Subdivided Land, Timeshares, Points and Fractional Shares in Minnesota
Prior to registering to sell subdivided land, timeshares, points, or fractional shares in the State of Minnesota, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney specializing in Minnesota Real Estate Law.
Before making any subdivided land offers or sales in Minnesota, projects are required to be registered or exempt under MINNESOTA STAT. CHAPTER 83.
For sales that are not exempt there are two ways to register: Notification or Qualification.
Registration by Notification
If the project consists of no more than 100 potential sales:
The seller must submit an application found in Minnesota Rules 2810.9940. The documents require to be filed are disclosed in the application found in Minnesota Rules 2810.9940 and elsewhere in Minnesota Rules 2810. A fee of $150.00 is required.
Registration by Qualification
If the project consists of 101 or more potential sales:
The seller must submit an application found at Minnesota Rules 2810.9910 and a public offering statement found at Minnesota Rules 2810.9930. Other documents required to be filed are disclosed in the application and elsewhere in Minnesota Rules 2810.
A filing fee of $400 plus an additional registration fee of $1 for each lot, unit, parcel, or interest included in the offering accompanies the application. The maximum combined filing and registration fees shall in no event be more than $3,500;
Please see MINNESOTA STAT. CHAPTER 83.26 for a detailed list of subdivided land registration exemptions
The most common exemptions are:
Please consult an attorney familiar with the real estate laws of Minnesota before filing with the Department of Commerce Securities Unit.
Please see the FAQ or contact the Department of Commerce Securities Unit with questions.
Subdivided Land: 651-539-1599