Peace Officer License
Agency contact information:
Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 201-7000 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST), Minnesota Board of
1600 University Ave., Suite 200, St. Paul, MN 55104-3825 | (651) 643-3060
(651) 643-3072 (fax)
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Minn. Stats. 626.84
MINNESOTA RULES 6700.
Application for Licensing Examination
Request for Peace Officer License
Step 1: PROFESSIONAL PEACE OFFICER EDUCATION
To become eligible for a Minnesota Peace Officer License, candidates must complete a professional peace officer licensing program and earn a two- or four-year degree from one of twenty-five POST-certified Peace Officer education programs. Interested individuals should contact any of the Professional Peace Officer Education program coordinators for enrollment information. The coordinator can explain more about the program at that school and whether or not any previous course work may be applied toward their program.
MINIMUM SELECTION STANDARDS FOR HIRING A PERSON ELIGIBLE FOR LICENSING BY LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES: Applicants should also be aware of the Minimum Selection Standards for hiring a person eligible for licensing by law enforcement agencies.
These standards are set forth in Minn. Rules 6700.0700.
Step 2: PEACE OFFICER LICENSING EXAMINATION After successfully completing the degree program students must pass the Minnesota Peace Officer Licensing Examination.
Step 3: ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE Students who have successfully completed the required Professional Peace Officer Education and passed the Peace Officer Licensing Examination are termed "eligible to be licensed." However, completing the education requirements and passing the licensing exam in themselves do not result in licensure. Individuals who are "eligible to be licensed" are not licensed until they are hired by a law enforcement agency and can satisfy the minimum selection standards. In their hiring process a law enforcement agency may apply its own additional standards. The hiring agency also determines the physical standards its own personnel must meet.
Test fee for peace officer - $105
License fee for peace officer - $90
Period of Issuance:
Three years ending June 30.
Length of Determination Process:
Within two weeks after the exam.
Other Pertinent Information:
See Minn. Stat. § 626.84-.863.
Reciprocity may be available to licensed peace officers from outside the state of Minnesota. Reciprocity may also be available to individuals who have served in the U.S. military in a law enforcement capacity. Five years active duty in a military police classification and an honorable discharge are necessary to qualify. Information pertaining to reciprocity is listed on the POST Board website or by contacting Daniel Glass, Licensing and Testing Coordinator, at (651) 201-7784.