

See Minn. Stat. § 332.31-51.