
 
January 2, 2017 
 
Minnesota Residential Mortgage Originators and Servicers 
 
RE: Minnesota Department of Commerce 2017 Residential Mortgage Originator (RMO) 
Supervisory Guidance  
 
Dear Licensee: 

The Minnesota Department of Commerce (“Department”) has conducted a series of routine 
exams of Residential Mortgage Originators licensed in Minnesota to analyze compliance with 
State Statutes and Federal Regulations governing mortgage origination activities and create 
the formal document of record for the Department’s Commissioner.  

This letter is intended to bring attention to five common deficiencies the Department 
identified in routine examinations with respect to Minnesota Statutes.  The Department asks 
that regular compliance reviews and quality control reviews be conducted to determine if 
corrective action is required in order to ensure compliance with the applicable laws and 
rules.   

The common deficiencies are as follows: 

1. Agency versus Non-Agency: Failure to properly disclose Agency relationships, the Non-
Agency relationships of lenders, and Advance Fee Agreements according to Minnesota 
Statutes §§ 58.15, 58.16, and 58.161. 

 
2. Interest Rate Lock and Discount Point Agreements:  Failure to properly disclose the five 

requirements of the agreement, complete the agreement in entirety, and include a 
disclaimer that the statement of terms is not an offer according to Minnesota Statutes 
§47.206. 

 
3. Record Retention: Failure to maintain for 60 months the business records, including 

advertisements, regarding residential mortgage loans applied for, originated, or serviced 
in the course of its business.  This includes loan estimates, closing disclosures and all 
other loan origination documentation as required in Minnesota Statutes §58.14. 
 

4. Net Tangible Benefit:  Failure to demonstrate the tangible net benefit to a consumer for 
refinance loans and engaging in churning according to Minnesota Statutes §58.13, 
Subdivision 1(a)(25).   

 
5. Trust Funds and Advance Fees: Failure to disclose proper advance fee contracts, deposit 

advance fees or escrows into a trust account according to Minnesota Statutes §58.13, 
Subdivision 1 and 2.   

 
Included with this letter is a fact sheet which summarizes the common deficiencies, the 
applicable law, and the corrections required.  If you find that your company is deficient in 



 
 

any of the above noted items, please take corrective action immediately.  Failure to do so 
may result in administrative disciplinary action and/or civil penalties of up to $10,000 per 
violation pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 45.027, Subdivision 6 (2015).   

Additionally, if you are no longer doing business as a residential mortgage originator in 
Minnesota, please follow the surrender instructions on the Nationwide Multistate Licensing 
System (NMLS) to surrender RMO licenses in Minnesota.  See the website for further details: 
http://nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/MN-Residential-
Company-Mtg-Originator-Surrender-Checklist.pdf  

If you have any questions you may contact us at 651.539.1720.   

Sincerely, 
 

 
SARAH C.  BUTLER 
Non-Depository Supervisor  
Minnesota Department of Commerce 
85 7th Place East, Suite 500,  
Saint Paul, MN 55101 
 

 

 

 

 

 

  

http://nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/MN-Residential-Company-Mtg-Originator-Surrender-Checklist.pdf
http://nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/PublishedStateDocuments/MN-Residential-Company-Mtg-Originator-Surrender-Checklist.pdf


 
 

 

COMMON DEFICIENCIES 

 
1.  Agency versus Non-Agency: 

Whether a Residential Mortgage Originator acts as a lender or Broker will generally 
determine the agency relationship with a borrower.  Loans reviewed during examinations 
indicated Residential Mortgage Originators disclosed to the borrower, both a “non-
agency” disclosure and an “agent” disclosure.   

When the Residential Mortgage Originator acts as the lender of record and does not 
accept an advance fee, the non-agency disclosures should be signed by the borrower 
within three business days of accepting an application.  The practice of executing in both 
capacities, as agent and non-agent, may be considered a violation of Minnesota Statutes 
§ 58.13, Subdivision 1(a)(17).  This section states in part that licensees shall not 
represent to act as the borrower's agent after providing the non-agency disclosure 
required by section 58.15, unless the disclosure is retracted and the licensee or exempt 
person complies with all of the requirements of section 58.16.   

In instances when the lender acts as a Broker, an agency agreement is required to be 
provided to the borrower in advance of the provision of services for fees collected.  See 
Minnesota Statutes §58.161.   

 

2.  Interest Rate Lock and Discount Point Agreements: 

Under Minnesota Statutes §47.206, Subdivision 2,  a lender offering borrowers the 
opportunity to enter into an agreement in advance of closing shall disclose, in writing, to 
the borrowers at the time the offer is made: (1) a definite expiration date or term of the 
agreement, which may not be less than the reasonably anticipated closing date or time 
required to process, approve, and close the loan; (2) the circumstances, if any, under 
which the borrower will be permitted to close at a lower rate of interest or points than 
expressed in the agreement; (3) the steps required to process, approve, and close the 
loan, including the actions required of the borrower and lender; (4) that the agreement is 
enforceable by the borrower; and (5) the consideration required for the agreement. 
 
Except as permitted by Minnesota Statutes §47.206, Subdivision 4, a borrower or lender 
may not maintain an action on an agreement unless the agreement is in writing 
expresses consideration, sets forth the relevant terms and conditions, and is signed by 
the borrower and the lender.  The agreement shall set forth clear language to disclose if 
any circumstances would permit the borrower to close at a lower rate of interest and 
points.  In addition, a lender may not offer or induce a borrower to accept an oral 
agreement and a borrower may not be permitted to orally accept an agreement, provided 
that if the borrower and lender have not executed a written agreement, the subdivision 
does not prohibit the offer and acceptance of an oral agreement which is offered and 
accepted during a period no greater than ten days before closing.       

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=58.15
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=58.16


 
 

 
Many examinations revealed that management relies on the loan operating system 
generated forms.  However, these forms were often incomplete, blank, or did not contain 
the requirements indicated above for an enforceable interest rate lock or discount point 
agreement.  Licensees are encouraged to review the system generated forms for 
accuracy and conduct quality control reviews to ensure the forms are executed properly.   
 

3.  Record Retention:  

Minnesota Statutes §58.14, Subdivision 5, states in part that a Residential Mortgage 
Originator must keep and maintain for 60 months the business records, including 
advertisements, regarding residential mortgage loans applied for, originated, or serviced 
in the course of its business. 
 
Examinations revealed that brokers often do not retain copies of lender generated 
documents, such as loan estimates, closing disclosures, and other documents 
associated with the mortgage loans applied for, denied, or originated in the course of 
business.  Minnesota Statues do not contain an exemption for any residential mortgage 
originator from retaining the forms generated by another party to the mortgage 
transaction.   

 
4.  Tangible Net Benefit: 
 

According to Minnesota Statutes § 58.13, Subdivision 1 (25), a residential mortgage 
originator shall not engage in "churning." As used in this section, "churning" means 
knowingly or intentionally making, providing, or arranging for a residential mortgage loan 
when the new residential mortgage loan does not provide a reasonable, tangible net 
benefit to the borrower considering all of the circumstances including the terms of both 
the new and refinanced loans, the cost of the new loan, and the borrower's 
circumstances. 
 
The lender or broker can demonstrate the borrower’s concrete advantage to refinance a 
loan by soundly documenting the Tangible Net Benefit (TNB).  Although the statutes do 
not require a disclosure signed by the borrower, detailing this information for the 
borrower will provide evidence of the decision to refinance a loan and create a 
rebuttable presumption of the absence of “churning.”   
 
Many examination files reviewed did not have a reasonable analysis of the TNB to 
borrowers.  The TNB did not demonstrate the comparison of the borrower’s current loan 
to the proposed loan, the cost of the new loan and the borrower’s circumstances in order 
to comply with Minnesota Statutes § 58.13, Subdivision 1 (25). 

 
 
5.  Trust Funds and Advance Fees: 

 
“Trust Funds” are defined in Minnesota Statutes §58.02, Subdivision 26 as “funds 
received by a residential mortgage originator or servicer in a fiduciary capacity for later 



 
 

distribution, such as appraisal or credit report fees, taxes, or insurance premiums.  Trust 
funds include commitment, lock, extended lock, and advance fees.”  The residential 
mortgage originator shall deposit in a trust account, within three business days, all fees 
received before the time a loan is actually funded.  The trust account must be in a 
financial institution located within the state of Minnesota, and, with respect to advance 
fees, the account must be controlled by an unaffiliated accountant, attorney, or bank 
according to Minnesota Statutes § 58.16, Subdivision 4.   
 
In most of the examinations, advance fees or “Trust Funds” were collected in advance 
before closing and were not deposited into a Trust Account.  No person acting as a 
residential mortgage originator or servicer shall fail to maintain a trust account to hold 
trust funds received in connection with a residential mortgage loan or fail to deposit all 
trust funds into a trust account within three business days of receipt.  No residential 
mortgage originator or servicer shall commingle trust funds with funds belonging to the 
licensee or use trust account funds for any purpose other than that for which they are 
received.  
 
Some lenders collected prepaid taxes and insurance payments at closing from the 
borrower, but did not deposit these funds into a Trust Account.  Instead, these prepaid 
funds were deducted from the loan investors’ purchase price.  According to Minnesota 
Statutes 58.02, Subdivision 8, an "Escrow Account" means a trust account that is 
established and maintained to hold funds received from a borrower, such as real estate 
taxes and insurance premiums, incurred in connection with the servicing of the 
mortgage.  All escrow funds collected in a fiduciary capacity for later distribution, such as 
taxes and insurance premiums are “Trust Funds” and should be deposited into a Trust 
Account according to Minnesota Statutes §58.13, Subdivision 2.  Licensees should 
correct the practice of netting prepaid escrows from the investor proceeds and deposit 
escrow funds into a separate Trust Account according to Minnesota Statutes.   

 


