Agency contact information:
Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 539-1599 | (800) 657-3978 (MN only, outside Metro area)
(651) 539-0114 (fax)
Contact Info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Minn. Stats. 386
Electronic application at Pearson VUE
Additional information available on the MN Dept. of Commerce website, Businesses, Real Estate Company, Abstractor section at Apply for an Abstractor License.
See the information available on the MN Dept. of Commerce website, Businesses, Real Estate Company, Abstracter section at Apply for an Abstractor License, Questions about Licensing and Who Needs an Abstractor License.
Individual and/or Company new license - $55 (includes fee surcharge)
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination Process:
Other Pertinent Information:
More information is available regarding Abstractor licensing on the MN Dept. of Commerce website, Real Estate section at Abstractor License.