Information on pre-license education course approval requirements for provider/coordinators.
Download forms here:
Exam Proctor Affidavit (.pdf)
Minnesota Department of Commerce approved Exam Proctor Affidavit form.
Course Application Instructions & Material Requirements
Out-dated applications will be returned.
Complete a Course Approval Application form.
Course Approval Application fee is $10 for each hour or fraction of an hour applied for.
Application and fee must be submitted to the Commerce Department at least 30 days before the initial offering of the course. Please note that faxing a copy of an application with a note that the original application and fee will follow does not meet this requirement. If complete applications are postmarked later than the 30-day requirement, the application will be reviewed, but the approval will not be made retroactive.
These items are required with the applications:
Course Materials: Core Matrix completed by Topic, Course Description, Timed Course Outline, Learning Objectives, Instructional Material for Students (textbooks, notebooks, etc.), Materials for Instructor Use (Overheads, etc if applicable), Examination and Answer Key
Policies Covering: Course Prerequisites, Instructor Qualifications, Attendance, Cancellation & Refund
Miscellaneous: Copy of proposed advertising including outline, Course Schedule, Students Course/Instructor Evaluation Form, Instructor's Resume/Bio, a copy of proposed Student Course Completion Certificate showing the Required Core Curriculum hours completed.
Education consists of courses that impart substantive knowledge that is appropriate and related to the Insurance, Real Estate, or Appraiser fields.
The burden of demonstrating that courses impart substantive knowledge related to the Insurance, Real Estate, or Appraiser fields is upon the person seeking approval or credit.
Qualified Pre-License Instructors must have one of the following qualifications:
a four-year degree in the industry for which the course is being taught;
a four-year degree with three years full-time experience in the industry for which the course is being taught;
a four-year degree with three years full-time experience in the business or profession relating to the subject being taught;
a postgraduate degree and completion of 45 hours of continuing education in the industry for which the course is being taught;
a two-year degree in the industry for which the education is being given and completion of 45 hours of continuing education in the industry for which the course is being taught;
a two-year degree or certificate with five years full-time experience in the industry for which the course is being taught;
a degree or certificate with five years full-time experience in the business or profession relating to the subject being taught; or
eight years of recent experience in the subject area being taught in the eight years immediately preceding the first course offering taught.
Failure to have only qualified instructors teach an approved course will result in loss of course approval.
Each course must have an approved Provider Coordinator, who is responsible for compliance with Minnesota education laws and regulations. Provider Coordinator Approval Application forms and instructions are available by clicking the appropriate heading under "Providers & Coordinators."
The Provider Coordinator must notify the Commerce Department in writing within 10 days of any change in the information in this application for approval, including any addition or change in the name of instructors who will teach the course.
Courses may not be advertised before approval, unless the application has already been submitted to the Commerce Department and the course is described in the advertising as "approval pending."
The number of approved hours must be accurately displayed on any advertisement for the course, and if the course offering is longer than the number of approved education hours, any advertisement must be clear that education credit is not earned for the entire course.
The course approval number must not be included in any advertisement. The course approval number must not be given to anyone until after the individual has successfully completed the course.
Education courses that have been materially revised since their initial submission:
Will not be considered for a renewal
Provider Coordinator must advise us to terminate the old course number when they reapply for a new course.
Pre-License Education: Appraiser course must be at least 15 hours in length; Real Estate Salespersons Course 1, 2, 3, and the Broker Course must be 30 hours each; Closer course must be at least 8 hours in length; Insurance courses must consist of 20 hours of education per line of authority. Lines of authority are: Life, Accident and Health, Property, Casualty, or Personal Lines.
Appraiser Pre-License education must include the AQB approved, 15 hour USPAP Course (or its equivalent).
The qualifying/Pre-license Appraiser course application shows each of the required modules and the hours approved for that module. Please note that course certificates issued to students MUST indicate the number of hours approved per module.
There have been important changes regarding Appraiser qualifications. Please contact the Appraisal Foundation atwww.appraisalfoundation.orgfor current publications such as "Executive Summary of the 2008 Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria," "A Guide for Understanding the 2008 Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria," and *"The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and Interpretations of The Criteria."
Provider Coordinators of educational courses should have a copy of Minnesota Statute Chap. 45. These laws relate to both pre-licensing and continuing education for Appraisers, Real Estate, and Insurance licenses. Laws may be obtained on-line at www.leg.state.mn.us/leg/statutes.asp or by calling the Minnesota Bookstore at (651) 297-3000 or 1-(800) 657-3757.
Contact the Department of Commerce at Education.Commerce@state.mn.us if you have education questions or concerns.