Skip to content

Commerce Commissioner Mike Rothman elected to the North American Securities Administrators Association Board of Directors

2013-2014 Director post provides Rothman opportunity to advocate for Minnesota investors on the national stage

October 07, 2013

For Immediate Release:

SAINT PAUL, MN – Minnesota Department of Commerce Commissioner Mike Rothman has been elected as a director on the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) Board of Directors. The position on the Board will provide Commissioner Rothman the opportunity to weigh in on NASAA’s planning and policy development for the association’s national pro-investor legislative agenda. Prior to the election to the Board, Rothman was appointed in 2012 to the Federal Legislation Committee, tasked with proposing and preparing the legislative agenda for NASAA. In that role, he was responsible for analyzing federal legislation, drafting statutory amendments and testimony, and responding to congressional requests for information.

“NASAA’s legacy of advocacy for efficient capital formation and grass-roots investor protection has been a long-standing voice for main street investors in Minnesota,” said Commissioner Mike Rothman. “I am honored to have the opportunity on NASAA’s Board of Directors to continue the national pro-investor legislative agenda to help everyday Minnesotan investors gain a level playing field.” 

NASAA’s Board of Directors are elected annually from the ranks of the NASAA membership, which consists of 67 state, provincial, and territorial securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, and Mexico.  Tasked with setting the agenda for the 94 year-old international organization – the oldest devoted to investor protection – the 2013 Board of Directors consists of seven Directors from six states and one province.  The 2013-2014 Board of Directors are:

  • Andrea Seidt from Ohio (Incoming President-elect)
  • Joseph Borg, Alabama
  • Douglas Brown, Manitoba
  • Melanie Senter Lubin, Maryland
  • Christopher Naylor, Indiana
  • Mike Rothman, Minnesota
  • Judith Shaw, Maine

The Minnesota Department of Commerce 

The Commerce Department protects consumers and investors by enforcing the Minnesota Securities Laws in the state of Minnesota, regulating industry in the following ways:

  1. Registering brokerage firms, representatives of brokerage firms, investment adviser firms, franchises and timeshares. 
  2. Performing audits and examinations of persons who engage in activities we regulate, in order to improve compliance and prevent fraud. 
  3. Investigating those who commit violations of the Minnesota Securities and Franchise Laws
  4. Providing investor education and awareness. 

Investors should contact the Minnesota Department of Commerce Securities Unit with questions they may have about an investment product, broker or adviser, prior to making an investment. 

The Securities Unit can be reached by phone at (651) 539-1638. Questions or consumer complaints can also be sent by email to or by mail to the Minnesota Department of Commerce, 85, 7th Place East, Suite 500, Saint Paul, MN 55101.