LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS - Minnesota Statute 153.16
A summary of licensure requirements follows:
The applicant for a license shall file a written notarized application on forms provided by the board, showing to the board's satisfaction the applicant is of good moral character and satisfies the requirementsof §153.16.
Graduation from one of the accredited colleges of podiatric medicine. Official transcript of your DPM degree, including date of graduation, signature of a college official, and original seal is required. Photocopies are not acceptable. Transcripts must be received at the Board office directly from the educational institution.
Passing scores on Part I and Part II examinations and received directly from the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners.
Recommendation from a licensed DPM with personal knowledge of your skills and abilities to practice podiatric medicine.
Verification of licensure in all states or countries in which a license was held. Verification of licensure must be received at the Board office directly from each state.
If licensed in another state: provide evidence of pro-rata compliance with continuing medical education requirements in that state and evidence of professional liability insurance coverage and claims history.
Applicants graduating after granted 1986 shall present evidence of satisfactory completion of a clinical residency program approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME). Verification must be received at the Board office directly from the clinical residency program.
Applicants entering a residency after June 30, 1995 shall present written verification from the program supervisor of successful completion of the program and submit surgical and other training logs to the Board office.
If your name has changed, include official documentation of your new name and your former name.
The applicant shall appear in person before the board or its designated representative to show that the applicant satisfies the requirements of this section, including knowledge of laws, rules, and ethics pertaining to the practice of podiatric medicine.
Minnesota Statutes 214.073 requires licensees to provide their primary business address at the time of initial application and all subsequent renewals.
FEE SCHEDULE - Rules Chapter 6900.0250
Application for licensure: $600
License Renewal: $600
Late renewal fee: $100
Temporary permit: $250
Duplicate license or duplicate renewal certificate: $10
Reinstatement of license: $650
Fee for verification of licensure: $30
(1) Labels: $25;
(2) List of licensees: $25
Requirements: Fees must be paid in United States currency and are not refundable
CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION (CME) - MN Rules 6900.0300
To renew a license, 30 hours of continuing medical education, approved by the Council of Podiatric Education (CPME) or Minnesota Board of Podiatric Medicine, are required. CMEs shall be completed in the two years prior to the June 30th date of license expiration.
Course certificates must clearly state they were approved by the Council of Podiatric Medicine (CPME) or Minnesota Board of Podiatric Medicine. The certificate of attendance is required to state the name and address of the sponsor, course title and dates of the program, number of continuing education clock hours granted, name of the attendee, and signature of the sponsor or designee.
LICENSE RENEWAL Minnesota Statute 148.624 and Rules 6900.0200
The license renewal term is 24 months beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30. In the first renewal period following initial licensure, the fee and CME requirements are pro-rated by the number of days the license is held in that period .
A licensee must submit a renewal application on a Board provided form by May 31 of the year it expires, allowing staff enough time for processing before the actual June 30 expiration date. The application form must be signed by the licensee and include evidence of participation in CPME or Board approved continuing education programs, as described in part 6900.0300, and any other information as the board may reasonably require.
A renewal application postmarked after June 30 in the renewal year shall be returned to the licensee for addition of the late fee and is not complete until it has been received by the board.
Any time after July 1 of the applicable year, the board will send to the last address on file with the board, a notice to a licensee who has not submitted a renewal application. The notice will state the licensee has failed to make application for renewal; the amount of renewal and late fees and information about continuing education that must be submitted in order for the license to be renewed; that the licensee may voluntarily terminate the license by notifying the board; and that failure to respond to the notice by the date specified will result in expiration of the license and terminating the right to practice.
If the application for renewal as provided in subpart 1 or notice of voluntary termination is not received by the board by the date specified in the notice, the license will expire and the licensee's right to practice terminates on the date specified in the notice. The expiration and termination will not be considered a disciplinary action against the licensee.
A license that has expired under this part may be reinstated under part 6900.0210.
NAME AND ADDRESS CHANGE
A DPM who has changed names must notify the board in writing as soon as possible and request a revised renewal certificate. The board requires substantiation of the name change by requiring official documentation.
A DPM must maintain with the board a correct mailing address to receive board communications and notices and must notify the board as soon as possible of an address change. Placing a notice in first class United States mail, postage prepaid and addressed to the licensee at the licensee's last known address, constitutes valid service.