
        
FOR:   Applicants to the Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund 

Updated 8/2014 
 
FROM:   Emily Kelnberger, Paralegal and Recovery Fund Administrator 

(651) 539-1457 
 
SUBJECT:  Instructions for application to the Real Estate Education, Research, and Recovery Fund  
 
 
This packet contains information and forms needed to apply to the Real Estate Education, Research and 
Recovery Fund.  The recovery fund administrator cannot provide legal advice.  If you have a question 
about the use of the forms or your legal rights, we strongly recommend you speak with an attorney. 
 
 

Introduction 
 
The purpose of the Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund (the “Fund”) is to compensate a 
person who suffered direct out of pocket losses due to a licensed real estate broker, salesperson, or 
closing agent’s fraudulent, deceptive or dishonest practices, or conversion of trust funds.  The action 
must be an activity that required a license.  In addition, the real estate broker, salesperson or closing 
agent must have been licensed at the time of the fraudulent action.   
 
The Fund is governed by Minnesota Statutes, Section 82.86 and is limited.  Specific rules and 
requirements determine whether or not the applicant qualifies for reimbursement from the Fund.  The 
statute also describes the procedure for filing a claim.     
 
Due to the changing nature of the law and the forms, information contained in this packet may become 
outdated.  Therefore, make sure to review and research the statutes before beginning the application 
process to ensure this information is accurate, complete and current. 
 
How the Fund Works 
 
The commissioner for the Department of Commerce has the responsibility to maintain the Fund.  
According to state law, each licensed real estate broker, salesperson and closing agent in Minnesota 
must pay into the recovery fund each year.  This money is held in the state treasury and distributed by 
the Department of Commerce to reimburse consumers who have lost money due to unscrupulous acts 
of the real estate broker, salesperson or closing agent.  The Department reviews each application to 
determine if it meets the statutory requirements.  There is no guarantee a claim will be paid.  Whether 
you will receive payment from the Fund depends on the specific facts of your case.   
 
 
Two Ways to File a Claim 
 
Claims can be filed through an accelerated claims payment procedure or a standard claims payment 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=82.86


procedure.  The commissioner can pay up to a total of $250,000 against each licensee.  This includes 
payments from both the accelerated payment process and the standard payment process.   
 
ACCELERATED CLAIMS PAYMENT PROCEDURE 
The purpose of the accelerated procedure is to expedite payment to the claimant if the commissioner 
determines the claimant is entitled to payment from the Fund. The accelerated claim limit is determined 
by the conciliation court limit – currently at $15,000.  More information about conciliation court can be 
found on the Minnesota Courts website.  In addition, if you are pursuing action in conciliation court, the 
Attorney General’s Office has a brochure titled, Conciliation Court: A User’s Guide to Small Claims Court, 
which may be helpful to you.  If the claim is $15,000 or less, the applicant may use the accelerated 
procedure.   
 
Under the accelerated process, the commissioner may pay up to a total of $50,000 in small claims 
against each licensee.  If $50,000 has already been paid out against the licensee, or if the amount an 
applicant is seeking will exceed the licensee’s $50,000 limit (because other claims have already been 
paid against the licensee), the applicant will need to use the standard recovery procedure.   
 
STANDARD CLAIMS PAYMENT PROCEDURE 
If the claim is more than $15,000, the applicant must apply under the standard procedure.  This 
procedure requires and applicant to have a post-judgment hearing where a judge may order the Fund to 
pay the claim.  The standard procedure also requires the applicant to apply by December 1.  If payment 
is ordered by December 31, the applicant will receive payment by July 15th the following year.  Under 
the standard procedure, the commissioner can pay up to a total of $150,000 of the amount unpaid on 
the judgment, per claimant per transaction.   
 
 
Before Applying  
 
Before applying to the fund, please research the following: 
 

• Make sure the correct party is being sued.  The lawsuit must be against a licensed individual, not 
a company.  Real estate companies do not pay into the fund.   
 

 

 

 

• Make sure the real estate broker, salesperson, or closing agent was licensed during the time the 
transaction took place.  The fund administrator can look up licensees.       

• Make sure money is in the fund.  Multiple claims against the same licensee reduces the amount 
available.  The fund administrator can look up the amount available.   

• Understand which costs are eligible for reimbursement.  Actual and direct out of pocket loss 
from the transaction may be eligible.  Generally, attorney's fees, interest on the loss and interest 
on any judgment obtained as a result of the loss, are not eligible.     

• Make sure the application is no more than one year after the judgment became final, or no 
more than one year after the termination of any review or appeal of the judgment.  

 
Before applying to the fund, the applicant must complete the following steps.   
 

1. Obtain a court judgment.  The judgment:  



• is the result of filing and winning a lawsuit;  
• legally verifies the offense committed by the real estate broker, salesperson or closing 

agent and the dollar value of the loss;  
• may be obtained in conciliation court, district court, bankruptcy court or another court 

of competent jurisdiction;  
• must be against the party holding the license – a real estate broker, salesperson or 

closing agent; and 
• must be based on a claim of fraudulent, dishonest or deceptive practices, or conversion 

of funds arising directly out of the licensee’s activities during the time the licensee was 
licensed. 

   

 

2. The judgment must be formally “entered” and “docketed” in court.  Once entered and 
docketed, the judgment is a legal collectable document.  For further instructions, contact the 
Clerk of the District Court (also called the Court Administrator) of the county the judgment was 
obtained.  Different counties have different requirements.  An application will not be accepted 
if it is not accompanied by a copy of the court’s Notice of Docketing.   
 

3. The applicant must make an honest effort to collect on the judgment from all judgment debtors.  
The applicant is required to provide evidence that all potentially liable parties have been 
pursued unsuccessfully.  Note:  The fund will not accept an “asset search” as an effort to collect.   

 
 
ACCELERATED PROCEDURE – INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING TO THE FUND 
The accelerated procedure is for individuals with claims of $15,000 or less.   
 
Before completing an accelerated application, (1) a judgment must be obtained against the licensed 
individual, and (2) the judgment must be entered and docketed.  
 
To apply under the accelerated procedure, the applicant must assemble and label all of the following 
documents. 
 

• The original completed verified Application for Accelerated Payment out of the Real Estate 
Education Research and Recovery Fund.  To verify, the applicant must sign the application 
before a notary public.  

• A copy of the Statement of Claim and Summons, if the judgment was obtained in conciliation 
court, or a copy of the Summons and Complaint, if the judgment was obtained in district court. 

• A copy of the Judgment Notice, if obtained in conciliation court, or a copy of the Findings of 
Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order for Judgment, and Judgment, if obtained in district court.   

• A copy of the clerk’s notice of docketing the judgment in district court.   

• A copy of the contract(s) or other agreement(s) between you and the real estate licensee. 

• Proof of the out of pocket loss must be provided.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to provide all 
documentation and calculations supporting the claimed amount.  In some cases, this is the same 
evidence previously presented to the court.    

• Provide an explanation of the situation (if not outlined in the Statement of Claim/Summons and 
Complaint).   



Send the verified application and all supporting documents directly to the fund administrator: 
Emily Kelnberger 

Department of Commerce 
Real Estate Recovery Fund Administrator 

85 7th Place East, Suite 500 
St. Paul, MN  55101 

 
If the commissioner grants payment to the claimant, the Fund will attempt to collect this money from 
the real estate licensee. In order for the Fund to collect the money, you need to assign to the 
Commissioner your rights to collect from the licensee the amount of money you have received from the 
Recovery Fund. You will receive an assignment form from the Department that you will need to sign and 
have notarized. If your judgment was for an amount greater than the payment you received from the 
Fund, you may attempt to collect the balance of the judgment directly from the real estate licensee. 
 
 
STANDARD PROCEDURE – INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING TO THE FUND  
The standard claims procedure is for applicants with claims over $15,000 or applicants who cannot use 
the accelerated process.  The commissioner may pay up to $150,000 per claimant.  In addition, the 
commissioner can pay up to a total of $250,000 to all claimants against each licensee. 
 
Before completing a standard application, (1) a post-judgment hearing must be scheduled with the 
court, and (2) the Notice of Hearing for Order Directing Payment out of the Real Estate Education, 
Research and Recovery Fund form must be completed.  
 
Under the standard application procedure, once a judgment is obtained, the applicant is required to 
docket the judgment in district court and schedule a post-judgment hearing.  Once the post-judgment 
hearing is scheduled, complete the Notice of Hearing for Order Directing Payment out of the Real Estate 
Education, Research and Recovery Fund form (this form is attached).  The post-judgment hearing is 
where a judge will direct payment from the fund by issuing a court order, if appropriate.  The 
Department of Commerce cannot issue payment from the fund under the standard procedure without 
the court order.  It is important this court hearing be scheduled well before the end of the calendar year.   
 
The Fund must be given a 30 day notice prior to the scheduled date of the hearing.  The last day 
applications are accepted using the standard process is December 1st.  If a decision is rendered to pay 
the claim and the judge signs the order on or before December 31st, the claimant will receive payment 
by July 15th of the following year.   
 
Applications will not be accepted without a copy of the court’s Notice of Docketing. 
 
Under the standard procedure, once the post-judgment hearing date is set, the claimant must notify the 
licensee, the fund administrator and the courts. 
 

1. Send a copy of your Application for Order Directing Payment and the Notice of Hearing (these 
forms are attached) to the real estate licensee at his/her last known address by certified mail.  
To verify, the applicant must sign the application before a notary public. 
 

2. Send a copy of the verified standard application for Order Directing Payment and the Notice of 
Hearing (these forms are attached) to the fund administrator at the address below.  The 
applicant must assemble and label all of the following documents:  



a. A copy of the verified Application for Order Directing Payment Out of Real Estate 
Education, Research and Recovery Fund as described above.   

b. A copy of the Notice of Hearing for Order Directing Payment out of Real Estate 
Education, Research and Recovery Fund.    

c. A copy of the Affidavit of Compliance you completed along with a copy of the white 
receipt (this is the receipt that shows the address it was sent to via certified mail).  

d. A copy of the Summons and Complaint.   
e. A copy of the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order for Judgment, and Judgment, if 

the judgment was obtained in district court, or a copy of the Judgment Notice, if 
obtained in conciliation court.   

f. A copy of the clerk’s notice of docketing of judgment in district court.  
g. A copy of the contract(s) or other agreement(s) between you and the real estate 

licensee. 
h. Proof of the out-of-pocket loss must be provided.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to 

provide all documentation and calculation supporting the claimed amount.  In many 
cases, this is the same evidence previously presented to the court.   

i. You must make an honest effort to collect the judgment from the licensee. You 
may contact the County Clerk’s Office for instructions on getting your judgment 
executed (Writ of Execution). Then, contact your Sheriff’s office and request a 
Demand for Payment (also called a Sheriff’s Return). The sheriff will go to the last 
known address of the licensee and attempt to deliver the demand for payment. 
The Fund will not accept an asset search as an effort to collect. If the real estate 
licensee has filed for bankruptcy, provide information that the licensee is in 
bankruptcy.  

j. Proof the claimant has diligently pursued all potentially liable parties.  
k. Provide an explanation of the situation (if not clearly outlined in the Summons and 

Complaint). 
 

3. Fill out an Affidavit of Compliance for the courts (the form is attached). 
 

Failure to provide all of the required information will delay review and possible approval of the 
application.   

 
Send the verified application and all supporting documents directly to the fund administrator: 

Emily Kelnberger 
Department of Commerce 

Real Estate Recovery Fund Administrator 
85 7th Place East, Suite 500 

St. Paul, MN  55101 
 
When we have reviewed your claim, we will contact you and request additional information, if needed. 
If you do not hear from us prior to one week before the post-judgment hearing, please contact us 
immediately.   
 
The commissioner maintains the right to defend the fund.  The commissioner may also petition the 
court to dismiss the claim, if the claim is without merit.  Under these circumstances, it is ultimately up to 
a judge whether the Fund is required to pay the claimant.   
 



When the court orders payment from the Fund, the Department of Commerce will attempt to collect 
this money from the real estate licensee. In order for us to collect the money, you need to assign to the 
commissioner your rights to collect from the licensee the amount of money you have received from the 
Fund. You will receive an assignment form from the Department that you will need to sign and have 
notarized. If your judgment was for an amount greater than the payment you received from the Fund, 
you may attempt to collect the balance of the judgment directly from the real estate licensee. 
 
Note: If at the end of the calendar year the total amount of approved claims against one contractor 
exceeds $250,000 (the total that can be paid in connection with one real estate licensee), the 
Commissioner will prorate the available funds among the claimants pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 
Section 82.86, subdivision 14. 
 
 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
Your real estate broker, salesperson or closing agent has filed for bankruptcy.   
You may still be able to file a lawsuit solely for the purpose of recovering your loss from the Fund. You 
will need to petition the Judge of bankruptcy court to lift the Automatic Stay and explain that your 
lawsuit is solely for the purpose of obtaining restitution from the Fund and you understand that you will 
not be able to collect the judgment from the real estate agent directly. You may want to consult an 
attorney for more details on how to get the Stay lifted, as the Fund cannot offer any legal advice. 
 
You cannot find the real estate broker, salesperson or closing agent. 
If the applicant is unable to locate the licensee, service can be accomplished by complying with 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 45.028, subdivision 2.  The person you are suing has a legal right to be 
notified of the process and the court date. If you cannot find the licensee, you can serve notice to the 
Commissioner of Commerce instead. Follow the directions described in the Service of Process statute 
(below) and complete the form titled Affidavit of Compliance (attached). Make sure to have the form 
notarized before taking it to court.  You may also want to bring a copy of this statute with you to court 
to ensure the court is satisfied with this method of service.   

45.028 SERVICE OF PROCESS. 
Subdivision 1.Requirement. 

(a) When a person, including any nonresident of this state, engages 
in conduct prohibited or made actionable by chapters 45 to 83, 155A, 
309, and 332, and section 326B.802, or any rule or order under those 
chapters, and the person has not filed a consent to service of process 
under chapters 45 to 83, 155A, 309, and 332, and section 326B.802, 
that conduct is equivalent to an appointment of the commissioner as 
the person's attorney to receive service of process in any noncriminal 
suit, action, or proceeding against the person which is based on that 
conduct and is brought under chapters 45 to 83, 155A, 309, and 332, 
and section 326B.802, or any rule or order under those chapters.  

(b) Subdivision 2 applies in all other cases under chapters 45 to 
83, 155A, 309, and 332, and section 326B.802, or any rule or order 
under those chapters, in which a person, including a nonresident of 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=326B.802%23stat.326B.802
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=326B.802%23stat.326B.802
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=326B.802%23stat.326B.802
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=326B.802%23stat.326B.802


this state, has filed a consent to service of process. This paragraph 
supersedes any inconsistent provision of law.  

(c) Subdivision 2 applies in all cases in which service of process 
is allowed to be made on the commissioner of commerce. 

Subd. 2.How made. 

Service of process under this section may be made by leaving a copy 
of the process in the office of the commissioner, or by sending a copy 
of the process to the commissioner by certified mail, and is not 
effective unless: (1) the plaintiff, who may be the commissioner in an 
action or proceeding instituted by the commissioner, sends notice of 
the service and a copy of the process by certified mail to the 
defendant or respondent at the last known address; and (2) the 
plaintiff's affidavit of compliance is filed in the action or 
proceeding on or before the return day of the process, if any, or 
within further time as the court allows. 

 
The materials and information available in this packet are for informational purposes only and not for 
the purpose of providing legal advice.  Legal advice is dependent upon the specific circumstances of 
each situation.  Therefore, the information contained herein does not replace the advice of competent 
legal counsel.  We cannot guarantee this information is up to date.  Please review Minnesota Statute 
§82.86 (current year).  
 
. 
  



 

 
 
 

 

TENNESSEN WARNING 

The Commissioner of Commerce is requesting that you supply data about yourself which may be 
classified as private or confidential under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act and before 
asking you to supply private or confidential data about yourself, the Commissioner is required to give 
you the following notice. 

1. The Commissioner is asking you to provide data about yourself as part of your application to the Real 
Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund (Recovery Fund) administered by the Commissioner of 
Commerce.  The data you are being asked to supply will be used to determine whether you may be 
entitled to a payment from the Recovery Fund under MINNESOTA STATUTE § 82.86. 

2. MINNESOTA STATUTE § 45.027  requires that you provide  the data the Commissioner is requesting 
about you unless you claim the privilege against self-incrimination as grounds for refusing to supply 
the requested data.  If you supply the data requested the data may be used in a disciplinary 
proceeding or other legal action. 

3. If you refuse to supply the data requested: 

i. The Commissioner may compel you to supply the data requested under the authority granted 
to the Commissioner in MINNESOTA STATUTE § 45.027. 

ii. If you claimed the privilege against self-incrimination as the grounds for refusing to supply the 
requested data, the Commissioner may compel you to supply the data requested. 

iii. The court may find after a hearing that you have not met your burden of proof to establish 
ground for payment to you from the Recovery Fund.   

4. The data you supply may be released to: 

a. personnel employed or under contract by the Department of Commerce or the Attorney 
General’s Office who will investigate whether any statute, rule, or order administered or 
enforced by the Commissioner has been, is being, or is about to be violated; 

b. any appropriate person or agency, if the Commissioner of Commerce determines that failure to 
make the data accessible is likely to create a clear and present danger to public health or safety; 

c. the Legislative Auditor pursuant to MINNESOTA STATUTE § 3.978; 

d. any person authorized by a court order; or 

e. any other person including another law enforcement agency authorized by state or federal law. 



State of Minnesota 
 
County of ______________ 

____________ Court 
 

____________ Judicial District 
 

Case No. __________________ 
 
 

                                  Plaintiff AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE 
  

v.  
 

                                              Defendant 

 

 
 
 
I______________________________________, being first duly sworn, state as follows: 
                                           (your name) 

1. That on the ______day of ________________,20____,  I/Courts (circle one) served the 
attached Notice of Hearing or Statement of Claim and Summons (circle one) on 
____________________________ by sending notice and a copy of the process of certified mail 
  (Licensee) 
to the defendant or respondent at the last known address of 
_____________________________________________________________________________; 
 

2. That on the ______day of ________________,20___, I served the attached Notice of 
Hearing or Statement of Claim and Summons (circle one) by leaving a copy of the process in the 
office of the Commissioner of Commerce, or, sending by certified mail a copy of the process to 
the office of the Commissioner of Commerce, and; 

3. That I am filing this Affidavit of Compliance with the Court on or before the return day 
of the process, if any, or within further time as the court allows.   
 
This Affidavit of Compliance is being completed according to the requirements of Minn. Stat. 
§45.028, subd. 2 (2012), Service of Process. 
 
 
Date:_______________         ____________________________ 
                                                                                            Signature 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this 
______ day of  __________________, 20____ 
 
________________________________ 
Notary/Court Clerk 
 

You must file a copy of this form along with a copy of your Notice of Hearing with the Court. 
  



State of Minnesota 
 
County of ______________ 

____________ Court 
 

____________ Judicial District 
 

Case No. __________________ 
 
 

                                  Plaintiff, 
 

v. 
 

NOTICE OF HEARING FOR ORDER  
DIRECTING PAYMENT OUT OF REAL ESTATE 

EDUCATION, RESEARCH AND RECOVERY FUND  
 

                                              Defendant. 
 
 
 
The above entitled matter is set for hearing on the _______  day of _________________, 

20____, at ____________a.m./p.m. (circle) before Referee/Judge____________________  in 

Room ___________  of the _________________________________________ (building).  

 

 This hearing is on the Application for Order Directing Payment out of the Real Estate 

Education, Research and Recovery Fund pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 82.34 subd. 8. 

 

Dated this ____ day of __________________ , 20_____. 
 

         
 
 

    _________________________________ 
 PLAINTIFF 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

(Note:  this form is for applicants filing under the Standard procedure only)



STATE OF MINNESOTA 
COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE 

 
In the Matter of Real Estate 
License of ___________________________ 
 
License No. __________________________ 

 
APPLICATION FOR ACCELERATED PAYMENT  

OUT OF THE REAL ESTATE EDUCATION,  
RESEARCH AND RECOVERY FUND 

 
 
 THE APPLICANT, __________________________________, for his/her Application for Accelerated  
                                                                                                                         (your name) 

Payment Out of the Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund pursuant to Minn. Stat. 82.86, 
states as follows: 
 
 1. Applicant obtained judgment in ______________________ court, ______________                                                                                                                     

     (conciliation or district)                                                   (county name) 

County against licensee, ______________________________, the terms of which appear  
     (licensee’s name)      

in the Notice of Judgment/Judgment and Decree dated ____________________. 
                                                                                                                                                                         (date of judgment)                 

 2. For purposes of this Application, the above-mentioned Judgment is based on fraudulent, 

deceptive, or dishonest practices, or conversion of funds. 

3. Licensee _________________________ was duly licensed under Minn. Stat. Ch. 82 at the 
    (licensee’s name)      

 time (s)he engaged in the above practices. 
 

 4. Licensee’s fraudulent conduct arose directly out of a real estate transaction for 
which such a license is required. 

 
4. Judgment against licensee was entered on ____________________, and the amount of 

 (date) 

judgment on the date entered was $____________________, which is less than the jurisdiction 
     (amount) 

limit for Conciliation Court matters. 
 

6. There are no reviews or appeals of the above-mentioned judgment in any court. 
 

7. Applicant knows of no other party who would be liable to him/her in the transaction for 
which (s)he seeks recovery from the Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund. 

 
8. Applicant has complied with all the requirements of Minn. Stat. 82.86, Sub. 8 (2012). 

  
Applicant requests payment from the Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund in  

the amount of $____________________, said amount being equal to Applicant’s judgment 
            (amount) 
 

against licensee __________________________, but excluding attorney’s fees, any costs and 
                                                                        (licensee’s name) 
 



disbursements incurred in obtaining the judgment and applying to the Real Estate Education, Research 
and Recovery Fund, costs awarded under Minn. Stat. 549.02, and any pre and post judgment interest. 
      

 
 
Date:   By:   
 Attorney for Applicant (if no attorney, write “none”)  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
STATE OF MINNESOTA ) 
 ) ss. 
COUNTY OF ) 
 
______________________________________, being first duly sworn on oath, states that  
(s)he has read the foregoing application and the same is true and correct to the best of his knowledge 
and belief. 
 
 
    
  Applicant 
 
    
  (Daytime telephone number) 
   
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this ______ day of _______________, 20____. 
 
   
 Notary Public 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Updated 11/2012 



STATE OF MINNESOTA  COURT 
COUNTY OF    JUDICIAL DISTRICT 
 Case Type:  Other Civil 
 Court File No.:    
 
 
 
 , 
 Plaintiff, APPLICATION FOR ORDER 
v.  DIRECTING PAYMENT OUT OF 
  THE REAL ESTATE EDUCATION, 
  , RESEARCH AND RECOVERY FUND 
 Defendant. 
 
 
 COMES NOW THE PLAINTIFF,  
and for the Application for Order Directing Payment Out of the real Estate Education, Research, and 
Recovery Fund pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 82.86, states and alleges as follows: 
 

1. Plaintiff obtained a judgment against Defendant   
(hereinafter, “Defendant”), the exact terms of which appear in the Judgment and Decree 
dated _________________, in this Court’s file and incorporated herein by reference; 

 
2. For purposes of this Application, the above-mentioned Judgment and Decree contains 

findings that Defendant engaged in fraudulent, deceptive, and dishonest practices or the 
conversion of trust funds; 

 
3. Defendant was duly licensed under Minn. Stat. Ch. 82 at the time (s)he engaged in the 

above fraudulent, deceptive, and dishonest practices; 
 
4. Defendant’s fraudulent conduct arose directly out of a real estate transaction for which a 

license is required; 
 
5. Final judgment against Defendant was docketed on   

and the amount of judgment as of that date was $ ; 
 
6. There are no reviews or appeals of the above-mentioned judgment pending in any court; 
 
7. Plaintiff has made an extensive search for assets of Defendant in an attempt to satisfy the 

above judgment, but has been unable to locate any such assets; 
 
8. Plaintiff knows of no other party who would be liable to him in the transaction for which he 

seeks recovery from the Real Estate Education, Research, and Recovery Fund; 
 
9. Plaintiff has properly served Defendant with verified copy of this application; 
 
10. Plaintiff is not a spouse of the debtor, or the personal representative of such spouse; and 
 
11. Plaintiff has complied with all the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 82.86 (2012). 



  
 NOW, THEREFORE, Plaintiff prays this Court for the following relief: 
 
 For an Order directing payment from the Real Estate Education, Research, and Recovery Fund to 
Plaintiff herein in the amount of $___________________, said amount being equal to Plaintiff’s 
judgment against Defendant, plus reasonable costs and disbursements, but excluding attorney’s fees 
and pre- and post-judgment interest. 
 
 
Dated: ______________________ By: ___________________________________ 
   Attorney for Plaintiff 
 
 
 
 
 
STATE OF MINNESOTA ) 
  ) ss.  VERIFICATION 
COUNTY OF  ) 
 
  , being first duly sworn on oath, states 
that he has read the foregoing application, and the same is true and correct to the best of his knowledge 
and belief. 
 
 
    
  (Signature) 
 
    
  (Print Name Clearly) 
 
    
  (Day Time Telephone) 
STATE OF MINNESOTA ) 
  ) ss. 
COUNTY OF  ) 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this ______ day of _______________, 20____. 
 
 
   
Notary Public                                                                                                                      
 
 
 
 
 updated 11/2012 
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