Skip to content

Governor Mark Dayton Names 15 to Task Force on Broadband

November 07, 2011

For Immediate Release
November 7, 2011

ST. PAUL, MN – One week after hosting a Job Summit focused on strengthening Minnesota’s infrastructure and fostering a strong business climate, Governor Mark Dayton appointed 15 members to a Governor’s Task Force on Broadband. The Task Force, which was established by Executive Order 11-27, will be charged with developing policies to promote the expansion of expand broadband access in Minnesota. Dayton’s stated goal is “border-to-border” high-speed internet and cell phone access throughout Minnesota.

According to Governor Dayton, the Task Force will develop an action plan for identifying and correcting disparities in access and adoption of Broadband in all Minnesota communities – urban, rural, and suburban. Dayton says that action plan will help ensure that residential homes, schools, hospitals, and businesses have access to the technology and information resources they need to thrive in a global economy.

Members of the taskforce, listed in the attached document, represent a balance of broadband interests, including consumers, business and residential users, educational and health care institutions, traditional telephone and cable companies, wireless providers as well as metro and rural local units of government.

The Minnesota Department of Commerce, which houses the state’s Broadband Development Office, will work closely with the Governor’s Task Force on Broadband.

“For the short- and long-term success of our economy, every school, business, and consumer in Minnesota must have affordable, high-speed access to information and the online marketplace,” said Commerce Commissioner Mike Rothman. “That is what the work of this Task Force is all about.”


Shirley Walz, Sr. Director of Technology for Thomson Reuters
Bernadine Joselyn, Director of Public Policy and Engagement for the Blandin Foundation
Margaret Anderson Kelliher (Chair), Director of the Minnesota High Tech Association
Steve Lewsader, President of the Communication Workers of America (CWA), Local 7201
Duane Ring, President of the nine-state Midwest Region of Century Link
Gary Evans, CEO of Hiawatha Broadband Company (HBC)
Dick Sjoberg, Sjoberg’s Cable
Daniel Richter, President of MVTV Wireless
Danna MacKenzie, Director of Information Systems for Cook County
Maureen Ideker, Director of Telehealth, Essentia Health
Matt Grose, Superintendent, Deer River Public Schools
Steve Peterson, Bloomington City Council
Bob Bass, Bloomington, AT&T Wireless
Keith Modglin, Information Systems Director for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
Bao Vang, President/CEO of the Hmong-American Partnership