License Minnesota

All-terrain Vehicle (ATV) Dealer License

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

Agency contact information:

Natural Resources (DNR), Minnesota Department of
500 Lafayette Rd.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6157 | (888) 646-6367 | (651) 296-5484 (TTY) | (800) 657-3929 (TTY)
DNR License Center
500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
Registration & Titling Section
(651) 296-2316 | (800) 285-2000 | (651) 296-5484 (TTY Metro area) | (800) 657-3929 (TTY)
Contact Info: info.dnr@state.mn.us

Website:

Off-highway vehicle registrations and fees

DNR Mobile Apps

Social Media Page

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) manages the state's natural resources. Hunting, fishing, state forests and parks, lakes, rivers and streams, boating and water safety, trails, snowmobiling, skiing, education, enforcement, wildlife management, lands and minerals are managed by the DNR.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 84.922

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 6102.0020

Forms:

Application for ATV Dealer License

Dealer and manufacturer registration applications are available and plates may be purchased at a local deputy registrar and at the DNR License Center. The plates will be issued from the DNR.

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS), Driver & Vehicle Services (DVS) Office Locations.

Requirements:

OHV (Off-highway Vehicle) dealers and manufacturers must register with the DNR to operate machines for testing or demonstration purposes. A registration certificate and a registration plate will be issued. The registration certificate must be prominently displayed in the place of business.

A dealer license is not necessary if ATVs are not in operation or use.


Dealer's receive one plate with their license. Additional plates cost $4 plus filing fee per plate.

The registration plate must be displayed on the vehicle before dealers or manufacturers may operate or permit operation of any off-highway vehicle they own or control.


Off-Highway Vehicles Regulations 2014-2015

Fee:

New - $50 fee + $8.50 issuing fee

Renewal - $50 fee + $6 issuing fee 

Period of Issuance:

One year.

Length of Determination Process:

One to three weeks.