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ONLINE LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS  

 
1. Read the laws that govern the practice of optometry in Minnesota. 

You will be asked to approve via electronic signature upon completing the online application stating that 
you have read Minn. Statutes Sections 148.52 through 148.62 and Contact Lens Prescriptions Minn. 

 Statutes Sections 145.711 through 145.714.    
 
2.  Read the rules established by the Minnesota Board of Optometry.  

You will be asked to approve via electronic signature upon completing the online application stating that 
you have read Minn. Rules 6500.0100 through 6500.2900. 

 
3. Before beginning the online application process, you will need detailed information to expedite the 

online process including.  Any missing documentation may delay processing of your application. 
a) Social Security number or Alien Registration Number. 
b) Degree dates – High School, Undergraduate and Optometric education. 
c) Current and former license numbers, dates issued and expired from Minnesota and/or any 
      other jurisdictions, if applicable. 
d) Practical Experience. 
e) Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit card to pay all fees. 

 
4. Complete the online application. 

a) Enter your name the way you want it to appear on your Official License Certificate. 
b) The name you enter must exactly match the name on the supporting documents, or 

documentation of formal name change must be submitted. 
 
5. Submit the following to the board office:  

a) Certified transcripts of non-optometric college education must be sent directly from your 
school or college. 

b) Certified transcript of optometric education (must show degree conferred) and must be sent 
directly from your school or college of Optometry.   

c) Certified copy of N.B.E.O Examination results, Part I, Part II, Part III and TMOD must be 
sent directly to the board office from the NBEO. 

d) State Law Exam, this examination must be completed prior to the Board's review of your 
application. 

• Applicants may choose to take the Minnesota Law Examination online through the 
National Board of Examiners in Optometry (N.B.E.O.) www.optometry.org or at the 
office of the Minnesota Board of Optometry by appointment. 

e) Two (2) letters of recommendation attesting to the moral and ethical character of the applicant. 
• One letter is to be from a practicing optometrist in good standing who has personal 

knowledge of applicant. 
f) License Verification if currently or previously licensed in another state(s), contact each 

jurisdiction to have a License Verification sent to the Minnesota Board. 
 
 



 
 
6.   Fees for Licensure.   
  Application Fee    $160.00         

Total Due     $160.00      

YOU MUST SUBMIT THE APPLICATION FEE  

Level Licensure Statement 
As of January 1, 2013, all Minnesota Licensed Optometrists meet therapeutic certification standards 
(TPA) and are considered as meeting nationally recognized TMOD requirements.  This level licensure 
standard is all inclusive of any former education including, but not limited to DPA, TPA certifications if 
the Minnesota licensed O.D. is currently or initially licensed after January 1, 2013.   One license 
certificate is issued which encompasses DPA, TPA and full licensure as a Minnesota Licensed 
Optometric Doctor, O.D.  

7. Deadlines for submission of applications are: 

Licenses will be issue within two weeks of receiving the application, fees and all appropriate 
documentation to the board office.   

 
8. All licenses expire December 31 of each year. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


