Agency contact information:
Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 201-5000 | (888) 345-0823 (MN toll free)
Compliance Monitoring Division
Health Occupations Program -Audiologist Licensing Mailing adress: P.O. Box 64882 | St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 -or-
Health Occupations Program -Audiologist Licensing FedEx address: 85 East Seventh Place| St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 | (651) 201-3726 | (651) 201-3839
Contact Info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Health Health is the state's lead public health agency, responsible for protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans.
Minn. Stats. 148.5198
Application for License of Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist
Verification of Credential Form
and Renewal and Continuing Education information.
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Health (MDH) website, Health Occupations Program at Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Licensing Program.
License system provides practice and title protection for audiologists.
-Doctoral degree in an accredited program.
-Completion of a doctoral Externship.
-A qualifying score on the National Examination in Speech Language Pathology or Audiology (NESPA).
-A passing score on the Minnesota practical tests of proficiency for hearing instrument dispensing.
Renewal of licensure requires documentation of continuing education.
Review the Application Instructions for a License as an Audiologist information.
Initial fees are prorated according to the number of months remaining until the first scheduled license renewal.
Month Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec
Fee $487 $479 $459 $438 $487 $468 $448 $428 $408 $388 $331 $311
Biennial Renewal fee - $479 including surcharge
Renewal Late fee charge - $45
Temporary License Fee for Applicants Credentialed by ASHA, ABA or Other States - $79
Agency also offers temporary license for clinical fellow/doctoral externship Audiologist. Fee is prorated with maximum fee of $326 for an 18 month period. This license may be renewed twice. This license can only be used during the clinical fellow or doctoral externship period.
Agency also has a temporary license for those who are in the process of seeking permanent licensing. The license is good for 90 days or when full license is issued.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination Process:
30 to 60 days.
Other Pertinent Information:
See Minn. Stat. § 148.511-.5198.