	OFFICE USE ONLY			
COMMERCE DEPARTMENT	Date:	Course #:		
Minnesota Department of Commerce	Reviewed By:		Date:	
85 7th Place East, Suite 280 Saint Paul, MN 55101		□ DISTANCE LEARNING /	SELF-STUDY or INTERACTIVE INTERNET	
PHONE: 651-539-1599	COMPANY-SPON			
		<u>ANCE</u> credits approved	TC/MA/PT, Annuities, & Ethics.	
(Please Note: This application, with fee, must be				
FOR USE BY Q	FOR USE BY QUALIFIED PROVIDERS ONLY			
Insurance Producers and Adjusters				
CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION SHORT FORM				
Do NOT use this short form for Flood, LTC/MA/PT, Annuities &/or Ethics required course credits.				
Course Title:(Please	Print or Type)			

Initial Proposed Date(s) of Course:

PROVIDER/COORDINATOR I					
degree-granting institution, or private school					
license continuing education provider that		<u> </u>	*		
Provider Name (In Full - Exactly as it ap	ppears on your MN approval le	tter)	(REQUIRED) QUALIFIED		
			MN Provider ID #		
Provider Address					
City		State	Zip		
Provider Phone Number	Provider Fax	Prov	rider Toll-Free		
( )	( )	(			
Website					
Coordinator Name					
Coordinator Business Telephone	(REQUIRED) Coordi	nator Direct Email			
( )					
Federal Employer Identification Number (F	REQUIRED)				
FEIN					
APPLICATION FEE (Only check or mo	nev order accented)	License T	ype: INSURANCE		
New Course: \$10 per hour <u>or a fraction of an hour</u> . (Example: 1.5Hrs = \$20) Fractions not less than 15 minutes.					
(Must list & include fee for all hours you want reviewed, regardless of how many hours are awarded.) 45.23 LICENSE EDUCATION FEES. The following fees must be paid to the commissioner: (1) initial course approval, \$10 for each hour or					
fraction of one hour of education course approval sought.					
□ This Submission Contains Concur	rent / Breakout Sessions &	fee submitted inc	ludes all sessions we are seeking		
approval for. Example: 3 separate concurrent 1-hr (1PM-2PM) sessions would cost \$30 for us to review the 3 sessions.					
Licensee would choose 1 session to a	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
Total # of Requested Hours to Review:	Total # of 1	Hours Requested f	or Licensee Credit:		
Fee Submitted for (A) Total # of Hours	to Review:	Check Numb	er:		

#### Step 1: Choose ONLY ONE of the Two Methods of Instruction per Application and Fee

See Minn. Statutes Chapter 45 regarding internet interactive course requirements (See Appendix B) and verifiable proctors. Proctor forms are located at the end of the course application.

### **Course is taught live or real-time.**

Minnesota Statutes Chapter 45.25 Subd. 2a. <u>Classroom course.</u> "Classroom course" means an educational process based on live or real-time instruction including, but not limited to:

a course in which there is no geographic separation of instructor and learner;

[Note: This method is commonly known as Standard Classroom. Students are physically monitored by approved instructor or coordinator.]

(2) a course taught live that is concurrently simulcast to remote locations and where each location is monitored by a proctor; and

[Note: This method normally used for <u>multiple</u> students in one remote location, without an online individual process to authenticate student's identity and technology to guarantee seat time; which therefore requires proctor certifications. Two page proctor forms are located at the end of each course application.]

(3) a course taught live that is concurrently simulcast to individual students online and that includes a process to authenticate the student's identity and technology to guarantee seat time. [Note: Proctors are NOT required for this method.]

[*Note: For <u>ALL above Classroom</u> course methods...* No EXAMINATION is required unless required by provider or an exam is required for a special required course. (Example: required real estate modules or required insurance LTC course).]

# **Course is NOT taught live or real-time.**

**Minnesota Statutes Chapter 45.25 Subd. 5a.** <u>Distance learning course.</u> "Distance learning course" means an education process, other than the courses specified in subdivision 2a, clauses (2) and (3), that is based on the geographical separation of instructor and learner. This includes, but is not limited to:

(1) an interactive Internet course that does not meet the requirements of subdivision 2a, clauses (2) or (3); and

[Note: MUST MEET ALL Guidelines in Minn. Statutes Chapter 45.306.Subd.2. & Subd.3. See Appendix "B". DOES require an end of course closed book exam but DOES NOT "require" a Proctor if exam is online and encrypted (see Subd.3. in Appendix "B".]

(2) a noninteractive course taught via the Internet, video, or other electronic means.

[Note: DOES require an end of course closed book exam and <u>Also MAY REQUIRE</u> a Proctor if the instruction method does not meet the requirement to include "a process to authenticate the student's identity and technology to guarantee seat time" (see Appendix "B".]

#### [In addition]

#### Minnesota Statutes Chapter 45.25

**Subd. 14.** <u>Self-study course.</u> "Self-study course" means a **distance learning** course that is not entirely taught by the instructor live via the Internet, video, or other electronic means.

(3) a distance learning course that is not entirely taught by the instructor live via the Internet, video, or other electronic means.

[Note: This Self-Study Distance learning course method <u>DOES</u> require an end of course closed book exam CERTIFIED by a PROCTOR.]

**REQUIRED:** Attach a Copy of Examination and Answer Key – (If exam is given.) (Note that a closed book end of course exam <u>is</u> always required for all distance learning courses and various special required courses.)

# Method of Presentation / Instruction Insurance and Real Estate Continuing Education Only

Step 2: Provide the following information
The following only pertains to a course taught live or real-time
My Course is:
Standard Classroom
Include Detailed Explanation of Attendance Verification
Does the course include an examination? Yes Do D
If YES, attach a Detailed Explanation regarding Exam
Webinar
Include Link to Course, Login, & Password
Attach a Detailed Explanation of the Method of Instruction/Presentation

□ Attach a Detailed Explanation of the Use & Verification of Proctors, if proctors are used

□ No Proctor &/or No Proctor Required

Does the course include an examination? Yes 🗆 No 🗖

□ If YES, attach a Detailed Explanation regarding Exam

The following only pertains to a course NOT taught live or real-time

My Distance Learning Course is:

**Distance Learning Interactive Internet** 

- □ Yes -- My Distance Learning interactive internet method of instruction meets or exceeds all requirements listed in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 45.306.
  - **Attach a Detailed Explanation of the Method of Instruction/Presentation**
  - **Include Detailed Explanation of Attendance Verification**
  - □ Include Link to Course, Login, & Password
  - **Attach a Detailed Explanation regarding Exam**
  - □ Attach a Detailed Explanation of the Use & Verification of Proctors, if proctors are used

□ No Proctor &/or No Proctor Required

□ Non-interactive OR Self-Study / Correspondence

Attach a Detailed Explanation of the Method of Instruction/Presentation

□ Attach a Detailed Explanation regarding Exam presentation and the Use & Verification of the required Exam Proctors.

#### □ Include Link to Course, Login, & Password (if any material is online)

**REQUIRED:** Attach a Copy of Examination and Answer Key – (If exam is given.) (Note that a closed book end of course exam <u>is</u> always required for all distance learning courses and various special required courses.)

# **Questions Specific to Insurance CE Application**

The fol	llowing questions MUST be	e answered or application wi	l be returned as deficient.
including MN? Y	′es: □ No: □	gency, managing general agent, NAIC number, state, and attach ve	or insurance company in any state rifiable documentation <u>for each</u> .
Lic Type:	, Lic Number:	, NAIC Number:	, State:
general agent, or i	nsurance broker? Yes: 🗆 N		mpany, agent, agency, managing ary.
Details:			
	e <b>be held on the premises of a</b> of the details and attach verifiable d	<b>company doing business in the</b> a ocumentation.	regulated area?Yes: □ No: □
Details:			
□ Will this course	be open to the public? Yes: [	] No: □	
<ul><li>Will this course</li><li>If yes, list t</li></ul>		group of people? Yes:□ No:	
Details:			
		rse is categorized under any o	C C
Name of designat	ion (spelled out):	🗆	Attach verification document(s).
Name of designat	ion (spelled out):	🗆	Attach verification document(s).
This course has Yes: □ No: □	been approved by a State or	Federal regulatory agency. □	Attach copy of approval letter(s)
		, Nur	
		, Nur	
State:, A	gency or Board:	, Nur , Nur	mber of approved hours:

(Attach additional paper as necessary for additional states.)

# DETAILED, TIMED CONTENT OUTLINE

Segments must be listed in increments of 15			
minutes or less.			# <b>of</b> mainstant
Break times must be indicated (attach additional sheets if	Instructor(s)	Scheduled time	# of minutes
necessary).			
(Example) Basics of Property Ins.	John Doe	8:00 – 8:10am	10
(Example) Basics of Casualty Ins.	Mark Smith	8:10 – 8:20am	10
(Example) Property Claims Issues.	Mary Brown	8:20 – 8:35am	15
	Total assure : 1 :		
	Total course ho	ours:	

### **INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR**

QUALIFICATIONS AND CONTACT INFORMATION PAGE

(Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legible)

### Copy and attach additional pages as needed; one for <u>every</u> continuing education course instructor.

### MANDATORY: Attach a detailed Bio / Resume to this completed form showing dates of experience.

Note: This form can <u>only</u> be used by a bona fide trade association a degree-granting institution, or private school that as a Standard education provider applied for & received approval as a "Qualified" license CE provider that is currently active, and in good standing with the MN Dept. of Commerce.



PHONE: 651-539-1599

Insurance Producer and Adjuster License Education

QUALIFIED PROVIDERS ONLY

Minnesota Department of Commerce Not allow 85 7<sup>th</sup> Place East, Suite 500, Saint Paul, MN 55101

Not allowed for Appraiser Providers or Courses

ACTIVE QUALIFIED PROVIDER # \_\_\_\_

DATE SUBMITTED

Note: This completed certification form must be included with any initial "short form" course submission if automatic course approval is requested by a Qualified Provider or the automatic approval will not granted. Qualified Provider Course Certification Form

Qualified Provider Name: \_\_\_\_\_

(Mandatory) (Exactly as listed on Qualified Provider approval letter.)

Course Title: \_\_\_\_

(Mandatory) (Exactly as listed on attached Short Form Course application.) Continuing Education Provider - Coordinator Certification and Signature Page:

As the Qualified Provider:

I understand that all course short form applications must be submitted at least 30 days before the requested initial course offering date.

I understand and guarantee that all required documents and forms listed on the required documents (Appendix A) page of the continuing education short form course application must be complete and available for audit at the time of my submission; that all content of the submissions are auditable as of the submission date.

I understand and guarantee that my courses comply with all applicable license education Minnesota Statutes including but not limited to Minn. Stat. Chapter 45.30 Subd 1. Content. Continuing education consists of approved courses that impart appropriate and related knowledge in the field for which approval is requested; and courses may not include topics that are not permitted for continuing education as set forth in Minn. Statute Chapter 45.30. Subd. 5.

I understand and guarantee that for distance learning courses (1) If internet, it meets all current MN interactive internet guidelines. (2) If self-study, it meets all current MN guidelines; that it is verifiable and meets current MN acceptable Proctor guidelines.

\*I understand that I may only apply for automatic course approval for courses that are not required by federal criteria or a reciprocity agreement to receive a substantive review; that all other courses must be submitted in full as for a Standard Provider.

I certify that I am the Minnesota Dept. of Commerce approved primary education coordinator for the provider listed above and that I am responsible for compliance with all Minnesota education laws and regulations located in Minn. Stat. 45, Minn. Stat. 60K and Minn. Stat. 72B. Furthermore, I declare that the information provided above is true and complete, that I have answered each question fully and truthfully and without any purpose of evasion or mental reservation and that this document has not been changed in any manner from the form adopted by the Commerce Department.

-	(Mandatory)	
Signature of MN Primary Coordinator:		Submission Date:
0 ,	(Mandatory)	(Mandatory)

\*Insurance Only: MN is required to give a substantive review of any course for a MN resident insurance provider or for any course submitted by a nonresident insurance provider who does not have the course in question approved in their home state (or designated home state). Any course given automatic course approval is not allowed to be used for reciprocal application in another state. The course "must" be reapplied for "as new" and receive "substantive reviewed approval" in order to apply in another state for insurance reciprocal approval. \*\*\* Automatic approval can not be given to MN Required Courses: Flood, LTC/MA/PT, & Ethics.

# Appendix A REQUIRED DOCUMENTS & FORMS SHORT FORM ONLY

APPLICANTS: <u>You must attach the above completed Qualified Provider Course Certification Form</u> to this completed short form course application certifying that every item listed below is complete and available for audit at the time of your submission. Except for items A3, C1, C3, and C4, you do NOT need to submit the items below unless we request them.

- A. Course Materials- Attach copy of:
- 1. Course Description detailed description of course content
- 2. Learning Objectives detailed description of objectives for the students to learn
- 3. Detailed Course Outline timed in 15 minute increments (If multiple Instructors, identify section of outline for each Instructor).
- 4. Attach an in-depth explanation of your Method of Presentation / Instruction
- 5. Instructional Material for Instructors Overheads, PowerPoint, etc.
- 6. Instructional Material for Students textbooks, notebooks, guides, etc. If textbooks are not used, you must hand out a Syllabus to each student in the class. Textbooks must contain the same detailed information as the Syllabus.
- Examination and Answer Key (if exam is given a copy of the entire bank of questions must be attached, if no exam is given, you must state that) (Note that a closed book end of course exam is required for all nonclassroom courses.)
- **B.** Provider Policies
- 1. Course Prerequisites If there are none, put it in writing.
- 2. **Regarding Instructor Qualifications**: Attach statement that ALL instructors meet or exceed the instructor requirements as stated in Minn. Statute Chapter 45.32.

Read Minn. Law Chapter 45.32 *before you submit your application.* 

Classroom: Any individual speaking to licensees during your course is considered an instructor.

Distance Learning: Any individual speaking at a "live" distance learning course is considered an instructor.

**Interactive Internet**: For the purposes of this section **any author** of an internet course is considered an instructor. **Distance Learning & Interactive Internet**: For the purposes of this section **any** individual used as a contact for students to answer questions regarding a course is considered an instructor.

#### 3. Attendance:

- How do you verify attendance <u>throughout</u> the course for Classroom? How do you physically monitor the students? Include a description.
- How do you verify attendance <u>throughout</u> the course for **Distance Learning**? Certification is required. What type of certification method do you use? Include a description.

4. Cancellation & Refund – Attach a copy of your required course cancellation and refund procedures. *Note:* If no fees are charged attach details as to who pays the fee.

- C. Assorted Attachments Attach copy of:
- 1. Internet Address, Login & Password for any Distance Learning course.
- 2. Students' Course and Instructor Evaluation Form
- 3. ALL Course Instructors' Resumes or Bios (Note: All speakers are considered instructors)
- 4. Course Schedule
- 5. Proposed Advertising if there is no advertising, you must state that.

(NOTE: This page does NOT need to be sent in as part of the application submission.)

## Appendix B

### Minnesota Department of Commerce (DOC)

### Interactive CE Training On-Line Basic Requirements

### 45.306 CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES OFFERED OVER THE INTERNET.

### Subdivision 1. Appraiser Internet continuing education courses.

The design and delivery of an appraiser continuing education course must be approved by the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) before the course is submitted for the commissioner's approval.

### Subd. 2. Interactive Internet course requirements.

An interactive Internet continuing education course must:

(1) specify the minimum system requirements;

(2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;

### (3) include technology to guarantee seat time; (\*See clarification below.)

(4) include a high level of interactivity;

(5) include graphics that reinforce the content;

(6) include the ability for the student to contact an instructor within a reasonable amount of time;

(7) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount of time;

(8) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not constitute consent;

(9) be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, excluding minimal down time for updating and administration, except that this provision does not apply to live courses taught by an actual instructor and delivered over the Internet;

(10) provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the commissioner, excluding minimal down time for updating and administration;

(11) include a process to authenticate the student's identity;

(12) inform the student and the commissioner how long after its purchase a course will be accessible;

(13) inform the student that license education credit will not be awarded for taking the course after it loses its status as an approved course;

(14) provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course;

(15) provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course;

(16) provide questions after each unit or chapter that must be answered before the student can proceed to the next unit or chapter;

(17) include a reinforcement response when a quiz question is answered correctly;

(18) include a response when a quiz question is answered incorrectly;

(19) include a final examination;

(20) allow the student to go back and review any unit at any time, except during the final examination;

(21) provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. At a minimum, the evaluation must ask the student to report any difficulties caused by the online education delivery method; and

(22) provide a completion certificate when the course and exam have been completed and the provider has verified the completion. Electronic certificates are sufficient.

**Subd. 3. Final examination.** The final examination must be either an encrypted online examination or a paper examination that is monitored by a **proctor** who certifies that the student took the examination. The student must not be allowed to review the course content once the examination has begun. (\*\*See proctor definition below.)

#### \* Minnesota Seat Time Clarification for 45.306 Subd2. (3):

While seat time is a definite requirement and you must include technology to guarantee it, this does not mean that to accomplish it, a licensee should be sitting in front of a computer waiting for X number of hours to pass. The course itself must contain the right amount of interactive instruction content to take the same X number of hours, or more, as requested by the provider. If a provider is asking for 2 hours of credit, that course must take a licensee 2 hours, or more, of interactive learning to complete. This also means that your course must have the technology to time out (automatically log out) if a licensee leaves the <u>course</u> inactive for more than ten minutes. The system should not allow a student to log into a course and then either walk away from the computer or visit other computer sites for the 2 hours and still receive credit.

### \*\*Minnesota Proctor Guidelines are as follows:

45.25 DEFINITIONS. Subd. 12. Proctor.

"Proctor" means a disinterested third party with no conflict of interest who verifies a student's identity and processes an affidavit testifying that the student received no outside assistance with the course or examination.

#### (NOTE: This page does NOT need to be sent in as part of the application submission.)

Generic Document (NOTE: This blank page does NOT need to be sent in as part of the application submission.)					
<u>CE Course &amp;/or Exam Proctor Affidavit</u> <u>Student/Licensee Name and Certification</u> (Please Print or Type - Writing Must Be Legible)					
Name of Course &/or Exam					
Date & Time of Course &/or Exam Completion					
Company & Address where course &/or exam was completed					
CityStateZip Code					
Student's Full Legal Name, License Number, & DOB       (Please Print or Type - Writing Must Be Legible)					
()(/)					
(Name) (License #) (Date of Birth) Business Address					
CityStateZip Code					
Mailing Address (if different than above)					
CityStateZip Code					
Daytime PhoneE-mail					
I certify that I personally completed the above-named course &/or exam <u>without outside assistance of any kind</u> .					
Student Signature Date (/)					
(Must match course &/or exam)					
Proctor Name and Certification					
Proctor's Full Legal Name (Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legible)					
Note any relationship to the student					
I certify that I am a disinterested third party with no conflict of interest. I verified the identity of the student listed above on this form (i.e. valid photo ID), and I ensured that: the <u>course</u> was completed in its entirety and that I physically monitored the student throughout the entire <u>course</u> process. the <u>exam</u> was completed without outside assistance of any kind (i.e. human, study material, notes, computer, cell phone, etc.), and that I physically monitored the entire <u>exam</u> process.					
Proctor Signature Date (/) (Must match course &/or exam)					
Employer & Job Title					
Business Address					
City State Zip Code					
Business/Daytime PhoneE-mail         (Rev 7.22.14)       (Please Print or Type - Writing Must Be Legible)					

Generic Document	
(NOTE: This blank page does NOT need to be sent in as part of the application	on submission.)

(Part 1 of 2)

### Student / Licensee Name and Certification Page TO BE ATTACHED TO CE Course &/or Exam Proctor Affidavit

(Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legible)

(Use this two-page form only when there are **<u>multiple</u>** students in one location.)

Notice: One of these forms must be completed & signed by each student. The completed form <u>MUST be attached to</u> the multiple student Proctor Affidavit form completed by the Proctor. Both completed forms must be kept on file by the Education Provider for 3 years from the date of course completion.

Name of Course &/or Exam			Course#	
Date & Time of Course &/or Exam Completi	on			
Company & Address where course &/or exar	m was compl	eted		
City		State	Zip Code	
Student's Full Legal Name, License Number,	, & DOB	(Please Prin	t or Type – Writing Must Be Legible)	
(Name) (Lice Business Address	ense #)	(Date of Birth)	)(//)_	
City Mailing Address (if different than above)		State	Zip Code	
City		State	Zip Code	
Daytime Phone	E-mail			
I certify that I personally completed the above-nar	ned course &/o	or exam <u>without outs</u>	ide assistance of any kind.	
Student Signature		(Must m	Date (// atch date of course &/or exam & Proctor form	_) 1)
(Pleas (Rev 7.22.14)	se Print or Type	- Writing Must Be Leg		

(NOTE: T	Generic nis blank page does NOT need to b	Document e sent in as part of the ar	pplication submission.)	
				(Part 2 of 2)
<u>CE Course</u>	e &/or Exam Proctors	Writing Must Be Legible	-	
(I Is	e only when there are <b>mu</b>	0 0	/	
Notice: This form must be com			/	he attached to a
completed student Affidavit fo completed forms must be kept	orm for each student listed b	elow. (Up to 24 stu	dent forms per Proctor fo	rm.) All
Name of Course &/or Exam			Course #	
Date & Time of Course &/or E	xam Completion			
Company & Address where co	urse &/or exam was complet	ed		
City		State	Zip Code	
Student's Full Legal Name				
1		13	at or Type - writing widst de L	~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2		10 14		
3		15		
4		16		
5		17		
6		18		
7		19		
8		20		
9 10		21 22		
11		23		
12		25		
-	Proctor Name a	nd Certification		
Proctor's Full Legal Name		Writing Must Be Legibl		
	(		-)	
Note any relationship to any st	udent on above list.			
I certify that I am a disinterested t	hird party with no conflict of ir	i <mark>terest.</mark> I verified the i	dentity of each and every st	udent listed
above on this form (or attached or the <u>course</u> was completed in its	additional pages) (i.e. valid ph	oto ID), and I ensured	l that:	
process. the <u>exam</u> was completed without and that I physically monitored the physically monitored the physically monitored the physical sector of the physical			aterial, notes, computer, ce	ll phone, etc.),
1 9 9	0	i	Date (/_	( )
Proctor Signature Employer & Job Title	(Must match date	of course &/or exam & S	Gudents form)	,
City		State	Zip Code	
Business/Daytime Phone	E-mail			
(Rev 7.22.14)	(Please Print or Type – Writi	ng Must Be Legible)		(Part 2 of 2