License Minnesota

Cosmetologist -Individual Licenses

Cosmetologist licenses are issued to individuals who have been trained in the cosmetic care of the hair, skin, and nails. Esthetician licenses are issued to individuals who have been trained in the cosmetic care of the skin only. Nail Technician licenses are issued to individuals who have been trained in the cosmetic care of the nails only.

Agency contact information:

Cosmetologist Examiners (BCE), Minnesota Board of
University Park Plaza, Suite 710
2829 University Ave. S.E.
Minneapolis, MN 55414
(651) 201-2742
(612) 617-2601 (fax)
Email
Contact Info: bce.board@state.mn.us

Website:

Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners

Cosmetologist Examiners (BCE), Minnesota Board of

License Look-Up

The Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners (BCE) regulates the practice of all cosmetology practitioners, educators, salons, and schools. Its core mission is to constantly strive to serve and care for its licensees, applicants, and the public by being committed to public protection, superior service, excellence, and continuous improvement.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 155A.21

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 2105., 2110.

Forms:

Application forms are available on the Board website at 

Individual Applications

Salons

Schools

General Forms

All Applications & Forms

Requirements:

Initial Operator License

     • Completion of high school or GED

     • Required training in a Minnesota cosmetology school

        - Cosmetologist: 1,550 hours

        - Esthetician: 600 hours 

        - Nail Technician: 350 hours

     • Passing results from practical exam (skills, hands-on)

     • Passing results from general exam (theory, written)

     • Passing results from state exam (laws and rules, written)

     • Complete Initial Operator License Application and fees

        - Initial Operator License Application

Important information: 

     • Training and practical exam results are valid for three years from date of completion. 

     • Written exam results are valid for one year from date of completion.


Endorsement from another state: 

        - Domestic Endorsement Application

Endorsement from another country: 

        - Foreign Endorsement Application 

_____________________________________________


Salon Manager License

     • Current and active Operator License

     • 2700 hours licensed work experience within three years prior to date of application

     • Passing results from salon manager state exam (laws and rules, written)

     • Complete Salon Manager License Application and fees

        - Salon Manager License Application


Important information: 

     • Written exam results are valid for one year from date of completion.

     • The Salon Manager License will be granted only in the field of the
       applicant’s current Operator License.

     • If an Operator License expires before a Salon Manager License
       is obtained, the Operator License must be renewed, including
       payment of the renewal fee and the late renewal penalty. 

     • If the applicant holds an Instructor License, hours spent in a licensed
       school training students on the clinic floor can be used as licensed work experience. 

     • Once a Salon Manager License is obtained, the preceding Operator License is superseded.

Endorsement from another state or country: Not granted for salon managers. Applicants must first obtain an Operator License, then apply for a Salon Manager License.

_____________________________________________


Instructor License

     • Current and active Operator or Salon Manager License

     • 38-hour BCE-approved instructor training course

     • 1400 hours licensed work experience within three years prior to date of application

     • Passing results from instructor practical exam (presentation)

     • Passing results from instructor general exam (theory, written)

     • Passing results from instructor state exam (laws and rules, written)

     • Complete Instructor License Application and fees

        - Instructor License Application


Important information: 

     • Practical and written exam results are valid for one year from date of completion. 

     • The Instructor License will be granted only in the field of the applicant’s current license.

     • The licensee must maintain a current and active Operator or Salon Manager License in addition to the Instructor License.

Endorsement from another state or country: Not granted for instructors. Applicants must first obtain an Operator License, then apply for an Instructor License.

_____________________________________________


School Manager License

     • Current and active Salon Manager License

     • 2700 hours licensed work experience within three years prior to date of application

     • Passing results from school manager state exam (laws and rules, written)

     • Complete School Manager License Application and fees

        - School Manager License Application


Important information: 

     • Written exam results are valid for one year from date of completion. 

     • The licensee must maintain a current and active Salon Manager License in addition to the School Manager License. 

     • If the applicant holds an Instructor License, hours spent in a licensed cosmetology school training students on the clinic floor can be used as licensed work experience.

Endorsement from another state or country: Not granted for school managers. Applicants must first obtain an Operator License, then obtain a Salon Manager License, then apply for a School Manager License.

_____________________________________________


Operator/Salon Manager License Renewal

     • Active (eligible to work)

        - Licensed work experience or BCE-approved 40-hour refresher course

            o Licensed work experience must total at least 1800 hours within the individual license cycle or at least 400 hours in each of the three years

        - Continuing education requirement

        - Complete renewal application and fees

            o Renew by paper application

            o Renew by online application

     • Inactive (not eligible to work)

        - Complete renewal application and fees

            o Renew by paper application

            o Renew by online application


Important information: 

     • License fees are the same for active and inactive renewal. 

     • Individuals renewing a license using a 40-hour refresher course,
       work experience at an out-of-state salon, or work experience at
       a closed or expired salon can renew only by paper application. 

     • Continuing education requirement must be completed before renewal.

     • If the licensee holds an Instructor License, hours spent in a licensed
       cosmetology school training students on the clinic floor can be used
       as licensed work experience.

     • Licenses expired more than six months cannot be renewed online.

     • Licenses expired more than three years cannot be renewed and must be reactivated. 

_____________________________________________


Operator/Salon Manager License Reactivation

     • Current (not expired), less than three years inactive

        - Licensed work experience or BCE-approved 40-hour refresher course

            o Licensed work experience must total at least 1,800 hours within three years prior to date of reactivation request, but before inactive date

        - Continuing education requirement

        - Complete Reactivation Request Form

            o Reactivation Request Form

     • Current (not expired), more than three years inactive

        - BCE-approved extended refresher course

            o Cosmetologist: 155 hours

            o Esthetician: 60 hours

            o Nail Technician: 35 hours

        - Passing results from practical exam (skills, hands-on)

        - Continuing education requirement

        - Complete Reactivation Request Form

            o Reactivation Request Form

     • Expired more than three years

        - BCE-approved extended refresher course

            o Cosmetologist: 155 hours

            o Esthetician: 60 hours 

            o Nail Technician: 35 hours

        - Passing results from practical exam (skills, hands-on)

        - Passing results from general exam (theory, written)

        - Passing results from state exam (laws and rules, written)

        - Complete Initial Operator License Application and fees

            o Initial Operator License Application


Important information:

     • Continuing education requirement must be completed before reactivation request.

     • Salon Manager Licenses expired more than three years
       can be reactivated only as Operator Licenses. Licensees
       must then meet all Salon Manager License requirements
       and reapply.

_____________________________________________


Instructor License Renewal

     • Current and active Operator or Salon Manager License

     • 45 hours of BCE-approved continuing education for instructors within three years prior to date of application

        - 15 hours teaching-related

        - 15 hours related to professional clinical products

        - 15 hours of either topic or BCE-approved other topic

     • Complete Instructor Renewal Application and fees

        - Instructor Renewal Application


Important information:

     • Instructor Licenses expired more than three years cannot be renewed. A new Instructor License must be applied for.

     • Instructor Licenses cannot be renewed online.

_____________________________________________


School Manager License Renewal

     • Current and active Salon Manager License

     • Licensed work experience or BCE-approved 40-hour refresher course

        - Licensed work experience must total at least 1800 hours
          in a licensed Minnesota cosmetology school within the individual
          license cycle or at least 400 hours in each of the three years

• Complete Salon Manager Renewal Application and fees

- School Manager Renewal Application


Important information:

     • School Manager Licenses expired more than three years cannot be renewed. A new School Manager License must be applied for.

     • School Manager Licenses cannot be renewed online.


Fee:

Operator License - $195

Operator License renewal - $115

Salon Manager License - $195

Salon Manager License renewal - $145

Instructor License - $195

Instructor License renewal - $145

School Manager License - $195

School Manager License renewal - $145

Penalty for late renewal - $45 per license


Important:

  • Fees are deposited within 24 hours on the first business day after date of receipt.
  • All application fees are nonrefundable.
  • Late renewal penalties cannot be waived.
  • Failure to receive a notice of renewal from the Board does not constitute a valid excuse for not renewing a license.

Period of Issuance:

• Three-year license cycle. 

• Each individual license expires on the last day of the licensee’s birth month in the third year.

• Each license becomes eligible for renewal 10 weeks before its expiration date.


Length of Determination Process:

Applications are processed within 15 business days from date of receipt. Returned applications are subject to additional review within 15 business days.

Other Pertinent Information:

See Minn. Stat. § 155A.20-.36.