Boiler Engineer: Ten Classes
Agency contact information:
Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 284-5005 | (800) 342-5354 | (651) 297-4198 (TTY)
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Licensing and Certification Services
(651) 284-5059 | (800) 342-5354
Contact Info: DLI.License @state.mn.us
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports.
Minn. Stats. 183.375
There are 10 commercial licenses for the operation of low- and high-pressure boilers, one hobby license for the operation of steam traction engines and one pilot's license for the operation of boats-for-hire used on Minnesota's inland waters. The 10 commercial license classifications are:
Chief Engineer, classes A, B or C;
First Class Engineer -- classes A, B or C;
Second Class Engineer -- classes A, B or C; and
Boiler operator license application and affidavit of operating experience is available on the MN Dept. of Labor and Industry (DLI) website at Boiler and hobby boiler licensing.
E-Licensing surcharge is in effect for fee schedules.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination Process:
Within week of application. Exam scored same day taken. License card issued within two weeks of passing exam or renewing license.
Other Pertinent Information:
See Minn. Stat. § 183.375-.62.
See also Update an Existing License