
 
Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners 

University Park Plaza Building 
2829 University Avenue South East, Suite 425 

Minneapolis, MN  55414 
Office telephone: 651-201-2820 Office Fax: 612-617-2248 

Office e-mail: bbe.board@state.mn.us Board Website: www.barbers.state.mn.us 
 

Barber Student Permit Renewal 

Student permits can be renewed within 30 days of expiration 

If expired more than 30 days apply for a new permit 
Application Requirements: The following items must be included with the application for processing. 

 
   Completed Application received within 30 days of current permit expiration. 
   Application fee:  $25.00 

 

  Applicant Information Collection and Use 
The information collected during the application process is used to determine eligibility. You are not legally 
obligated to provide any of the information requested. If you do not provide the information the Board may be 
unable to process your application resulting in the application process being delayed or the application being denied. 
  
The Board is required to have licensee Social Security number on file by Minnesota Statute 270C.72 and cannot 
issue a license without having the number.  Your Social Security number may be requested by and released to the 
Minnesota Commissioner of revenue and may be used for revenue recapture as authorized by Minnesota 
Statute.  Minnesota Statute 13.355 classifies Social Security numbers as private data on individuals and your Social 
Security Number will not be released except as specifically authorized by law. 
  
Upon issuance of a certificate, license, or registration all information provided during the application process will 
become public information pursuant to Minnesota Statute Chapter 13.41 Subd. 5, with the exception of Social 
Security Numbers as specified above.  
   
 
   STUDENT INFORMATION 

Last Name First Name Middle Initial Gender 
___M   ___F    

Address: Telephone Number 

City State Zip Code County 

Date of Birth (required) 
 

Social Security Number (required) 
 

E-mail address (optional) 

School Currently Attending: Expiring Student Permit # : 
 
Permit Expiration Date: 
(must be within 30 days of application date) 
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All barber applicants in the State of Minnesota must answer the following questions. If you answer yes to any of 
these questions, you must provide the additional documentation as listed. 
 

1. Have you ever held a barber certificate/license in another State or Country?  
If yes, list the certificate/license type and the State/Country in which you were certified/licensed: 

o Yes 
 

o No 
2. Has any professional or occupational license, certification, registration, or permit 

held by you been fined, suspended, revoked, refused or denied in this or any other 
state, by the federal government, or any other jurisdiction? 
 If yes, you must attach all of the following: 
• A written statement signed and dated by the applicant identifying the type of 

license, certificate, registration or permit and an explanation of each incident 
including the jurisdiction. 

• A copy of the official document which establishes the resolution or final 
judgment. 

o Yes 
 

o No 
 
 

3. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursuant to Minnesota 
Statute 270C.72 that you currently owe the State of Minnesota any delinquent 
taxes?    If yes, attach a signed, dated explanation including payment plan or resolution 

o Yes 
 

o No 
 

Student Barber Responsibilities 
Your signature on this application indicates that you have read, and understand the following: 

 

Student Permit 
Your student permit is valid for 15 months.  It may be renewed one time. 
 
You are allowed to practice barbering in the barber school only.  If you are found to be practicing barbering in 
any other setting you will be considered to be barbering without a license or registration and your permit will 
become subject to disciplinary action which may include, but not be limited to: penalty fees, suspension, denial, 
or revocation. 
 

Communicable Disease 
You may not practice barbering while having an infectious or contagious disease.  By signing this application 
you certify that you currently do not have an infectious or contagious disease. 
 

Sanitation 
Minnesota Statute 154.19 states in part: “…For the purposes of this section, barbers, students, apprentices, or 
the proprietor or manager of a barber shop, or barber school or barber college, shall be responsible for all 
violations of the sanitary provisions of this section….”  
 
Therefore as a student you are responsible for all sanitation practices including the cleanliness of the school 
subject to inspection and the statutes and rules governing barbering. 
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Name Change 
If you have a change of name, please notify the board in writing and include a photo copy of the legal document 
that changed your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc…) 
 

Address Change 
An address change can be completed over the telephone, by fax, in person or by e-mail. It is your responsibility 
to inform the board or it may prevent or delay receipt of important Board communications.  
 

Barber Laws and Rules 
As a barber you must comply with the provisions of Minnesota Statute Chapter 154 and Minnesota Rules 
Chapter 2100. 
 
Copies of the Minnesota Barber Laws and Rules may be purchased from the Minnesota Bookstore 651-297-
3000 located at 660 Olive Street, St. Paul, or found at: www.leg.state.mn.us 
 

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 
I certify that I have read and understand the information provided above and that the information I have 
included within this application is true and correct.  
 
 
_________________________________________  ________________________ 
Signature of Applicant     Date 
 
Subscribed and sworn before me this _____day of _______________, 20______. 
  
 Notary Seal       
       _____________________________________ 
       Notary Public 
       County: ______________________________ 
        

My Commission Expires: _________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
8/2015 

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling 
651-201-2820 or through the Minnesota Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529. 

An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 
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