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To: All Workers’ Compensation Insurers Licensed in Minnesota 
 
Re: 2007 – 2008 Workers’ Compensation Filing Procedures  
 
Summary 
This bulletin contains the updated filing procedures and forms that should be utilized to 
expedite the review of workers’ compensation filings made in Minnesota in 2007 - 2008. The 
purpose of this bulletin is to assist workers’ compensation insurers in meeting the filing 
requirements set forth in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules, and to provide insurers 
with additional information that will assist the Department of Commerce (Commerce) in 
expediting the review process. In addition to all previously superseded bulletins, this bulletin 
supersedes Bulletins 2005-11, and 2006-4, unless otherwise referenced herein. Any 
enforcement action or filing disapprovals will be based on a case-by-case analysis in 
accordance with applicable Minnesota statutes and administrative rules. 
 

       
          GLENN WILSON 
         Commissioner of Commerce 
 
 
1. Limited Power of Attorney – (LPOA) 

Minnesota Statute §79.56, Subd. 1, requires an insurer to file with the commissioner “a 
complete copy of its rates and rating plan, and all changes and amendments thereto.” 
Commerce will continue to permit an insurer to elect to use MWCIA filings by submitting 
a one-time Limited Power of Attorney (LPOA). A copy of the LPOA is attached for your 
reference. The LPOA remains in force until the insurer notifies Commerce that it intends 
to revoke the authorization.  
 
If your company has only recently been licensed, has been inactive, or you have other 
questions regarding whether the LPOA has been filed on its behalf, please contact us. 
 

2. Filing Fees 
Items for which separate filing fees are required: 

 a. schedule of rates; 
 b. rate deviations; 
 c. dividend plans; 
 d. policy forms; 
 e. endorsements; and 
 f. retrospective rating plans. 
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(Minn. R. Part 2605.0200(F)) 
 
The fee for a paper filing is $90, and for an electronic filing is $75. (Minn. Stat. §60A.14 
and Bulletin 2005-2) 
 
Insurers submitting filings electronically may utilize the MWCIA Filing Fee Advancement 
Program. This program allows companies submitting their filings either on the RFA or 
SERFF to elect to have the MWCIA advance their filing fees to Commerce. The filing 
will be processed immediately and the insurer will be billed by the MWCIA on a 
quarterly basis. Specific information on how to designate this option for each type of 
electronic filing is contained in the RFA tool and the SERFF General Instructions. Paper 
filings are not eligible for this option. 
 
Many insurers choose to combine several items within one filing. However, when 
preparing a filing bear in mind that the more items that are combined in a filing, the 
greater the risk that problems may be found that delay approval or result in disapproval 
of the filing. Also, there are different statutory review timelines for rates and forms, so 
when both are contained in one filing the more stringent review timeline must be 
applied. Therefore, if some items are time sensitive, they should be filed separately from 
other less critical items. For example, while it makes sense to combine a schedule of 
rates filing with a rate deviation filing, adding forms to the filing may delay approval or 
result in disapproval of the filing. 

 
3. Electronic Filings 

Effective January 1, 2008, all insurance rate, rule, and form filings must be 
submitted to Commerce via SERFF. Any filings submitted on paper will be 
rejected and returned to the company without review. (Bulletin 2007-3) 
Instructions referencing paper or MWCIA RFA filings should be disregarded after 
December 31, 2007. 

 
When making a SERFF filing, please review Minnesota Workers’ Compensation 
Instance General Instructions, Requirements, and Submission Requirements before 
preparing your filing to make sure you are using the most current version. These items 
can all be found in the SERFF Workspace. Insurers may use the RFA tool to develop 
their rate pages and attach them to a SERFF filing. Instructions as to how to utilize this 
option can be found on the MWCIA web site. 

 
4 Transmittal Forms and Filing Fees 

Commerce requires that insurers use the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners (NAIC) Property and Casualty Transmittal Document when submitting 
paper workers’ compensation filings. This form can be found on the NAIC web site at 
www.naic.org/documents/industry_rates_PCtransDoc_intelligent.pdf  Also, use the 
Form Filing Schedule and/or Rate/Rule Filing Schedule, whichever is applicable. 
 
Do not attach the NAIC P&C Transmittal Document to SERFF filings as this 
information is now built into the Filing at a Glance. 
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When completing the transmittal document or Filing at a Glance, please make sure that 
the Type of Insurance (TOI) and Sub-Type of Insurance (Sub-TOI) sections are 
completed accurately. The following is a listing of the Sub-TOIs that apply to workers’ 
compensation, and how Commerce feels that the most common types of filings should 
be categorized. Obviously, there are certain types of filings that have been omitted from 
this listing, so if you have any questions, please contact us. 

 
• 16.0001 – Alternative Workers’ Compensation – This sub-type includes 

rate, rule and form filings for large deductible programs, large risk filings 
(i.e. those submitted under Minn. Stat. §79.56, subd. 1(b), and Self-
Insured Replacement Policies. 

• 16.0002 – Employers Liability – Stand alone employers liability policies 
that are intended to be marketed to insureds who self-insure for workers’ 
compensation should be submitted as workers’ compensation filings under 
this Sub-TOI. In order to provide this type of coverage a carrier must be 
licensed under Minn. Stat. §60A.06, subd. 1(13). 

• 16.0003 - Excess Workers’ Compensation - Only rates, rules and forms 
for excess workers’ compensation policies should be submitted under this 
Sub-TOI. 

• 16.0004 – Standard Workers’ Compensation – The following items should 
be filed under this Sub-TOI: adoption of annual MWCIA Ratemaking 
Report (rate schedules, Miscellaneous Values, Retrospective Rating 
pages), schedule rating plans, drug free workplace policy endorsements 
and credits, managed care policy endorsements and credits, collective 
bargaining policy endorsements and credits, safety group policy 
endorsements and credits, dividend plan endorsements and rating factors, 
small deductible plans, Information Pages, Participating Plan 
endorsements. 

 
 

5. Filing Timeline 
Minnesota Statute §79.56, Subd. 1 requires each insurer to file with Commerce a 
complete copy of its rates and rating plan, as well as all supporting documentation 
requested by the department, at least 60 days prior to its effective date. 
 
Due to the fact that Minnesota is a prior approval state for workers’ compensation 
rates and rating plans, if you need to revise the effective date of your filing after it 
has been approved you must notify Commerce prior to the effective date of the 
original filing. We recommend you contact us by fax, e-mail or telephone to 
ensure the fastest action on your file. Commerce staff can advise you how to 
revise your filing so that statutory violations can be avoided. 
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In addition, when preparing your filing you should also bear in mind that Minn. Stat. 
§60A.351 requires insurers renewing a workers’ compensation policy at less favorable 
terms to provide the insured with notice of the changes at least 30 days prior to the 
expiration of the policy. This notice requirement was revised effective August 1, 2007. 
Coverage under the federal Terrorism Risk Insurance Act (TRIA) is excluded from this 
notice requirement. For further information regarding this statute, please refer to 
Commerce Bulletins 2002-2 and 2005-3. 
 

6. Special Compensation Fund Assessment 
Minnesota Statute §176.129, Subd. 2a.(c) requires that the Special Compensation Fund 
assessment be collected as a policy surcharge and not as a part of the rate. Therefore, 
it should no longer be included in the Development of the Pure Premium Multiplier 
exhibit. Do not include your company SCF surcharge rate in your rate filings with 
Commerce. 

 
Additional information on the Special Compensation Fund assessment can be found in 
Appendix 8 of the 2008 Minnesota Ratemaking Report. Questions regarding these 
materials should be directed to Craig Anderson, MWCIA Vice President of Actuarial 
Services, at craig.anderson@mwcia.org or (952) 897-6431. 
 

7. Basic Schedule of Rates filings should contain the following items: 
a. The Workers’ Compensation Rate Filing Form (DOC-WC-1 (ed. 8/1/06)). 
 

Please note: Commerce recommends that insurers base their 2008 rate filings on 
the January 1, 2008 Minnesota Ratemaking Report  

 
b. A company filing a rate change should provide data and analysis to establish that the 
proposed rates are adequate and not excessive. (Minn. Stat. §79.55). 

 
c. Commerce recommends that five years of loss and expense experience be 
submitted. If the company has not been writing workers’ compensation coverage in 
Minnesota for five years, as much Minnesota experience as is available should be 
submitted. If five years of countrywide experience is available, that should also be 
submitted (Minn. R. Part 2705.2500, Subp. 1). 

 
d. An exhibit describing how the company’s pure premium base rate multiplier was 

developed. (Minn. R. Part 2705.1800(E)) Commerce does not require the format of 
the company’s exhibit to be identical to the sample format, but the company’s exhibit 
should not neglect any of the items included in the sample. For example, if the 
company chooses not to use trend or development factors, it should not simply leave 
out any mention of such factors; it should explain and support its choice. Please be 
aware that the Minnesota Adoption of Rate Service Organization Prospective 
Loss Costs Reference Filing Adoption Form, which is used for other 
property/casualty lines, is not suitable for use with workers’ compensation 
rate filings. 
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Also, the pure premium base rate multiplier calculation should not include a .25 
percent assessment for the Assigned Risk Plan Review Board, as this assessment 
only applies to Assigned Risk Plan policies. 

 
e. If the company is deviating any classification codes the Class Code Deviation Filing 

Form (DOC-WC-2 (7/98)) and the Average Effective Multiplier Calculation (DOC-
WC-7 Rev. 7/02)) must be submitted. A copy of each of these forms is attached. 
There is no limit on the number of classification codes that may be deviated. Each 
deviation must be supported, and this supporting documentation must be submitted 
as a part of your filing (Minn. R. Part 2705.1800(E)). 

 
f. Final manual rate pages must be submitted (Minn. Stat. §79.56, Subd. 1). When 

calculating your rates for classification codes for which Minnesota Contractors 
Premium Adjustment Program (MCPAP) pure premium base rates appear, those are 
the base rates that must be used. Use of the DSR pure premium base rates will 
result in artificially low rates. 

 
g. Do not submit the State of Minnesota Filing Certification form with workers’ 

compensation filings. Bulletin 2000-4, which contains this form, specifically 
states that it does not apply to workers’ compensation insurance. 

 
h. Do not submit a Rate Change Impact Table with the filing. This requirement 

was abolished in 1999. Refer to department bulletin 99-3. 
 
i. For paper filings only, Commerce requests that the company submit an extra copy 

of any materials it wants returned for acknowledgment of approval. A stamped self-
addressed envelope bearing sufficient postage for the materials the company wants 
returned must also be submitted. If no envelope is enclosed, or the amount of 
postage is inadequate, a stamped copy of the most recent cover letter is the only 
documentation that will be returned. (Reminder: This option only applies to filings 
made before January 1, 2008, at which time only filings made via SERFF will be 
accepted by Commerce.) 

 
j. Do not send copies of rate filings to the MWCIA until approval has been 

received from Commerce. This ensures that the MWCIA has a correct copy of 
your most recent rates on file. Copies of filings submitted via RFA or SERFF 
do not need to be submitted to the MWCIA, as they will have access to these 
filings electronically. 

 
8. Schedule Rating Plans 

Minnesota Rules Part 2705.3000 precludes any schedule-rating plan from utilizing a 
maximum debit in excess of 25 percent.  
 

9. Additional Credits 
Historically, Commerce has approved the types of additional credits discussed below. 
To expedite the review process, the referenced maximum credits can be approved 
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without actuarial support. Filings requesting higher maximum credits will be considered 
on the basis of the loss experience and other actuarial support provided. 
 
a. Drug-Free Workplace  
Insurers who file drug-free workplace programs that meet the requirements of Minn. 
Stat. §181.950 – 181.957 may offer a 5 percent credit. An insurer may file a larger credit 
if it can provide adequate actuarial support. 
 
Commerce recommends, but does not require, that insurers attach an amendatory 
endorsement to the policy that contains a statement similar to the following: 
 

“Employers insured under this coverage should be aware of the Drug and 
Alcohol Testing In The Workplace provisions contained in Minn. Stat. §181.950 – 
181.957. An insured employer that violates this law may have exposure for 
damages, attorney fees, and injunctive relief that will not be covered by this 
policy.” 
 

b. Managed Care  
Commerce will approve a 5 percent credit for insurers who have contracted with a 
managed care organization that is certified under Minn. Stat. §176.1351. An insurer 
may file a larger credit if it can provide adequate actuarial support. If the insurer is 
offering a managed care program, but has not contracted with a certified managed care 
organization, a credit may be offered if the company can provide actuarial support for 
the amount of the credit being requested. The maximum that has been approved to date 
has been 3 percent. 
 
Commerce recommends, but does not require, that insurers attach an amendatory 
endorsement clarifying the type of managed care coverage that is being offered. Two 
sample endorsements are included in the bulletin, one for use when a certified 
managed care organization has been contracted with and the other for use when an 
uncertified managed care organization is being utilized. Insurers who choose to utilize 
either of these endorsements must independently file them with Commerce. 
 
c. Collective Bargaining Dispute Resolution 
Commerce will allow a credit of 3 percent to be offered to an employer that is a party to 
a collective bargaining agreement that has been approved by the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) in accordance with Minn. Stat. §176.1812. An 
insurer may file a larger credit if it can provide adequate actuarial support. 
 
Insurers who choose to offer such a credit must file a Minnesota Dispute Resolution 
Endorsement similar to the one included in this bulletin. DLI recommends the attached 
endorsement. 
 
d. Safety Programs  
Minnesota Statute §79.085 requires that all insurers writing workers’ compensation 
insurance in Minnesota shall provide safety and occupational health loss control 
consultation services to each of their policyholders requesting the services in writing. 
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Insurers may offer a credit of up to 3 percent to policyholders who request these 
services. An insurer may file a larger credit if it can provide adequate actuarial support. 
 
e. Return-To-Work Programs 
Commerce has approved credits of up to 2 percent for insurers that want to provide an 
incentive for insureds to comply with the statutory return-to-work requirements. An 
insurer may file a larger credit if it can provide adequate actuarial support. 

 
10. Deductibles 

a. Minnesota Statute §79.081, Subd. 1 requires each insurer writing workers’ 
compensation in Minnesota to make a deductible available to a policyholder upon 
request. An insurer is not required to offer a deductible to an employer if, as a result 
of a credit investigation, the insurer determines that the employer is not sufficiently 
financially stable to be responsible for the payment of deductible amounts. This 
exception is found in Minn. Stat. §79.081, Subd. 3. 

 
b. Minnesota Statute §79.081, Subd. 2 requires that if an insured employer chooses a 

deductible, the insurer shall administer the claim as provided in the terms and 
conditions of the insurance policy and seek reimbursement from the insured 
employer for the deductible. 

 
c. Newly licensed Minnesota workers’ compensation insurers should be aware of 

the following requirement contained in Minn. Stat. §79.081, Subd. 2. Each 
insurer shall notify its agents authorized to write workers’ compensation insurance 
about the availability and terms and conditions of deductibles required by this 
section, using a brochure in a format approved by the commissioner. 

 
11. Large Deductible Plans 

a. Any company offering a large deductible plan must include a statement in its rating 
manual certifying that no deductible limit will be offered or written that exceeds the 
company’s retention limit with the Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Association 
(WCRA). Minnesota Statute §79.34 states as follows: 

 
“The reinsurance association shall provide and each member shall accept 
indemnification for 100 percent of the amount of ultimate loss sustained in each 
loss occurrence relating to one or more claims arising out of a single 
compensable event, including aggregate losses related to a single event or 
occurrence which constitutes a single loss occurrence, under chapter 176 on and 
after October 1, 1979, in excess of a low, a high, or a super retention limit, at the 
option of the member.” 

 
b. Coverage applies on a per occurrence basis, except in the case of occupational 

disease where coverage applies on a per person per occurrence basis. This 
requirement is contained in Minn. Stat. §79.34, Subd. 2. If your company is using a 
per person limit for bodily injury other than that caused by occupational disease, 
claims will need to be carefully tracked to ensure that all persons injured as part of 
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the same occurrence are linked so that your company’s retention limit with the 
WCRA is not invaded. 

 
c. Minnesota Statute §79.081, Subd. 2 requires that if an insured employer chooses a 

deductible, the insurer shall administer the claim as provided in the terms and 
conditions of the insurance policy and seek reimbursement from the insured 
employer for the deductible. If you currently are using a large deductible form that 
contains language indicating that the employer will or may pay claims directly and 
seek reimbursement from the insurer, you must revise your form to comply with the 
statutory language at the earliest opportunity. 

 
d. Please note that if you are using mutually agreed upon terms to rate your large 

deductible program, the insured must meet the statutory threshold of $250,000 in 
countrywide workers’ compensation premium set out in Minn. Stat. §79.56, Subd. 
1(b) and the Large Risk Rating Filing certification form (DOC-WC-10, Rev. 7/05) 
must be filed with Commerce on a per employer basis upon each renewal of the 
employer’s policy. The filing fee for this type of large risk filing is $75 per employer if 
the certification is submitted electronically or $90 per employer if the certification is 
submitted on paper.  

 
12. Dividend Plans 

If more than one dividend plan is being filed, the various plans must be accompanied by 
objective and logical assignment criteria. It must be demonstrated that the process does 
not permit the possibility of different final premiums for identical policyholders (Minn. 
Stat. §79.074, Subd. 2). 

 
13. Form Filings 

Insurers must use the forms filed on their behalf by the MWCIA, unless it is a rating 
related endorsement for which the MWCIA has not made a suitable filing. The 
applicable administrative rule is Minn. R. Part 2705.3200. This rule states as follows: 
 

“Workers’ compensation insurance must be written using policy forms filed by the 
data service organization of which the insurer is a member except that if the 
insurer files a rating plan requiring a policy provision or endorsement for which 
the data service organization has made no usable filing, then the insurer may file 
its own policy forms needed to implement its rating plans.” 

 
Some examples of the types of independent forms that may be filed are dividend plan 
endorsements, large deductible program endorsements, managed care endorsements, 
drug-free workplace endorsements, and collective bargaining dispute resolution 
endorsements. 

 
14. Minnesota Statute §79.56, Subd. 1(b) 

This statute provides an exception to the normal filing requirements for an employer 
who generates $250,000 in annual countrywide written workers’ compensation premium 
under the rates and rating plan of an insurer before the application of any large 
deductible rating plans. Such an employer may be written by an insurer using rates or 
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rating plans that are not subject to disapproval, but which have been filed with 
Commerce. The Large Risk Rating certification form (DOC-WC-10, Rev. 7/05) must be 
filed for each employer being rated under this statutory provision upon each renewal of 
the employer’s policy. This filing form applies to all types of rating plans that fall under 
this statute, including but not limited to large deductible programs, large risk alternative 
rating options (LRARO), and deviated loss cost multipliers and other rating factors. The 
filing fee for all filings made under this provision is $75 per employer for certifications 
submitted electronically or $90 per employer for certifications submitted on paper. 
 
Refer back to section 3 of this bulletin for information regarding how to submit these 
filings via the Rate Filing Application (RFA) available on the MWCIA web site. 
 

15. Excess Workers’ Compensation Insurance 
Any company offering an excess workers’ compensation insurance policy must include 
a statement in its rating manual certifying that no excess retention will be offered or 
written that exceeds the low retention limit set by the Workers’ Compensation 
Reinsurance Association (WCRA). This requirement is found in Minn. Stat. §79.34, 
Subd. 2. 
 

 
Questions regarding this bulletin should be referred to Tammy L. Lohmann, Chief Workers’ 
Compensation/Management Review Coordinator at (651) 296-2327 or at 
Tammy.Lohmann@state.mn.us  
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Minnesota 
 
 

          DOC-WC-1                                                   Rev. 8/1/06 

Workers’ Compensation Rate Filing Form 
 
 

_______________________    ____________________________________ 
 NAIC Company Number                  Company Name 
 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  _____________________ 
 
Overall Effect of Rate Change: _____________________ 
 
 
This filing is based on the 200___ Minnesota Ratemaking Report 
 
 
If the company uses the pure premium base rates with NO deviations by class, complete the 
following: 
 the multiplier is :      ______________________ 

 the expense constant is:   ______________________ 

 the largest rate increase for any class is: ______________________ 

 the smallest rate change for any class is: ______________________ 
 
 
If the company has different multipliers for different classes, complete the following: 

the lowest multiplier is :     ______________________ 

the highest multiplier is :     ______________________ 

the average effective multiplier is:  ______________________ 

 the expense constant is:   ______________________ 

 the largest rate increase for any class is: ______________________ 

 the smallest rate change for any class is: ______________________ 
 

The company must attach  
• The Class Deviation Filing Form 
• The Average Effective Multiplier Calculation 

 
 
If the company is using some other methodology, a complete explanation of the rates and 
methodology must be attached. 



                                 DOC-WC-2            Rev. 7/98        

                                                                                                                                                            

                Minnesota                        

 
CLASS DEVIATION FILING FORM 

 
Insurer Name  _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Effective Date _________________________________ 
 
 
 
       Proposed     Prior Year 
Code  Classification  Current  Pure Premium       New           Percent  Written 
No.          Title     Rate  Multiplier       Rate           Rate Change Premium 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
______        ___________________ ________ _____________    _______        ___________ __________ 
 
 
 
Class Deviations shall apply to all insureds classified in codes for which a deviated rate has been filed. 
 
_____________________________________   _________________ 
   Signature                  Date 
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MINNESOTA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
CERTIFIED MANAGED CARE PLAN 

ENDORSEMENT 
 
 
 
 
The insurer has contracted with _____________________________________, a workers’ 
compensation managed care plan certified by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
under Minn. Stat. section 176.1351. Under this contract medical treatment for your employees’ 
work-related injuries will be delivered and managed according to the managed care plan as 
certified and applicable state law. 
 
The certified managed care plan must provide medical case management by licensed health care 
professionals, to ensure appropriate medical care and promote a prompt return to work. The 
managed care plan must also provide a process for resolving medical disputes. This dispute 
resolution process must be exhausted before the medical dispute may be filed with the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry. 
 
Your employees are covered by certified managed care for work injuries that occur after they 
have been given specific information about their rights and responsibilities under the managed 
care plan. A covered employee may be required to receive treatment for a work injury from a 
health care provider who is part of the plan’s provider network. There are exceptions to this 
requirement, such as in an emergency and in some cases where the employee has a history of 
treatment with another health care provider. The managed care plan will help you notify your 
employees of coverage and will explain these and other exceptions to managed care coverage. 
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MINNESOTA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
UNCERTIFIED MANAGED CARE ENDORSEMENT 

 
 
 
 
 
The insurer has contracted with ________________________, a health care provider network, to 
provide health care services for employees with work-related injuries. [If applicable: these health 
care providers may be paid for their services at discounted or negotiated payment rates.] 
 
This program is not a workers’ compensation managed care plan certified by the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry under Minn. Stat. section 176.1351. Therefore, the employer 
or insurer may not require an employee to receive treatment for a work injury from any health 
care provider within this network. 
 



                                                           DOC-WC-6 Rev. 7/02 

 
SAMPLE DEVELOPMENT OF PURE PREMIUM MULTIPLIER 

 
 
 
A.  LOSS RELATED ITEMS 
 
 1.  Loss cost modification factor  
   2.  8th-to-ultimate development factor  
   3.  Trend factor  
   4.  Loss adjustment expense  (LAE)  
 5.  Loss factor  (A1xA2xA3xA4)   
 
 
B.  PREMIUM-RELATED EXPENSES AND PROFIT 
 
   6.  Commission and brokerage  
   7.  Other acquisition  
   8.  General expenses  
           9.  Taxes, licenses & fees  
      a. Premium taxes  
      b. Other  
          10.  Total premium-related expenses  
      (sum of B6 through B9) 
          11.  Profit & contingencies  
          12.  Credit for investment income  
          13.  Total premium-related expense & profit  
      (B10+B11+B12) 
          14.  Expected loss and LAE ratio  (1.0 - B13)   
 
 
C.  FORMULA LOSS COST MULTIPLIER  (A5 / B14)  
 
 
D.  SELECTED LOSS COST MULTIPLIER   
 
 



MINNESOTA WORKER'S COMPENSATION

AVERAGE EFFECTIVE MULTIPLIER CALCULATION

This form must be completed by any company that deviates its multiplier for one or more classes.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6)

current proposed prior year relative relative
pure pure written exposure proposed

code premium premium premium premium
number multiplier multiplier [(4)/(2)] [(3)x(5)]

Average effective pure premium multiplier [ (6) total / (5) total ]

  SAMPLE

DOC-WC-7 Rev. 7/02



                                       DOC-WC-8   Ed. 8/05 

 
  LIMITED POWER OF ATTORNEY FOR  
PURPOSE OF REGULATORY FILINGS 

 
TO: Minnesota Department of Commerce, Property/Casualty & Self-Insurance Division 
 
RE: Workers’ Compensation Rating Plan Filings 
 
Effective Date:  ____________________________ 
 
This limited power of attorney is filed on behalf of the following insurers licensed to write workers’ 
compensation in Minnesota. 
 

________________________________     _________________________________ 
 

________________________________     _________________________________ 
 

________________________________     _________________________________ 
 

________________________________     _________________________________ 
 
The above insurers hereby designate and appoint the Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Insurers Association, 
Inc. (MWCIA) as their attorney-in-fact for the following limited purposes only. 
 

(a) To file with the Minnesota Department of Commerce in the name and on behalf of each of the 
above named insurers all rating plan filings and modifications filed by MWCIA with the Department of 
Commerce and approved by the Department for use in Minnesota. 

 
(b) This limited power of attorney does not apply to any filings made by one or more of the above 

insurers which further modify or elect not to use any of the filings made by the MWCIA and does not apply to 
rate schedules filed by the insurers.  Such individual insurer filings are filed as an exception to the MWCIA filed 
plans and those filings, together with individual insurer rates upon approval by the Department of Commerce or 
as provided by statute, will supersede any applicable MWCIA filings. 
 

(c) This limited power of attorney is filed to effect partial compliance with Minn. Stat. § 79.56, subd. 
1 (“each insurer shall file with the commissioner a complete copy of its rates and rating plan, and all changes and 
amendments thereto”) and for no other purpose.  The authority granted by this document is specifically and 
explicitly limited to that purpose and may be withdrawn at any time by the above named insurers upon written 
notice to the Department of Commerce and the MWCIA. 
 

(d) The above named insurers specifically acknowledge that each filing must be in conformance with 
the filing procedures of the Minnesota Department of Commerce and must be accompanied by a filing fee where 
appropriate.  Each insurer acknowledges that it has the individual liability to assure that each and every filing 
complies with its obligations under applicable Minnesota law.  This document does not shift these obligations to 
the MWCIA.  Neither the above named insurers nor the Department should look to the MWCIA as a guarantor 
that these obligations are met.  Under this limited power of attorney, the MWCIA serves solely as the empowered 
filing agent for the above named insurers. 



 
 
 _____________________________________ 
                  Signature 
 
 _____________________________________ 
      Print Name 
 
 _____________________________________ 
          Title 
 
 
STATE OF ________________________ 
 
COUNTY OF ________________________ 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this 
 
_________ day of __________, 20__. 
 
 
_______________________________ 
                  Notary Public 
 
 
 
Encl.: NAIC Property and Casualty Transmittal Document 
 Filing fee to Minnesota Department of Commerce, $90 for paper filings or $75 for electronic filings 
 
cc: Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Insurers Association, Inc. 
 7701 France Avenue South, Suite 450 
 Edina, Minnesota 55435 



DOC-WC-9 Ed. 7/00 
 

 
MINNESOTA DISPUTE RESOLUTION ENDORSEMENT 

 
 
 
This endorsement modifies insurance under the following: 
 
Workers Compensation and Employers Liability Insurance Policy 
 
 
 
Name Insured: ___________________________ Policy Number: _______________________ 
 
Endorsement Effective Date: ______________ Endorsement Number: ________________ 
 
 
 
This endorsement is issued by the company named on the Information Page.  It forms a part of the policy 
as of its effective date, at the hour stated on the Information Page. 
 
We agree that all Workers’ Compensation claims with employees who are subject to collective bargaining 
agreements with the Insured will be resolved in accordance with the rules and regulations of said 
agreements as authorized under Minn. Stat., Section 176.1812 provided that such agreement(s) have been 
approved by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry.  The Named Insured will provide us with copies of 
all such agreements and the Commissioner’s approval of each agreement. 
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LARGE RISK RATING FILING 

[Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 79.56, subdivision 1 (b)] 
 
 
 
Name and address of insurer: 

 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
Name and address of insured employer: 
 
 

______________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
 
Policy Period:  _____________________________________ 
 
I certify that the employer named above generates $250,000 or more in annual countrywide 
written workers’ compensation premium, and that the calculation of this threshold is based on 
the rates and rating plans that have been approved by the appropriate state regulatory authority. 
The filing of this certification authorizes the use of this rate and/or rating plan only for the named 
employer. 
 
 
Name of responsible officer: ______________________________________________ 
 
Title:     ______________________________________________ 
 
Signature:    ______________________________________________ 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 


