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The mission of the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine is to promote, preserve, and protect the 
health, safety and welfare of the public and animals through the effective control and regulation of 

the practice of veterinary medicine. 

Money and the Board 
As a government agency, the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine is funded by its 
income. The legislature grants the Board the authority to spend it for Board functions. 
License fees comprise 90% of the Board’s annual income of approximately $360,000. The 
license fees have not been raised since 1997, although a surcharge of $20 was added to the 
biennial renewal cost on 2010 by the state government to support its centralized information 
technology branch. This fee will be discontinued as of July 1, 2015. Other very minor 
categories of revenue include professional firm registrations and annual reports, license 
verifications to other states, continuing education sponsor applications, and disciplinary 
penalties. 

What is the Board’s revenue spent on? In fiscal year 2014, the largest expenditure 
was salaries of the two Board staff members (52% of expenditures).  Legal services provided 
by the Office of the Attorney General comprised 22% of expenditures, followed by this 
Board’s portion of the Health Licensing Boards’ Administrative Services Unit (5%), and 
office rent (4%).  Support of the Health Professional Services Program (HPSP) was 2.6%. 
The Board members, who volunteer their time, receive a daily per diem from meetings and 
case review hours. In fiscal year 2014, that cost was only 1.7% of the total costs for the 
Board. 

Re
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Minnesota Board of Pharmacy’s 
Guidance on Compounding of 
Veterinary Products 
On March 4, 2015, the Pharmacy Board issued the 
following guidance to veterinarians and pharmacies, 
pursuant to MN Stats. §214.108. It will remain in effect 
only until the Board can promulgate appropriate rules 
related to this issue. Compounding pursuant to a patient-
specific prescription is not the subject of this guidance. 
The full document is available at:  
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-
boards/images/Urgent%2520and%2520Emergency%2520
Veterinary%2520Compounding%2520Guidance%2520D
ocument.pdf 

1. Pharmacies licensed by the Board can already
compound and dispense drugs, pursuant to a prescription 
received in advance of the dispensing, provided that such 
compounding and dispensing is done according to MN 
Stats. §151.253 and the applicable rules of the Board. 
Note that only pharmacies that have selected the non-
sterile and/or sterile compounding licensing categories are 
allowed to compound drugs. A pharmacy’s license type 
can be checked at: 
https://www.hlb.state.mn.us/mnbop/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/
MNBOPharm/Public/LicenseeSearch.aspx 

2. The Board will exercise enforcement discretion and not
take action against a pharmacy that, in good faith, 
provides a compounded drug to a veterinarian, at 
wholesale and without first receiving a patient-specific 
prescription, only when:  

a) The compounded drug is needed to treat animals in
urgent or emergency situations; that is, where the 
health of an animal is threatened, or where suffering 
or death of an animal is likely to result, from failure 
to treat.  

b) Timely access to a compounding pharmacy is not
available, as determined by the prescribing 
veterinarian.  

c) There is no FDA-approved, commercially
manufactured drug that is suitable for treating the 
animal; or there is a documented shortage of such 
drug.  

d)The compounded drug is to be administered by a
veterinarian or a bona fide employee of the
veterinarian; or dispensed to a client of a
veterinarian in an amount not to exceed what is
necessary to treat an animal for a period of five days.

e) The pharmacy is licensed by the Board as a drug
wholesaler. (Except that a pharmacy could distribute
compounded drugs as described in this guidance
until May 1, 2015 without being licensed as a drug
wholesaler).

f) The pharmacy has selected the sterile or non-sterile
compounding licensing category.

g) The pharmacy is appropriately registered by the
United States Drug Enforcement Administration
when providing compounded products that contain
controlled substances.

 Release of Medical Records
     Must you release medical records to client if asked? 
The answer is yes, even if the client owes the practice 
money. MN Rule 9100.0800 Subpart 4 (Record keeping) 
states: Medical records, or an accurate summary of them, 
must be released to the animal owner or the owner’s 
authorized agent, including the board, within two weeks of 
a written request. A reasonable charge for copying or 
preparation of a summary may be made, except in the case 
of a board investigation, in which case no charges are 
authorized. Furthermore, a radiograph is considered part of 
the medical record, and must be permanently identified. It 
must be released on the written request of another 
veterinarian who has the written authorization of the owner 
of the animal to whom it pertains. Film radiographs must 
be returned within a reasonable time to the practice 
originally prepared the radiograph(s). If a veterinarian is 
using digital radiography, a compact disc with the files 
would fall under the same category. Beware that 
downloads of files, such as DICOM images in some 
systems removes all identifiers. Veterinarians should work 
with their vendor to be able to export files with identifiers 
intact or added back into the image. Lastly, the contents of 
medical records must be kept private and not released to 
third parties unless authorized by the client or required by 
law. For example, law enforcement can request medical 
records via a search warrant. The Department of Health 
can request rabies vaccination information in the case of an 
animal bite, as vaccination status of the animal determines 
the course of action for both the animal and human.  

http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/images/Urgent%2520and%2520Emergency%2520Veterinary%2520Compounding%2520Guidance%2520Document.pdf
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/images/Urgent%2520and%2520Emergency%2520Veterinary%2520Compounding%2520Guidance%2520Document.pdf
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/images/Urgent%2520and%2520Emergency%2520Veterinary%2520Compounding%2520Guidance%2520Document.pdf
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/images/Urgent%2520and%2520Emergency%2520Veterinary%2520Compounding%2520Guidance%2520Document.pdf
https://www.hlb.state.mn.us/mnbop/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/MNBOPharm/Public/LicenseeSearch.aspx
https://www.hlb.state.mn.us/mnbop/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/MNBOPharm/Public/LicenseeSearch.aspx


Page 3 

Limits of Gifts to Practitioners 
by Manufacturers and their 
Representatives 
Veterinarians are considered dispensers and practitioners 
under the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of 
Pharmacy. One of them, Minn. Stat. 151.461, restricts the 
value of gifts to individual practitioners by drug 
manufacturers to $50.00 per year. It has been on the 
books since 1993.   
Dr. Cody Wiberg, Executive Director of the Board of 
Pharmacy, has provided a number of points to clarify 
what veterinarians and veterinary drug manufacturers 
need to know: 
• Product samples that are meant for free distribution

to clients/patients are not considered gifts and are
therefore not subject to the $50 annual gift limit.

• Educational materials developed by a manufacturer to
specifically educate practitioners about its
products are also not considered to be gifts.
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• However, paying for subscriptions to journals or
online drug or practice resources, providing free
copies of textbooks, providing items to be handed
out to clients/patients that don’t specifically relate
to the manufacturer’s products, etc.  would not be
exempt from the gift limitation

• Any meals or food provided by a manufacturer
directly to a practitioner would be considered a
gift, subject to the $50 annual gift limit.  This
applies to food that a sales rep might provide
during an office visit and to meals that are part of
a CE program that is directly arranged and paid for
by a manufacturer’s representative.  When a
practitioner owns the practice, even food given to
employees of the practitioner is effectively a gift
to the practitioner.

• A manufacturer is allowed to give
an unrestricted educational grant to a third party,
such as a professional association.  The grant
cannot be paid to a practitioner or to a business
owned by practitioners – the entity that receives
the grant must not be controlled by a practitioner.
The grant must be unrestricted and the entity that
receives the grant should be in control of selecting
the venue, the topics and the speakers.  If those
conditions are met, meals served during the CE
program would not be considered gifts.  Unless
they are of very nominal value, manufacturers
should not directly or indirectly provide other
items.  For example, manufacturers who set up
exhibition tables can give out candy or small
“trinkets” to practitioners who stop by.  But if they
give items such as textbooks, expensive pens,
mugs, etcetera, those would all be considered gifts
subject to the $50 annual gift limit.

• The $50 gift limit is per manufacturer, not per
drug company representative.

     The Board of Pharmacy has developed a guidance 
document on this subject which is available at:   
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-
boards/pharmacy/resourcesfaqs/paymentstopractitione
rs.jsp 

Manufacturers are encouraged to directly contact the 
Board of Pharmacy about any questions they have.   
 

Criminal Background Checks 
Criminal background checks will be required for all 
veterinary license applicants soon. This will entail 
fingerprinting at a government -approved site followed 
by screening through FBI and Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension (BCA) databases. The CBC fee is $34.75, 
plus $10 for fingerprinting if done at the BCA. 
Veterinarians that are already licensed will need to have 
the same criminal background check in the following 
months, most likely on a staggered timeline. The 
information resulting from the CBC is considered 
private, but the Board can investigate concerns that 
arise, and consider discipline if warranted.  Details of 
this legislative mandate can be found at: 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=214.075 

http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/pharmacy/resourcesfaqs/paymentstopractitioners.jsp
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/pharmacy/resourcesfaqs/paymentstopractitioners.jsp
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/pharmacy/resourcesfaqs/paymentstopractitioners.jsp
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=214.075


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Board Member 
Contact Information    
 
Barbara S. Fischley, DVM 
8273 307th Ave. NE 
North Branch, MN 55056 
barbara.fischley@state.mn.us 
 
John Lawrence, DVM 
Smith Veterinary Hospital 
1110 East Hwy. 13 
Burnsville, MN 55337 
john.lawrence@state.mn.us 
 
Mary Olson, DVM 
East Central Veterinarians 
2004 Mahogany St. 
Mora, MN 55051 
mary.j.olson@state.mn.us 
 
David Richter 
36672 – 145th Ave. 
Montgomery, MN 56069 
david.richter@state.mn.us 
 
Ronald Swiggum, DVM 
St. Charles Veterinary Clinic 
106 W. Circle Dr. 
St. Charles, MN  55972 
ron.swiggum@state.mn.us 
 
Ms. Sharon Todoroff 
6343 Pine Street 
Columbus, MN 55014 
sharon.todoroff@state.mn.us 
 
Michelle Vaughn, DVM 
Shady Oak Veterinary Clinic 
10015 Minnetonka Blvd. 
Minnetonka, MN 55343 
michelle.vaughn@state.mn.us 
 

 
 

 

Contact Information for Related Boards        
Minnesota Board of Animal Health:  
625 Robert Street North, St. Paul, MN 55155 
http://mn.gov/bah/ 
Phone: (651) 296-2942   Fax: (651) 296-7417 
 
Drug Enforcement Agency:  
100 Washington Avenue South, Suite 800 Minneapolis, MN 55401 
www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/index.html  
DEA Regional Field Office at (612) 344-4136 
National office toll free 1-800-882-9539 
 
Minnesota Board of Pharmacy:  
2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 530  
Minneapolis, MN 55414 
http://www.pharmacy.state.mn.us/ 
Phone: (651) 201-2825   Fax: (651) 210-2837 
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Tips: Who to Call?          
Board of Veterinary Medicine: license, CE, veterinary and lay person 
complaints, Veterinary Practice Act, professional firms 

Board of Animal Health: reportable diseases, rabies certificates, MN 
health certificates, animal identification 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners: human chiropractors working on 
animals 

Board of Pharmacy: compounding, drug label requirements, 
complaints regarding a pharmacy or pharmacist, license check 

DEA: controlled substances 

MVMA: veterinary technician credentials and CE 

USDA/APHIS: federal accreditation, heath certificates requirements 

DNR: wildlife questions 
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