
What EMS Providers 
Need to Know

EMERGENCY

“Give Life a �ance“ 
What does 

the law state?

The Challenge
Recent tragedies involving abandoned infants over
the last few years in Minnesota have created cause for concern.

“This amendment strengthens our law, ensuring children are safe, and giving frightened, sometimes
distraught mothers an option if the are unable to care for their newborns.”

Lucinda Jesson
Commissioner

Minn. Dept. of Human Services

EMS providers play a key role in carrying out this revised legislation.

You are immune from criminal or 
civil liability if you act in good faith

Questions?
Contact O.J. Doyle at 952-200-9513 or OJ4EMS@aol.com or

 Debbie Gillquist at 651-775-7400 or debgillquist@mnems.org

For more information, visit 
www.dhs.state.mn.us

www.mnems.org 

The Solution 
Legislation was amended to provide 

a safe and anonymous alternative to abandonment.

Must be handed over unharmed 
to an employee of the “safe place”

Must be handed over unharmed 
to an employee of the “safe place”

A newborn baby: 1 hour to 7 days old

May be dropped o� at a “Safe Place”         
Hospital

Urgent care
Ambulance Service 

(in response to a 911 call)

Do's Dont's
1) Accept the baby, no questions asked. 

2)Transport newborn
 to a hospital.

1) Ask identity of baby, mother or 
designated person.

2) Call the police.

What is the name of the law?
"Give Life a Chance"

When did the law take effect?
August 1, 2012

What was the law called previously?

The "Safe Place for Newborns" law

LAW

www.mnems.org
Minnesota Ambulance Association
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The “Give Life a Chance” law provides safe and anonymous alternative places for

mothers (or a person acting with her permission) in Minnesota to leave their newborn
child without questions if they are unable to care for them.

Formerly known as the “Safe Place for Newborns” law, it was amended in 2012 and took e�ect on Aug. 1, 2012.
This Minnesota child welfare initiative is in response to tragedies involving

abandoned infants over the last several years. It provides a safe and anonymous alternative to abandonment.
The Minnesota Legislature, the Minnesota Department of Human Services and the

Minnesota Ambulance Association worked together to expand the current law.

The “Give Life a Chance” law states that a newborn:
Is de�ned as a child who is newborn to 7 days old.

May be dropped o� at a “safe place”, which includes a:
Hospital

Urgent care facility during its hours of operation
Ambulance service licensed under chapter 144E dispatched in response to a

911 call from a mother or a person with the mother’s permission to relinquish a newborn infant.
Must be handed over unharmed to an employee of the “safe place”.

Emergency medical service (EMS) providers play a key role in carrying out this revised legislation.
  Safe place personnel, including ambulance personnel, are immune from criminal or

civil liability if they are acting in good faith. 

The amended law requires that:

An ambulance crew must accept the baby “no questions asked”.
The ambulance crew may not ask the identity of the baby, mother, or person

with the mother’s permission and police are not to be called.
An ambulance receiving a newborn must transport the newborn to the hospital.

If the newborn is left at an urgent care center, employees are to call 911 and advise
the dispatchers that the call is being made from a safe place for newborns and ask the
dispatcher to send an ambulance or take another appropriate action to transport the

child to a hospital.

Situations not covered by the law:

The “Give Life a Chance” law does not apply if a mother admits herself into the
hospital for the birth and provides identifying information

 (even if she wants to place her child under the law).
Once a delivery occurs at a hospital, it creates a vital record and anonymity is no longer possible.


