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 STIPULATION 

 Lisa Mekka, D.V.M. (“Licensee”), and the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine 

(“Board”), by its Complaint Review Committee (“Committee”), agree the above-referenced 

matter may be resolved without trial of any issue or fact as follows: 

I. 

JURISDICTION 

 1. The Board is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes sections 156.001 to 

156.20 to license and regulate veterinarians and to take disciplinary action as appropriate. 

 2. Licensee holds a license from the Board to practice veterinary medicine in the 

State of Minnesota and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters 

referred to in this Stipulation and Order. 

II. 

 3. After a thorough review of the file, the Committee determined that this matter 

could be resolved by mail.  Licensee was advised by the Board's representatives that she may 

choose to be represented by legal counsel in this matter.  However, Licensee elected to forgo 

legal representation.   The Committee was represented by Bryan D. Huffman, Assistant Attorney 

General. 
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III. 

FACTS 

4. For purposes of Board of Veterinary Medicine proceedings only and without 

prejudice to Licensee in a proceeding in any other forum, the Board may consider the following 

as true: 

a. Licensee was licensed by the Board to practice veterinary medicine in the 

State of Minnesota on May 18, 2009. 

b. Veterinarians licensed in Minnesota must renew their licenses on a 

biennial basis.  Licensees on active status must, at the time of license renewal, certify their 

completion of 40 hours of veterinary continuing education for the previous two-year period. 

c. In accordance with Minn. R. 9100.1000, the Board conducted a routine 

audit of CE compliance for the two year licensure period, and Licensee was among those 

veterinarians randomly selected for auditing.   

d. On June 25, 2013, Licensee submitted the 2013 CE Audit Form to the 

Board.  Licensee could not provide documentation of completion of 40 hours of approved CE for 

the licensure period, and the completed form indicated that Licensee did not meet the continuing 

education requirements for license renewal. 

IV. 

LAWS 

 5. Licensee acknowledges that the facts and conduct described in section III above 

constitute violations of Minn. Stat. § 156.081, subd. 2(12) and Minn. R. 9100.1000, subp. 8.C(1) 

and (2), and are sufficient grounds for the remedy set forth below. 
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V. 

DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

 The parties agree the Board may take the following disciplinary action and require 

compliance with the following conditions: 

6. Licensee must pay a $1000 administrative penalty to the Board.  Payment must be 

sent to the Board of Veterinary Medicine c/o Julia Wilson, D.V.M., Executive Director, 

2829 University Avenue S.E., Suite 540, Minneapolis, MN 55414, and is due no later than 

60 days from the date of this Order. 

7. Within six months of the date of this Order, Licensee must complete and provide 

documentation to the Board of her completion of at least 21.5 hours of interactive veterinary 

continuing education hours, and at least 2 additional hours of either self-study or interactive 

continuing education to make up for the missing hours for the March 1, 2011 through February 

28, 2013 licensure period and provide satisfactory evidence of this continuing education to the 

Board.  These hours will not count toward the 40 hours of continuing education required for the 

March 1, 2013 through February 28, 2015 licensure period. 

 8. The Board may, in its discretion, audit Licensee’s continuing education 

compliance for the March 1, 2013 through February 28, 2015 licensure period.  

 9. Upon completing the terms and conditions of this Stipulation, Licensee may 

petition the Board for an unconditional license.  Upon petitioning, Licensee may be required to 

meet with the Committee, who will then make a recommendation to the full Board regarding 

Licensee’s petition.  Upon hearing Licensee’s petition, the Board may issue Licensee an 

unconditional licensees, continue or modify the conditions set forth in this document, or deny 

Licensee’s petition. 
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VI. 

CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITIONAL VIOLATIONS 

 10. If Licensee fails to comply with or violates this Stipulation and Consent Order the 

Committee may, in its discretion, seek additional discipline either by initiating a contested case 

proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 or by bringing the matter directly to the 

Board pursuant to the following procedure: 

  a. The Committee must schedule a hearing before the Board.  At least 

20 days before the hearing, the Committee must mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged 

by the Committee.  In addition, the notice must designate the time and place of the hearing.  

Within ten days after the notice is mailed, Licensee must submit a written response to the 

allegations.  If Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Board, the allegations may be 

deemed admitted. 

  b. The Committee, in its discretion, may schedule a conference with 

Licensee prior to the hearing before the Board to discuss the allegations and to attempt to resolve 

the allegations through agreement. 

  c. Prior to the hearing before the Board, the Committee and Licensee may 

submit affidavits and written argument in support of their positions.  At the hearing, the 

Committee and Licensee may present oral argument.  Argument may not refer to matters outside 

the record.  The evidentiary record must be limited to the affidavits submitted prior to the 

hearing and this Stipulation and Consent Order.  Unless stated otherwise in this Stipulation and 

Consent Order, the Committee will have the burden of proving by a preponderance of the 

evidence that a violation has occurred.  Licensee waives a hearing before an administrative law 
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judge, discovery, cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other procedures governing 

hearings pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14. 

  d. Licensee's correction of a violation prior to the conference, hearing, or 

meeting of the Board may be taken into account by the Board but will not limit the Board's 

authority to impose discipline for the violation.  A decision by the Committee not to seek 

discipline when it first learns of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek 

discipline for that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any time 

while Licensee's license is suspended or the suspension is stayed. 

  e. Following the hearing, the Board will deliberate confidentially.  If the 

allegations are not proved, the Board will dismiss the allegations.  If a violation is proved, the 

Board may impose additional discipline, including suspending, revocation, or limitation of 

Licensee’s license. 

  f. Nothing herein limits the Committee's or the Board's right to temporarily 

suspend Licensee's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 156.126, based on a violation 

of this Stipulation and Consent Order or based on conduct of Licensee not specifically referred to 

herein.   

11. If the Committee proves by a preponderance of the evidence that Licensee has 

violated this Stipulation and Order, the Board may require Licensee to pay costs of the 

proceedings.  The costs of the proceedings may include the cost paid by the Board to the Office 

of the Attorney General for investigative and legal services, the cost of reproducing records and 

documents, Board staff time, travel costs and expenses, and Board members’ per diem 

reimbursements, travel costs, and expenses. 
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VII. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

 12. In the event Licensee leaves Minnesota to reside or to practice outside of the state, 

Licensee must give the Board written notification of the new location, as well as dates of 

departure and return.  If Licensee leaves the state, the terms of this order continue to apply unless 

waived by the Board in writing. 

 13. Licensee waives the contested case hearing and all other procedures before the 

Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the Minnesota and United States constitutions, 

statutes, or rules. 

 14. Licensee waives any claims against the Board, the Minnesota Attorney General, 

the State of Minnesota, and their agents, employees, and representatives related to the 

investigation of the conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution of this Stipulation and 

Consent Order, which may otherwise be available to Licensee. 

 15. This Stipulation and Consent Order, the files, records, and proceedings associated 

with this matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its 

consideration of this matter. 

 16. Either party may seek enforcement of this Stipulation and Consent Order in any 

appropriate civil court. 

 17. Licensee has read, understands, and agrees to this Stipulation and Consent Order 

and has voluntarily signed the Stipulation and Consent Order.  Licensee is aware this Stipulation 

and Consent Order must be approved by the Board before it goes into effect.  The Board may 

either approve the Stipulation and Consent Order as proposed, approve it subject to specified 

change, or reject it.  If the changes are acceptable to Licensee, the Stipulation and Consent Order 



  

7 

will take effect and the order as modified will be issued.  If the changes are unacceptable to 

Licensee or the Board rejects the Stipulation and Consent Order, it will be of no effect except as 

specified in the following paragraph. 

 18. Licensee agrees that if the Board rejects this Stipulation and Consent Order or a 

lesser remedy than indicated in this settlement, and this case comes again before the Board, 

Licensee will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this 

Stipulation and Consent Order or of any records relating to it. 

 19. This Stipulation and Consent Order does not limit the Board's authority to 

proceed against Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on 

the basis of any act, conduct, or admission of Licensee which constitutes grounds for disciplinary 

action and which is not directly related to the specific facts and circumstances set forth in this 

document. 

VIII. 

DATA PRACTICES NOTICES 

 20. This Stipulation and Consent Order constitutes disciplinary action by the Board 

and is classified as public data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41, subdivision 5.  Data 

regarding this action will be provided to all entities and data banks as required by Federal law or 

consistent with Board policy.  While this Stipulation and Consent Order is in effect, information 

obtained by the Board pursuant to this Order is considered active investigative data on a licensed 

health professional, and as such, is classified as confidential data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 

section 13.41, subdivision 4. 

 21. The parties consider this Stipulation and Consent Order a settlement document 

under Rule 408 of the Federal Rules of Evidence and Rule 408 of the Minnesota Rules of 



22. This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no 

other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
COMPLAINT REVIEW COMMITTEE 

~Gt.~ /)VfV} 
Committee Member 

Dated: _5_-_J '-1_-__,___./<(,___ 

ORDER 

Upon consideration of the Stipulation and all the files, records and proceedings herein, 

the terms of the Stipulation are approved and adopted, and the recommended remedy set forth in 

-It-
the Stipulation is hereby issued as an Order of this Board effective this K day of 

MINNESOTA BOARD 
OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

~N~ 
Executive Director 




