BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY
In the Matter of STIPULATION AND ORDER
Robin L. Enstad, 1..D.A. FOR CONDITIONA]L LICENSE
License No. A9145
STIPULATION

Robin L. Enstad, LI}.A. (“Licensee”) and the Minnesota Board of Dentistry’s
Licensure/Credential Committee (“Committee™) agree the above-referenced matter may be
resolved without trial of any issue or fact as follows:

L.
JURISDICTION

1. The Minnesota Board of Dentistry (“Board”) is authorized pursuant to Minn. Stat.
ch. 150A, §214.10, and §214.103 to license and regulate dental assistants and to take
disciplinary action when appropriate.

2. Licensee holds a license to practice dental assisting in the State of Minnesota
from the Board and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters referred
1o in this Stipulation and Order.

1L
CONFERENCE

3. On September 7, 2012, Licensee appeared before the Committee composed of
Board member, Joan Sheppard, D.D.S., to discuss allegations made in a Notice of Conference
dated May 14, 2012. Geoffrey S. Karls, Assistant Attorney General, represented the Committee

at the conference.



4, Although Licensee was informed at the conference that she could be represented
by legal counsel, Licensee has knowingly and voluntarily waived that opportunity.
III.
FACTS
5. The parties agree this Stipulation and Order is based upon the following facts:
Unprofessional Conduct / Admission of Guilt to Felony Charge
a. Licensee engaged in personal conduct which brings discredit to the
profession of dental assisting, as follows:

D On January 6, 2010, Licensee pleaded guilty to a felony charge of
5™ degree possession of a controlled substance. Licensee was sentenced to 15 days in jail and
three years of supervised probation with various conditions.

2) On January 24, 2011, Licensee received an Amended Stay of
Imposition for a probation violation and was sentenced to 45 days in jail.

3) On August 17, 2011, Licensee received an Amended Sentence for
a probation violation. Licensee was committed to the Minnesota Correctional Facility in
Shakopee, Minnesota for a term of 12 months and one day.

Failure of Professional Development Portfolio Audits and Non-cooperation
b. Licensee failed to meet her professional development requirements when a
designated professional development audit was conducted by the Board pursuant to Minnesota
Rules part 3100.5300. Licensee failed professional development audits conducted for three
consecutive cycle periods: July 1, 2004 to July 31, 2007 (most credit hours earned outside of
cycle period); August I, 2007 to July 31, 2009 (most credit hours earned outside of cycle
period); and August 1, 2009 to July 31, 2011. For the third cycle period, Licensee failed to

respond or cooperate with the Board’s request to audit her professional development portfolio.



c. On October 1, 2011, Licensee’s license to practice dental assisting was
terminated by the Board, due to failure to renew. Thereafter, the Board provided Licensee with
an application for reinstatement of her dental assisting license.

IV.
LAWS
6. Licensee acknowledges the conduct described in section HI. above constitutes a
violation of Minn. Stat. §150A.08, subd. 1(5), (6}, and (13), Minn. R. 3100.5300, 3100.6200 A,
3100.6200 J, and 3100.6350, and justifies the disciplinary action described in section V. below.
V.
DISCIPLINARY ACTION
The parties agree the Board may take the following disciplinary action and require
compliance with the following terms:
7. The Board shall reinstate Licensee’s license to practice dental assisting in the
State of Minnesota at such time as Licensee has completed all applicable requirements outlined
within Minnesota Rules part 3100.1850.
CONDITION
8. The Board places the following CONDITION on Licensee’s license:

a. Participation in HPSP.

1) Within 14 days after the effective date of this Order, Licensee
shall enroll in HPSP in the State of Minnesota for monitoring of her chemical dependency
recovery. Licensee shall provide HPSP with a copy of this Stipulation and Order at the
time of enrollment. Licensee must return the signed Participation Agreement to HPSP
within 14 days of receiving the Participation Agreement from HPSP. Failure to meet either

of these deadlines will be considered a violation of this Order.,



2) Licensee shall be monitored by HPSP until HPSP determines
Licensee is qualified to practice without conditions.

3} Licensee shall comply with all provisions of her HPSP
Participation Agreement, including revisions subsequent to this Order. Licensee's failure to
comply with her HPSP Participation Agreement shall be considered a violation of this Order.

43 Licensee shall totally abstain from ingesting, injecting, or
otherwise taking or using any mood-altering chemical or drug, including, but not limited to
alcohol. This prohibition does not apply to legend drugs, including controlled substances,
which are prescribed for Licensee by a licensed physician or dentist as part of a course of
treatment.

Removal of Conditions

9. The conditions upon Licensee’s license shall be administratively removed upon
Licensee’s satisfactory completion of the disciplinary action contained within this Stipulation
and Order. The Board’s Executive Director will send written notification to the Licensee
regarding the removal of the conditions from Licensee’s license to practice dental assisting.

VL.
CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITIONAL VIOLATIONS

10. Licensee shall comply with the laws or rules of the Board of Dentistry. Licensee
agrees that failure to comply with the Board’s laws or rules shall be a violation of this Stipulation
and Order.

11 In Licensee’s practice of dentistry, Licensee shall comply with the most current
infection control requirements of Minnesota Rules parts 3100.6300 and 6950.1000 to 6950.1080,
and with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Service, and the United

States Department of Health and Human Services.



12.  Licensee shall fully and promptly cooperate with the Board’s reasonable requests
concerning compliance with this Stipulation and Order, including requests for explanations,
documents, office inspections, or appearances at conferences. Minnesota Rules part 3100.6350
shall be applicable to such requests.

13. It is Licensee’s responsibility to ensure all payments, reports, evaluations, and
documentation required to be filed with the Board pursuant to this Stipulation and Order are
timely filed by those preparing the payment, report, evaluation, or documentation. Failure to file
payments, reports, evaluations, and documentation on or before their due date is a violation of
this Stipulation and Order.

Imposition of Fine

14.  If information or a report required by this Stipulation and Order is not submitted
to the Board by the due date, or if Licensee otherwise violates this Stipulation and Order, the
Committee may fine Licensee $100 per late report or other violation. Licensee shall pay the fine
and correct the violation within five days after service on Licensee of a demand for payment and
correction. If Licensee fails to do so, the Committee may impose additional fines not to exceed
$500 per violation. The total of all fines may not exceed $5,000. Licensee waives the right to
seek review of the imposition of these fines under the Administrative Procedure Act, by writ of
certiorari under Minnesota Statutes section 480A.06, by application to the Board, or otherwise.
Neither the imposition of fines nor correction of the violation will deprive the Board of the right
to impose additional discipline based on the violation.

Noncompliance or Vielation With Stipulation and Order

[5.  If Licensee fails to comply with or violates this Stipulation and Order or it is

determined Licensee has further violated Minnesota Statutes chapter 150A or Minnesota Rules

chapter 3100, the Committee may, in its discretion, seek additional discipline either by initiating



a contested case proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 or by bringing the matter
directly to the Board pursuant to the following procedure:

a. The Committee shall schedule a hearing before the Board. At least ten
days prior to the hearing, the Committee shall mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged
by the Committee. In addition, the notice shall designate the time and place of the hearing.
Within seven days after the notice is mailed, Licensee shall submit a written response to the
allegations. If Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Board, the allegations may be
deemed admitted.

b. The Committee, in its discretion, may schedule a conference with the
Licensee prior to the hearing before the Board to discuss the allegations and to attempt to resolve
the allegations through the procedures of Minnesota Statutes Section 214.103, subdivision 6.

c. Prior to the hearing before the Board, the Committee and Licensee may
submit affidavits and written argument in support of their positions. At the hearing, the
Committee and Licensee may present oral argument. Argument shall not refer to matters outside
the record. The evidentiary record shall be limited to the affidavits submitted prior to the
hearing and this Stipulation and Order. The Committee shall have the burden of proving by a
preponderance of the evidence that a violation has occurred. If Licensee has failed to submit a
timely response to the allegations, Licensee may not contest the allegations, but may present
argument concerning the appropriateness of additional discipline. Licensee waives a hearing
before an administrative law judge, discovery, cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other
procedures governing hearings pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14.

d. Licensee's correction of a violation prior to the conference, hearing or
meeting of the Board may be taken into account by the Board but shall not limit the Board's

authority to impose discipline for the violation. A decision by the Committee not to seek



discipline when it first learns of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek
discipline for that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any time
while this order is in effect.

€. Following the hearing, the Board will deliberate confidentially. If the
allegations are not proved, the Board will dismiss the allegations. If a violation is proved, the
Board may impose additional discipline, including addittonal conditions or limitations on
Licensee's practice, suspension, or revocation of Licensee's license.

f. Nothing herein shall {imit the Committee's or the Board's right to
temporarily suspend Licensee's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section [50A.08,
subdivision 8, based on a violation of this Stipulation and Order or based on conduct of Licensee
not specifically referred to herein.

VIL
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

16.  Within ten days of execution of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee shall provide
the Board with the names of all states in which Licensee is licensed to practice as a dental
professional or holds any other professional or occupational license or registration.

17. I while residing or practicing in Minnesota, Licensee should become employed at
any other dental clinic or facility or move, Licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the new
address and telephone number within ten days.

18.  In the event Licensee should leave Minnesota to reside or to practice outside of
the state, Licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the new address and telephone number
within ten days. Periods of residency or practice outside of Minnesota will not apply to the

reduction of any period of Licensee’s discipline in Minnesota unless Licensee demonstrates that



practice in another state conforms completely to this Stipulation and Order. If Licensee leaves
the state, the terms of this order continue to apply unless waived in writing.

19. Licensee waives the contested case hearing and all other procedures before the
Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the Minnesota and United States constitutions,
statutes, or rules.

20.  Licensee waives any claims against the Board, the Minnesota Attorney General,
the State of Minnesota, and their agents, employees, and representatives related to the
investigation of the conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution of this Stipulation and Order,
which may otherwise be available to Licensee.

21. This Stipulation and Order, the files, records, and proceedings associated with
this matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its
consideration of this matter.

22.  Either party may seek enforcement of this Stipulation and Order in any
appropriate civil court,

23. Licensee has read, understands, and agrees to this Stipulation and Order and has
voluntarily signed this Stipulation and Order. Licensee is aware this Stipulation and Order must
be approved by the Board before it goes into effect. The Board may approve the Stipulation and
Order as proposed, approve it subject to specified change, or reject it. If the changes are
acceptable to Licensee, the Stipulation and Order will take effect and the order as modified will
be issued. If the changes are unacceptable to Licensee or the Board rejects the Stipulation and
Order, it will be of no effect except as specified in the following paragraph.

24.  Licensee agrees that if the Board rejects this Stipulation and Order or a lesser

remedy than indicated in this settlement, and this case comes again before the Board, Licensee



will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this
Stipulation and Order or of any records relating to it.

25.  This Stipulation and Order shall not limit the Board's authority to proceed against
Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any
act, conduct, or admission of Licensee which constitutes grounds for disciplinary action and
which is not directly related to the specific facts and circumstances set forth in this document.

VIIL
DATA PRACTICES NOTICES

26.  This Stipulation and Order constitutes disciplinary action by the Board and is
classified as public data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41, subdivision 5. Data
regarding this action will be provided to data banks as required by Federal law or consistent with
Board policy. While this Stipulation and Order is in effect, information obtained by the Board
pursuant to this Order is considered active investigative data on a licensed health professional,
and as such, is classified as confidential data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41,
subdivision 4.

27.  This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no

other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation.
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ORDER
Upon consideration of the foregoing Stipulation and based upon all the files, records, and
proceedings herein,
The terms of the Stipulation are approved and adopted, and the recommended

disciplinary action set forth in the Stipulation is hereby issued as an Order of this Board effective

. st S
this 27" day of {%-.jférgmlw 2012

MINNESOTA BOARD
OF DENTISTRY

EAL BENJAMIN, D.D.S.
President
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