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This summary is for general information purposes only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH)
cannot give legal advice about whether patients
or their representatives may be charged fees for
copies of the patient’s health record. Whether
fees may be charged for patient health records,
and the amount of any fees, may vary based on
the individual situation. The following summary
is for general information only.

State and federal laws and regulations canimpact
whether or not (and how much) a health care
provider can charge for copies of patient records.
Talk with the provider who has the patient
records and explain your situation and what
records are sought. Depending on the
circumstances, the provider may require you to
pay a fee. Ask the provider for an estimate and an
explanation of the charges.

State Law and Rule

When providers are allowed to charge for copies,
the following state law or rule limits the amount
that can be charged.

e Annual determination of maximum
charges for patient records.

MDH uses the formula described in Minnesota
Statutes, section 144.292, subdivision 6, to
annually determine the maximum allowable fees
for copies of patient records.

When section 144.292 applies, the maximum
charges for 2016 are $1.33 per page forcopy
charges and $17.68 for retrieval fees. Pursuant to
statute, these limits do not apply to x-rays.
Providers may charge a patient no more than the
actual cost of reproducing x-rays, plus no more
than $10 for the time spent retrieving and
copying the x-rays. Read MS §144.292 online at
http://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=144.292.

e Workers’ compensation cases.

Payment for copies of medical records that are
part of a workers’ compensation case may be
subject to Minnesota Rules, part 5219.0300. See
the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry’s
website
(http://www.dli.mn.gov/WC/PDF/wc_batg 3.pdf)
for more information. Read Minnesota Rules, part
5219.0300 online
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=5219.0300).

Federal HIPAA Privacy Rule

The federal HIPAA Privacy Rule covers patient
access to records and includes prohibitions on
retrieval fees and other restrictions. This rule is
administered by the U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services (HHS) Office of Civil Rights
(OCR). More information about HIPAA patient
privacy is available at the HHS Health Privacy
Information webpage

(http://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/index. html).

You may contact the Region V Chicago OCR
regional office (for lllinois, Indiana, lowa, Kansas,
Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio,
Wisconsin) at:

OCR Customer Response Center: (800) 368-1019
Fax: (202) 619-3818

TDD: (800) 537-7697

Email: ocrmail@hhs.gov

Minnesota Department of Health,

PO Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882
651-201-5178
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