License Minnesota

Chiropractic, Doctor of

Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Agency contact information:

Chiropractic Examiners, Minnesota Board of
2829 University Ave. S.E., Suite 300
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3220
(651) 201-2850 | For TTY communication, use Minnesota Relay Service at 711 or (800) 627-3529
(651) 201-2852(fax)

Website:

Chiropractic Examiners, Minnesota Board of


Online Renewal and Information Changes 

The Chiropractic Examiners Board exists to protect the public's interest through regulation of chiropractors in the State of Minnesota. Regulation is accomplished through licensure examination and renewal, as well as by investigation of complaints.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 148

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 2500.0100 - 2500.7090

Forms:

Application forms are available from the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

The Board offers Online Renewal and Information Changes on their website.

Requirements:

Refer to the Requirements for Licensure to Practice information on the Board's website.


Pre-Professional:
-1/2 of all credits required to graduate with a Baccalaureate Degree in sciences.

Professional:
-Graduation from a college accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) or its equivalent.

-Completion of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) Parts I, II, III, IV, and physiotherapy as well as the Minnesota Jurisprudence examination.

Fee:

Application Fee - $250 (Includes Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination)

National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) Examination fees - (Contact NBCE at (970) 356-9100)


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Annual (Jan. 1 to Dec. 31 of each year).

Length of Determination Process:

Licenses are issued on the 1st day of each calendar month following the completion of the application process, which includes scores from exams as above, receipt of all professional and pre-professional transcripts, fee, or any other requirements of application.

Other Pertinent Information:

Separate registrations (forms and fees) are required for the following activities:
- Acupuncture (in conjunction with/preparation for a chiropractic adjustment)
- Animal chiropractic
- Graduate preceptor
- Independent Examiner
- Professional Firm


NOTE: SPECIAL PROVISIONS PERTAINING TO A WAIVER OF VARIOUS REQUIREMENTS FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL WHO ARE, OR HAVE RECENTLY BEEN, ACTIVELY DEPLOYED MAY BE FOUND AT MINN. STATS. §§ 326.55 and 326.56.