Certified Interior Designer (CID)
Agency contact information:
Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience and Interior Design (AELSLAGID), Minnesota Board of
85 E. 7th Place, Suite 160
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 296-2388 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
(651) 297-5310 (fax)
Contact Info: Laurie.Nistl@state.mn.us
The Minnesota Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience and Interior Design (AELSLAGID) licenses and regulates the practice of architecture, professional engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, geoscience, and use of title for certified interior design.
Minn. Stats. 326
Certified Interior Design Application
Certified Interior Design Application for MN Licensed Architects
Application forms are available on the Board website at Applications for Examination, Licensure and Certification.
Interior Design exam candidates must contact National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) at (202) 721-0220 to register for the NCIDQ Examination. You DO NOT fill out an application for the Board until the NCIDQ Examination has been passed.
Certified Interior Designer Application Fee - No Cost
Certified Interior Designer (already a Minnesota licensed architect) Application Fee - $50
Comity Application Fee - $100
Certification Fee - $120 + a surcharge of $12
Temporary military license fee - $132
NCIDQ (National Council of Interior Design Qualifications) examination*
*Contact NCIDQ (National Council of Interior Design Qualifications) at (202) 721-0220 for exam cost and obtain an application to take the exam.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Two years, period ending on June 30 of each even numbered year.
Length of Determination Process:
1 -2 months.
Other Pertinent Information:
See Minn. Stat. § 326.02-.15.
More information can be obtained from the NCIDQ (National Council of Interior Design Qualifications).