Hair Braiding Registration
Agency contact information:
The Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners (BCE) regulates the examination, practice and registration of all licensed apprentices, instructors, as well as inspection of all salons and schools.
Minn. Stats. 155A.28
Hair Braiding Registration
The application is available on the BCE website at Hair Braiding Yearly Registration Application.
Any person engaged in hair braiding solely for compensation as a profession, except persons licensed as cosmetologists, shall register with the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners in a form determined by the board.
"Hair braiding" means a natural form of hair manipulation that results in tension on hair strands by beading, braiding, cornrowing, extending, lacing, locking, sewing, twisting, weaving, or wrapping human hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers, and hair extensions into a variety of shapes, patterns, and textures predominantly by hand and by only using simple braiding devices, and maintenance thereof.
Hair braiding includes what is commonly known as "African-style hair braiding" or "natural hair care" but is not limited to any particular cultural, ethnic, racial, or religious forms of hair styles.
Hair braiding includes the making of customized wigs from natural hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers, and hair extensions.
Hair braiding includes the use of topical agents such as conditioners, gels, moisturizers, oils, pomades, and shampoos.
Hair braiding does not involve the use of penetrating chemical hair treatments, chemical hair coloring agents, chemical hair straightening agents, chemical hair joining agents, permanent wave styles, or chemical hair bleaching agents applied to growing human hair. For purposes of this section, "simple hair braiding devices" means clips, combs, curlers, curling irons, hairpins, rollers, scissors, needles, thread, and hair binders including adhesives, if necessary, that are required solely for hair braiding.
In order to qualify for initial registration, any person engaged in hair braiding solely for compensation as a profession, except persons licensed as cosmetologists, shall satisfactorily complete instruction at either an accredited school, professional association, or by an individual approved by the board. Instruction includes coursework covering the topics of health, safety, sanitation, and state laws related to cosmetology not to exceed 30 hours. The coursework is encouraged to be provided in a foreign language format and such availability shall be reported to and posted by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners.
$20 per year.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination Process:
15 days from receipt.
Other Pertinent Information:
Copies of the statutes and rules are available in the office.
All material can be obtained by visiting the Board office or requesting the material be sent.