
 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SELF-INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS 

 
 

79A(1) 
 

Minnesota Department of Commerce   Eva Crawford 
Self-Insurance Division     Self-Insurance Coordinator 
85 7th Place East, Suite 500    Phone: (651) 539-1741 
St. Paul, MN  55101-2198     Fax: (651) 539-1550 
 
Minnesota Statutes 79A.01 - .18____________________________________ 
 
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS: 
 

Audited Financial Statements for last 5 years and SEC Form 10K if prepared. 
 
If the statement is more than 6 months old, an officer of the company must 
sign an affidavit under oath stating there has been no material change in the 
net worth of the company nor any existing or new contingent liabilities which 
would now require disclosure in an audit of the financial statements. 
 

NET WORTH: 
 

The net worth of individual self-insurers must be at least 10% of the 
company’s total assets and not less than at least ten times the retention limit 
chosen with the Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Association. 
 
The additional following financial criteria are required for an individual self-
insurer: 
 
1. An individual self-insurer must have had positive net income as shown 

on audited income statements filed with the Department of Commerce 
during three of the last five years and cumulatively over the five year 
period.  If it has been in existence less than five years, it must have 
had a cumulative net income during the period of existence and in the 
most recent year. 
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2. An individual self-insurer must have had cash generated from 

operations as shown on the audited statements of cash flow filed with 
the Department of Commerce during three of the last five years and 
cumulatively over the five year period.  If it has been in existence less 
than five years it shall have had cumulative cash generated from 
operations during the period of existence and in the most recent year. 

 
3. No entity shall be admitted as an individual self-insurer, if the audited 

report for the most recent year includes an explanatory paragraph 
stating that the auditor has concluded that there is substantial doubt 
about the entity’s ability to continue as a going concern. 

 
The Commissioner may deny an application to self-insure or terminate a 
current self-insurance certificate if the entity does not have sufficient assets, 
net worth or liquidity to meet its self-insurance obligations. 
 
Individual and group member self-insured applicants should be aware of the 
following new requirements pertaining to the filing of their financial 
statements: 
 
1. Each member of a group self-insurer must file with the group’s CPA 

their most recent annual financial statement reviewed by a CPA in 
accordance with the Statements on Standards for Accounting and 
Review Services, which is in Volume 2, The American Institute of 
Certified Public Accountant’s Professional Standards (or audited in 
accordance with generally accepted auditing standards) within six 
months after the end of the group’s fiscal year. 

 
2. Each group self-insurer must file with the Commissioner combining 

financial statements of the group members compiled by a CPA in 
accordance with the Statements on Standards for Accounting and 
Review Services.  The combining financial statement shall include, but 
not be limited to, a balance sheet, income statement, statement of 
changes in net worth, and statement of cash flow.  Each combining 
financial statement shall include a column for each individual group 
member along with a total column.  This financial statement is due 
within seven months of the group’s fiscal year end. 
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Where a group has fifty or more members, the group shall file, in lieu of 
combining financial statements, a combined financial statement showing only 
the total column for the entire groups’ balance sheet, income statement, 
statement of changes in net worth, and statement of cash flow.  Additionally, 
the group shall disclose for each member the total assets, net worth, revenue, 
and income for the most recent fiscal year. 
 
The combining and combined financial statements may omit all footnote 
disclosures. 
 

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: 
 

No minimum 
 

PAYROLL: 
 
 No minimum 
 
PREMIUM HISTORY: 
 
 4 year premium history 
 
L.O.C./BONDS OR SECURITIES: 
 

The minimum deposit for 2016 is either 110 percent of the applicant’s 
actuarially certified estimate of future liability or equal to the retention limit 
selected with the W.C.R.A. of (Low) $500,000.00, (High) $1,000,000.00 or 
(Super) $2,000,000.00 whichever is greater. 
 
The following information must be included in every ACTUARIAL STUDY which 
is submitted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 79A.04, subd. 2. 
 
1. Name and address of actuary. 

 
2. Qualification of actuary. 

 
3. Name of self-insurer or group self-insurer and the names of all 

subsidiaries or affiliates which are included in the study. 
 

4. Estimated future liability of the self-insurer. 
 

5. Future date to which liability has been estimated. 
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5A. Copy of Certified Sworn Affidavit signed by Corporate Officer of 

applicant.  (Actuary retains original) 
 

6A. Individual: 
 
A description of the analysis and techniques used to determine estimated 
future  liability, including the following definitions:  “The expected liability for 
unpaid workers’ compensation losses at any point in the two years ending 
(dated from item 5) is the current liability for unpaid workers’ compensation 
losses plus losses expected to be incurred between now and the future point.  
Estimated future liability is the highest expected liability for unpaid workers’ 
compensation claims at any point during the two years ending (dated from 
item 5). 
 
New individual self-insurers must prepare actuarial certification annually for 
the first (5) years.  At the end of the (5) year cycle individual self-insurers then 
may report every two years. 

 
(Liability may be expressed net of specific excess insurance, aggregate excess 
insurance (if issued by a unrelated entity) and expected reimbursements from 
the Special Compensation Fund provided the analysis clearly identifies the 
chosen basis and supports the final result.) 

 
6B. Group: 

 
A description of the analysis and techniques used to determine estimated 
future liability, including the following definitions:  “The expected liability for 
unpaid workers’ compensation losses at any point during the year ending 
(date from item 5) is the current liability for unpaid workers’ compensation 
losses plus losses expected to be incurred between now and the future point.  
Estimated future liability is the highest expected liability for unpaid workers’ 
compensation claims at any point during the year ending (date from item 5). 
 
Group self-insurers are required to prepare actuarial certification in 
accordance with Minnesota Statute Chapter 79A.04, subd. 2 annually. 
 
(Liability may be expressed net of specific excess insurance, aggregate excess 
insurance and expected reimbursements from the Special Compensation fund 
provided the analysis clearly identifies the chosen basis and supports the final 
result.) 
 
7. Signature of actuary and date signed. 
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The security deposit must be received by the Commerce Department at least 
24 hours prior to the effective date of self-insurance authority. 
 
Additional Guidelines For Existing Individual Self-Insured Companies – When a 
New Entity is  Added: 

 
 

1. Should the new employee payroll impact the existing employee 
payroll base by greater than 5%, (this includes the self-insured 
entity as a whole) the Department will request an interim 
actuarial certification to be prepared. 

 
2. If the impact to the total employee payroll is less than 5% you 

may increase the security deposit using the calculation in the 
application (Form E). 

 
  

Additional Guidelines For Existing Group Self-Insurers – When Applying to Add 
a New Member: 
 
 

1. Should the new employee payroll impact the existing employee 
base be greater than 5%, (this includes the group as a whole) 
the Department will request an interim actuarial certification to 
be prepared. 

 
2. If the impact to the total employee payroll is less than 5% for a 

group you may increase the security deposit using the 
calculation in the application (Form D). 

 
3. Group self-insurers are required to prepare actuarial 

certification in accordance with Minnesota Statute Chapter 
79A.04, subd. 2 annually.     
 

 
TYPES OF ACCEPTABLE DEPOSITS: 
 

*Irrevocable Bank Letter of Credit on Specific Form (Bank also must be 
approved) 

 
**Direct obligations of the United States government except mortgage-
backed securities of the Government National Mortgage Association. 
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Bonds, notes, debentures, and other instruments which are obligations of 
agencies and instrumentalities of the United States including, but not limited 
to, the Federal National Mortgage Association, the Federal Home Loan Bank, 
the Student Loan Marketing Association, and the Farm Credit System, and 
their successors, but not including collaterialized mortgage obligations or 
mortgage pass-through instruments. 
 
Bonds or securities that are issued by the state of Minnesota and that are 
secured by the full faith and credit of the state. 
 
Certificates of deposit which are insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance 
Corporation and approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce. 
 
Obligations of, or instruments unconditionally guaranteed by, Minnesota 
depository institutions whose long-term debt rating is at least AA-, Aa3, or their 
equivalent, by at least two nationally recognized rating agencies. 
 
Surety bonds issued by a corporate surety authorized by the commissioner of 
commerce to transact such business in the state. 

 
Obligations of or instruments unconditionally guaranteed by Minnesota 
Insurance companies, whose long-term debt rating is at least AA-, Aa3, or their 
equivalent, by at least two nationally recognized rating agencies and whose 
rate is A+ by A.M. Best, Inc.; and 
 
Any guarantee from the United States government whereby the payment of 
the workers’ compensation liability of a self-insurers is guaranteed; and bonds 
which are the general obligation of the Minnesota housing finance agency. 
 
Cash 
 (Escrow) 
 
Other:  Custodial Account 
  Authorized Brokerage Account 
 

*Minn. Stat. 79A.14 
**79A.04, Subd. 3a 
 

Securities that are under contingent review or assigned a modifier will be 
required to meet the statutory requirements the date of deposit.  All financial 
institutions, brokerage or investment institutions approved and holding in 
custodial capacity must on a monthly basis advise the Department of the 
actual net market value of the pledged security. 
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INCURRED LOSSES: 
 
 Last 4 years – individuals. 
 
EXCESS INSURANCE: 
 
 Amount varies 
 
SPECIFIC EXCESS INSURANCE COVERAGE: 
 
 Copy of policy 
 Copy of all Changes, Renewals etc. 
 Advance Notice of Cancellation 
 Minimum/Maximum limits of Coverage 
 
AVERAGE TIME OF PROCESS: 
 
 30-45 days if application is complete 
 
 
CLAIMS ADMINISTRATION: 
 

Each self-insurer shall designate the employees who will administer self-
insurance program or contract with a WC Service Company.  The self-insurer’s  
staff must be qualified.  Resumes’ will be requested.  Service companies must 
be licensed in the State of Minnesota under Minn. Stat. Chapter 60A.23, 
Subd. 8. 
 

INSOLVENCY ASSESSMENT (SISF): 
 

As needed: Self-Insurers’ Security Fund 
Security Trust Fund – maximum 10% of benefits paid, excluding supplemental 
benefits, until there is no more deficit.  The self-insurer must join the Security 
Trust Fund.   
 

FEES: 
 

$4,000.00 nonrefundable application fee for initial application for individuals 
and new groups. 
 
$400.00 nonrefundable fee for EACH new employer applying for membership 
to an existing group. 
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$500.00 annual fee required by April 1st each year with submission of annual 
Status Report. 

 
Assessment to the Special Compensation Fund for supplemental benefits, 
and other statutory items are calculated at a percentage of annual indemnity 
paid (to the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry). 
 

RENEWAL FILING REQUIREMENTS AND OTHER REPORTS: 
 

Exemption orders (certificates) are not continuous.  Annual reporting must be 
maintained and the Workers’ Compensation Self-Insurers’ Advisory Committee 
may review financial data of each workers’ compensation self-insurer every 
five years and making a recommendation to the Commissioner with respect to 
whether or not that self-insurer’s certificate of authority should continue or be 
revoked.  By April 1 of each year, an annual status report and $500 renewal 
fee are required.  Annual audited financial statements (and Securities and 
Exchange Commission filings, if any) are required of all self-insurers.  The 
financial statement for a group must show how investment income was 
utilized. 
 
Within four months after the end of its fiscal year, an individual self-insurer must 
file its latest 10(K), annual report or audited financial statements. 

 
Within seven months of the end of its fiscal year, group self-insurers must file 
combining financial statements of the group members compiled by a CPA in 
accordance with the Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services.  
The combining financial statement shall include, but not be limited to, a balance 
sheet, income statement, statement of changes in net worth, and statement of 
cash flow.  Each combining financial statement shall include a column for each 
individual group member along with a total column.  A certified audit of a group 
self-insurer’s fund must be filed within 90 days after the end of the group’s self-
insurer’s fiscal year. 
 

 
A retention limit selection form must be filed with the W.C.R.A. initially and in 
subsequent years by December 1.  By March 1 of each year a payroll report must 
be filed with the W.C.R.A.  Reports of indemnity losses and death benefits paid 
must be filed twice annually with the Special Compensation Fund at the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry.  Questions for Minnesota Department of Labor 
and Industry call (651) 296-2117. 
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Each self-insurer shall perform the following activities. 
 

 
1. Provide an annual status report to the commissioner containing the 

information and prepared in the form required by the commissioner; 
and 

 
2. Keep a record of the losses paid by the self-insurers and premiums for 

the group self-insurers. 
 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 
 

If an individual self-insurer cannot satisfy the financial requirements, it can 
obtain a certificate by having an affiliate (that can meet the requirements) 
guarantee payment of claims by board resolution. 

 
Upon 10 days written notice, the Commerce Department can revoke a 
certificate if: 
 
1. A self-insurer fails to meet the requirements of the law; 
2. A self-insurer fails to comply with a lawful order of the Commissioner; 
3. A self-insurer engages in unfair or deceptive acts or practices; 
4. The self-insurer does not abide by the plan of operation of the 

W.C.R.A.; or 
5. The financial condition of the self-insurer deteriorates; 
6. A group self-insurance application shall be accompanied by a copy of 

the bylaws or plan of operation to be adopted by the group. 
7. A group self-insurance application shall be accompanied by a contract 

with a third party administrator of the group. 
 
Rev. 1/16 79A(1)   (9) 
 



 
REFERENCE: 
 

Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Act, Chapter 176, Section 176.181, subd. 2 
and 2A 
Workers’ Compensation Self-Insurance, Minnesota Statutes 79A, Sections 
79A.01 to 79A.18 revised (1995); Minnesota Rules Chapter 2780. 
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