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INTRODUCTION 

This guide is intended to help bullion product dealers understand how to 

register with the Minnesota Department of Commerce ("Commerce 

Department") and maintain their registration. 

Every effort was made to ensure the accuracy of the material in this guide, but 

nothing in it should be construed as legal advice, and Minnesota state law 

always governs the matters discussed in these pages. 

The information in this guide was current as of July 2016, but always check 

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 80G and the Commerce Department website for 

updates to laws and procedures. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=80G
http://mn.gov/commerce/
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QUICK OVERVIEW 

To operate in Minnesota, a bullion product dealer must: 

▪ establish procedures for criminal history and judgment screening of 

each of its owners, officers, and dealer representatives 

▪ register itself and each of its dealer representatives 

▪ maintain a current, valid surety bond 

▪ follow specified practices and procedures 

▪ annually renew its registration and the registration of each of its dealer 

representatives 

 

 

 

Fees 

The fee for a bullion product dealer registration is $25. The renewal fee 

is also $25. 

The fee for a bullion product dealer representative registration is $10. 

The renewal fee is also $10. 
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APPLICABLE LAWS 

The primary statute governing bullion product dealers and dealer 

representatives in Minnesota is Minnesota Statutes Chapter 80G, Bullion 

Product Dealers. But you must be familiar with many other Minnesota laws as 

well, including the following: 

Chapter 45, Department of Commerce; General Powers 

 

Chapter 325D, Restraint of Trade 

 

Chapter 325F, Consumer Protection; Products and Sales 

 

 

 

 

 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=80G
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=80G
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=45
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=325D
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=325F
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PULSE PORTAL 

Most licensing services, including applications, renewals, address changes, 

and others, are performed online via Pulse Portal (pulseportal.com), the 

electronic system used by the Commerce Department to administer its 

licensing, registration, and enforcement programs for bullion product and 

other industries. For assistance using Pulse Portal, please contact Pulse 

Support at 1-866-274-4756.  

https://www.pulseportal.com/default.jsp
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BECOMING A REGISTERED BULLION PRODUCT DEALER 

To become a registered bullion product dealer in Minnesota, you must: 

☐ Establish procedures for criminal history and judgment screening of 

each of the dealer's owners, officers, and dealer representatives 

☐ Submit the required application 

☐ Pay the associated fee 

☐ Receive notice that your registration has been approved by the 

Commerce Department 
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ESTABLISHING CRIMINAL HISTORY SCREENING PROCEDURES 

You must establish procedures to screen each of the dealer's owners, officers, 

and dealer representatives before you register and each time you renew your 

registration. You must keep the results of the screening on file and provide 

them to the Commerce Department if the Commerce Department requests 

them. 

 

Initial Screening. The screening process for your initial registration must be 

done no more than 60 days before you submit an application for registration. 

The process must include: 

▪ a national criminal history record search; 

▪ a judgment search; and 

▪ a county criminal history search for all counties where the individual 

has resided within the immediately preceding ten years. 

You must use a reputable, reliable, and accurate vendor authorized to do 

business in any state to conduct the background screening process. 

 

Renewal Screening. The screening process for the renewal of a registration 

must take place no more than 60 days before you submit an application for 

renewal of a registration. The process must include: 

▪ a national criminal history record search; 

▪ a judgment search; and 

▪ a county criminal history search for all counties where the individual 

has resided since satisfactorily completing the last screening process 

conducted to comply with the bullion product registration law 

(Minnesota Statutes Chapter 80G). 

   

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=80G
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APPLYING FOR REGISTRATION AS A BULLION PRODUCT DEALER 

You can submit the necessary application by following these steps: 

▪ Visit pulseportal.com. Make sure the pop-up blocker in your browser is 

turned off. 

▪ Select "Minnesota Department of Commerce" from the "Choose a 

Program" dropdown menu. 

▪ Select "Bullion Product Dealers" from the "Choose a Board" dropdown 

menu. 

▪ Select "Submit License Application" from the list under "Licensing 

Services." 

▪ Select "Organization" from the "Entity Type" dropdown menu. 

▪ Select "Bullion Product Dealer" from the "License Type" dropdown 

menu. 

▪ Select the resident state of the business entity that you are registering 

from the "Resident State" dropdown menu. 

▪ Enter the business entity's Federal Employer Identification Number in 

the "EIN" field. 

▪ If the business entity was previously licensed, enter the requested 

information in the "Previous License Number" and "Previous License 

Type" fields. 

▪ Enter the business entity's full legal name in the "Company Name" 

field. 

▪ Click the "Next" button. 

▪ Review and print the "Bullion Product Registration General 

Requirements." 

▪ Click the "Next" button. 

▪ Under "New E-mail Address Information," select "All Boards" from the 

"Board" dropdown menu. 

▪ Select "General Organization Email" from the "E-mail Address Type" 

dropdown menu. 

▪ Enter your e-mail address for business use in the "E-mail Address" box 

and the "Confirm e-mail address" box. 

▪ Click the "Add Another" button. 

▪ Under "New E-mail Address Information," select "Bullion Product 

Dealers" from the "Board" dropdown menu. 

▪ Select "Business Organization Email" from the "E-mail Address Type" 

dropdown menu. 

https://www.pulseportal.com/default.jsp
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▪ Enter your secondary e-mail address for business use in the "E-mail 

Address" box and the "Confirm e-mail address" box. If you do not have 

a secondary e-mail address for business use, enter the same e-mail 

address for business use that you previously entered. 

▪ Click the "Next" button. 

▪ Continue entering the requested demographic information and 

answering the background questions for the company. 

▪ At the end of the application, you will receive a confirmation number 

that can be used to check the status of the application on Pulse Portal 

as part of the "Application/Renewal Status Inquiry" service. 

 

The registration expires on June 30 and must be renewed before the 

deadline. See "Mass License Renewal" on page 12.  



9 
 

SUBMITTING A REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR A BULLION 

PRODUCT DEALER REPRESENTATIVE 

Applications for bullion product dealer representatives are submitted by the 

bullion product dealer that the representative will be associated with. The 

bullion product dealer can submit an application by following these steps: 

▪ Visit pulseportal.com. Make sure the pop-up blocker in your browser is 

turned off. 

▪ Select "Minnesota Department of Commerce" from the "Choose a 

Program" dropdown menu. 

▪ Select "Bullion Product Dealers" from the "Choose a Board" dropdown 

menu. 

▪ Select "Submit License Application" from the list under "Licensing 

Services." 

▪ Select "Individual" from the "Entity Type" dropdown menu. 

▪ Select "Bullion Product Dealer Rep" from the "License Type" dropdown 

menu. 

▪ Select the resident state of the individual that you are registering from 

the "Resident State" dropdown menu. 

▪ Click the "Next" button. 

▪ You will then be asked to log in using the user name and password of 

the registered bullion product dealer that the individual will be 

associated with. 

▪ After successfully logging in you will be able to follow the necessary 

steps to complete the application.  

 

The registered bullion product dealer can also use PULSE Portal to check the 

status of a registration application. After the application has been approved, 

the registered bullion product dealer can print a copy of the registration.  

The registration expires on June 30 and must be renewed before the 

deadline. See "Mass License Renewal" on page 12.  

https://www.pulseportal.com/default.jsp
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Incomplete Applications 

Under state law, an application that is incomplete is considered withdrawn if 

the applicant does not submit a complete application within six months of the 

date the application was received, and the application fee under these 

circumstances is nonrefundable. 
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SURETY BOND 

You must maintain a current, valid surety bond issued by a surety company 

admitted to do business in Minnesota in an amount based on the 

transactions (purchases from and sales to consumers at retail) during the 12-

month period prior to registration or renewal, whichever applies. See the table 

below. 

 

Transaction Amount in 

Preceding 12-month Period 
Surety Bond Required 

$25,000 to $200,000 $25,000 

$200,000.01 to $500,000 $50,000 

$500,000.01 to $1,000,000 $100,000 

$1,000,000.01 to $2,000,000 $150,000 

Over $2,000,000 $200,000 
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MASS LICENSE RENEWAL 

Bullion product dealer representatives do not submit their registration 

renewal applications; the bullion product dealer that they are associated with 

must submit it. Once the application has been approved by the Commerce 

Department, the dealer will be able to print out the renewed registration. 

 

Fees 

The fee for a renewal of a bullion product dealer registration is $25. 

The fee for a renewal of a bullion product dealer representative registration is 

$10. 

 

Submitting Registration Renewal Applications 

A bullion product dealer can submit registration renewal applications by 

following these steps: 

▪ Visit pulseportal.com. Make sure the pop-up blocker in your browser is 

turned off. 

▪ Select "Minnesota Department of Commerce" from the "Choose a 

Program" dropdown menu. 

▪ Select "Bullion Product Dealers" from the "Choose a Board" dropdown 

menu. 

▪ Select "Mass License Renewals" from the list under "License 

Renewals." 

▪ Enter the dealer's Pulse Portal user name and password. 

▪ Click the "Login" button. 

▪ Next to "License Type," click the "Bullion Product Dealer" radio button, 

then click the "Submit" button. 

▪ You will be presented with a list of all bullion product dealer 

representatives associated with your company whose registrations are 

due for renewal. At the front of each row in the list is a checkbox, which 

is checked by default. If there are any representatives whose 

registrations you do not want to renew, uncheck the box at the front of  

their row. 

▪ Click the "Submit" button. 

▪ Read the Attestation and then click the appropriate button. 

https://www.pulseportal.com/default.jsp
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▪ Review the "Selected Individual License Renewals" list. After you have 

confirmed that it is correct, click the "Submit" button. 

▪ The Credit Card Information screen will appear. Enter all requested 

information. (Note: If your mailing address is in the United States, you 

do not need to enter anything in the "Country" field.) Click the 

"Continue" button. 

▪ Verify your information on the next screen. If something needs to be 

added or corrected, click the "Back" button (the one on the page, not 

the one for your browser). If everything is correct, click the "Submit 

Credit Card Info" button. 

▪ The confirmation page will appear. Please write down the Confirmation 

ID number and print the page for your records. The Confirmation ID 

number can be used to check the status of your renewals. 

▪ You can view and print the renewed registrations by clicking the 

indicated link beneath the list of renewed registrations. 

 

Incomplete Applications 

Under state law, an application that is incomplete is considered withdrawn if 

the applicant does not submit a complete application within six months of the 

date the application was received, and the application fee under these 

circumstances is nonrefundable. 
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REPORTING CHANGES IN REGISTRATION INFORMATION 

Registered bullion product dealers must notify the Commerce Department in 

writing, no later than 30 days after the change occurs, of any change in any of 

the following for the dealer: 

 Name 

 Assumed names 

 Doing business as names 

 Business addresses, including all business addresses at which the 

dealer or its dealer representatives conduct business 

 Owners 

 E-mail addresses 

 Web site domain names 

 Primary telephone number used by the dealer or its dealer 

representatives to buy, sell, solicit, or market to consumers bullion 

products or investments in bullion products 
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PROHIBITED PRACTICES 

Your bullion product dealer registration gives you the ability to perform various 

services that unregistered individuals and businesses are legally forbidden to 

perform. But state law also prohibits bullion product dealers from performing 

certain acts and practices. For example, you may not misrepresent your 

professional qualifications, affiliations, or registration, and you may not fail to 

investigate any consumer complaint. There are many other prohibitions. 

Review Minnesota Statutes Chapter 80G, Bullion Product Dealers, as well as 

the other items listed under "Applicable Laws" above. If you have any 

questions, consult with your attorney. You may also contact the Commerce 

Department Enforcement Division at consumer.protection@state.mn.us with 

questions about permissible acts and practices.   

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=80G
mailto:consumer.protection@state.mn.us
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REFUNDS 

If you submit an application in error or want to withdraw an application for 

some other reason, state law provides very limited circumstances under which 

you may request a refund of the associated registration fee. In general, you 

cannot receive a refund unless you do not qualify for the registration, and you 

must request a refund within six months of the date that you submitted the 

fee payment. To request a refund, send an e-mail to 

licensing.commerce@state.mn.us with "BULLION PRODUCT APPLICATION 

REFUND REQUEST" in the subject field. Include your mailing address in the 

body of the message because we are not able to issue a refund to your credit 

card or bank account directly. If we are able to approve your refund request, a 

refund check will be mailed to you within 4-6 weeks. Please note that we can 

only refund the fees that the Commerce Department charges for the 

application; we cannot refund any vendor or credit card processing fees. 

mailto:licensing.commerce@state.mn.us

