
BET'ORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF'DENTISTRY

In the Matter of
Meaghan E. Wagnet, L.D.A.
License No. 413085

STIPULATION AND ORDER
FOR STAYED SUSPENSION

AND CONDITIONAL LICENSE

STIPULATION

Meaghan E. Wagner, L.D.A. ('Licensee') und the Minnesota Board of Dentistry's

Complaint Committee ("Committee") agree the above-referenced matter may be resolved

without trial of any issue or fact as follows:

L

JURISDICTION

L The Minnesota Board of Dentistry ("Board") is authotized pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes chapter 1504, section 214.10, and section 2I4.I03 to license and regulate licensed

dental assistants and to take disciplinary action.

2. Licensee holds a license from the Board to practice dental assisting in the State of

Minnesota and is subject to the julisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters referred to in

this Stþulation and Order.

II.

CONF'ERENCE

3. On October 22, 2015, Licensee appeared before the Committee, composed of

Board members Teri Youngdahl, L.D.A., John Manahan, J.D., and Douglas Wolff, D'D.S', to

discuss allegations made in a Notice of Conference dated September 8, 2015. Caitlin M' Grom,

Assistant Attorney General, represented thc Committee at the conference.



4. Although Licensee was informed that she could be represented by legal counsel,

Licensee has knowingly and voluntarily waived that opportunity.

III.

FACTS

5. The parties agree this Stipulation and Order is based upon the following facts:

a. Licensee engaged in personal conduct that brings discredit to the

profession of dental assisting and may be unable to practice dental assisting with reasonable skill

and safety due to a physical, mental, emotional, or other disability' Examples include the

following:

1) On August 29, 2014, the Board received a complaint against

Licensee regarding her inappropdately prescribing a controlled substance' After reviewing the

complaint, the Committee refemed the matter to the Minnesota Attorney General's office for

investigation and decided to serve upon Licensee a Stipulation to Cease Practicing Dentistry. On

January 26,2015, Licensee agreed to and signed the Stipulation to Cease Practicing Dentistry

(*2015 Stipulation to Cease") that prohibited Licensee from practicing as a licensed dental

assistant in any manner in the State of Minnesota until the Board issues its Final Order.

Z) According to court records and police reports obtained during the

investigation, Licensee has been charged with the following criminal offenses and convicted of

one felony offense:

a) On June 20,2013, Licensee was charged with theft, $500

or less, in St. Louis County-Duluth. Licensee had stolen nine articles of clothing from a local

store totaling $287 on June 18, 2013. On August 19,2013, the matter was dismissed after

Licensee completed community service'

2



b) On October 22,201{ Licensee was charged with a felony

controlled substance crime in the fifth degree in St. Louis County-Virginia. Licensee had

phoned in false prescriptions for Lortab and an antibiotic to a local pharmacy without her current

employer's authorization for her own personal use on August 74,2014. On May 28, 2015, in St.

Louis County District Court, State of Minnesota, Licensee pleaded guilty to a charge of

ProcureÆossess/Control a Controlled Substance in the Fifth Degree by Fraud or Deceit in

violation of Minnesota Statutes section 152.025, subdivision 2(bX2Xi). As a result, Licensee

entered into a Statutory Stay of Adjudication with the court.

c) On November 14, 2014, Licensee was charged with two

felony counts for check forgery in St. Louis County-Hibbing. Licensee had stolen and forged 46

checks from the business accorurt of a former employer totaling $56,126 from May 2013 to

November 2014. On May 28, 2015, in St. Louis County District Court, State of Minnesota,

Licensee pleaded guilty to a charge of Check Forgery in violation of Minnesota Statutes section

609.631, subdivision 2(1). Licensee was convicted of the felony offense.

d) On November 14, 2074, Licensee was charged with a

felony for procwing a controlled substance in the frfth degree in St. Louis County-Hibbing.

Licensee had written numerous prescriptions for Lortab without her former employer's

authorization for her own personal use from April 2010 to December 2013. On May 28,2075,irt

St. Louis Cowrty District Court, State of Minnesota, the courl dismissed the charge against

Licensee.

3) On Augus|28,2015, Licensee contacted the Health Professionals

Services Program ("HPSP") to participate in monitoring as directed by the Board's confidential

referral letter.
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4) On October 21, 2015, the HPSP received Licensee's signed

participation Agreement and Monitoring Plan to monitor her substance disorder'

rv.

LAWS

6, Licensee acknowledges the conduct described in section III. above constitutes a

violation of Minnesota Statutes section 1504.08, subdivisions 1(6) and (8), Minnesota Rules

3100.6200 A, and justifies the disciplinary action described in section V. below'

v.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION

The parties agree the Board may take the foltowing disciplinary action and require

comptiance with the following terms:

STAYED SUSPENSION

7. The Board hereby RESCINDS the January 26,2015, Stipulation to Cease

practicing Dentistry, and SUSpENDS Licensee's license to practice dental assisting. The

suspension is STAyED in its entirety, so long as Licensee complies with the following

conditions:

CONDITIONS OF STAYED SUSPDNSION

g. The Board places the following CONDITIONS on Licensee's license:

a. ParticiPation in TIPSP'

1) Licensee must continue with her participation in the HPSP for

monitoring of her chemical dependency recovery. Licensee shall provide the HPSP with a

copy of this stipulation and order after being adopted by the Board.
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2) Licensee shall be monitored by HPSP until HPSP determines

Licensee is qualifred to practice without conditions.

3) Licensee shall comply with all provisions of her HPSP

Participation Agreement, including revisions subsequent to this Order. Licensee's faiture to

comply with her HPSP Participation Agreement shall be considered a violation of this Order.

4) Licensee shall totally abstain from ingesting, injecting, or

otherwise taking or using any mood-altering chemical or drtlg, including, but not limited to

alcohol, This prohibition does not apply to legend drugs, including controlled substances,

which are prescribed for Licensee by a licensed physician or dentist as part of a course of

treatment.

Removal of StaYed SusPension

g. The stayed suspension of Licensee's license shall be administratively removed

upon Licensee's satisfactory completion of the disciplinary action contained within this

Stipulation and Order. The Board's Executive Director will send written notihcation to the

Licensee regarding the removal of the stayed suspension from Licensee's license to practice

dental assisting.

vI.

CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITTONAL VIOLATIONS

10. Licensee shall comply with the laws or rules of the Board of Dentistry. Licensee

agrees that failure to comply withthe Board's laws or rules shall be a violation of this Stipulation

and Order.

11. Licensee shalt fully and promptly cooperate with the Board's reasonable requests

concerning compliance with this Stipulation and Order, including requests for explanations,
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documents, ofhce inspections, or appearances at conferences. Minnesota Rules 3100.6350 shall

be applicable to such requests.

12. It is Licensee's responsibility to ensure all payments, reports, evaluations, and

documentation required to be frled with the Board pursuant to this Stipulation and Order are

timely filed by those preparing the payment, report, evaluation, or documentation. Failure to file

payments, reports, evaluations, and documentation on or before theit due date is a violation of

this Stipulation and Order.

Imposition of Fine

13. If information or a report required by this Stipulation and Order is not submitted

to the Board by the due date, or if Licensee otherwise violates this Stþulation and Order, the

Committee may hne Licensee $100 per late report or other violation. Licensee shall pay the fine

and correct the violation within five days after service on Licensee of a demand for payment and

correction. If Licensee fails to do so, the Committee may impose additional fines not to exceed

$500 per violation. The total of all fines may not exceed $5,000. Licensee waives the right to

seek review of the imposition of these fines under the Administrative Procedure Act, by writ of

certiorari under Minnesota Statutes section 4804.06, by application to the Board, or otherwise.

Neither the imposition of fines nor correction of the violation will deprive the Board of the right

to impose additional discipline based on the violation.

Order of Removal of Stayed Suspension

14. If the Committee has probable cause to believe Licensee has failed to comply

with or has violated any of the requirements for staying the suspension as outlined in paragraphs

7 and 8 above, the Committee may remove the stay pursuant to the procedures outlined in

parugraph 15 below, with the following additions and exceptions:
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a. The removal of the stayed suspension shall take effect upon service of an

Order of Removal of Stayed Suspension ("Order of Removal"). Licensee agrees that the

Committee is authorized to issue an Order of Removal, which shall remain in effect and shall

have the fi,rll force and effect of an order of the Board until the Board makes a final

determination pursuant to the procedures outlined in paragraph 15 below or until the complaint is

dismissed and the order is rescinded by the Committee. The Order of Removal shall confirm the

Committee has probable cause to believe Licensee has failed to comply with or has violated one

or more of the requirements for staying the suspension of Licensee's license. Licensee filrther

agrees an Order of Removal issued pusuant to this paragraph shall be deemed a public

document under the Miruresota Govemment Data Practices Act. Licensee waives any right to a

conference or hearing before removal of the stayed suspension.

b. The Committee shall schedule the hearing pursuant to paragraph l5 below

to be held within 60 days of service of the Order of Removal.

Noncompliance or Violation With Stipulation and Order

15. If Licensee fails to comply with or violates this Stipulation and Order or it is

determined Licensee has further violated Minnesota Statutes chapter l50A or Minnesota Rules

chapter 3100, the Committee may, in its discretion, seek additional discipline either by initiating

a contested case proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 ot by bringing the matter

directly to the Board pursuant to the following procedure:

a.. The Committee shall schedule a hearing before the Board. At least ten

days prior to the hearing, the Committee shall mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged

by the Committee. In addition, the notice shall designate the time and place of the hearing.

Within seven days after the notice is mailed, Licensee shall submit a written response to the
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allegations. If Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Board, the allegations may be

deemed admitted.

b. The Committee, in its dissretion, may schedule a conference with the

Licensee prior to the hearing before the Board to discuss the allegations and to attempt to resolve

the allegations through the procedures of Minnesota Statutes Section 2I4.1Q3, subdivision 6.

c. Prior to the hearing before the Board, the Committee and Licensee may

submit aff,rdavits and wïitten argument in support of their positions. At the heating, the

Committee and Licensee may present oral argument. Algurnent shall not refbr to matters outside

the record. The evidentiary record shall be limited to the affidavits submitted prior to the

hearing and this Stipulation and Order. The Committee shall have the burden of proving by a

preponderance of the evidence that a violation has occuned. If Licensee has failed to submit a

timely response to the allegations, Licensee may not contest the allegations, but may present

argument concerning the appropriateness of additional discipline. Licensee waives a hearing

before an administrative law judge, discovery, çross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other

procedures governing hearings pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14.

d. Licensee's correction of a violation prior to the conference, hearing or

meeting of the Board may be taken into account by the Board but shall not limit the Board's

authority to impose discipline for the violation. A decision by the Committee not to seek

discipline when it first learns of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek

discipline for that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any time

while this order is in effect.

e. Following the hearing, the Board wilt deliberate confidentially. If the

allegations are not proved, the Board will dismiss the allegations. If a violation is proved, the
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Board may impose additional discipline, including additional conditions or limitations on

Licensee's practice, suspension, or revocation of Licensee's license.

f. Nothing herein shall limit the Committee's or the Board's right to,

temporarily suspend Licensee's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 1504.08,

subdivision 8, based on a violation of this Stipulation and Order or based on conduct of Licensee

not specifically referred to herein.

VII.

ADDITIONAL INF'ORMATION

16. Within ten days of execution of this Stipulation ancl Order, Licensee shall provide

the Board with the names of all states in which Licensee is licensed to practice as a dental

professional or holds any other professional or occupational license or registration.

17. If while residing or practicing in Mimesota, Licensee should become employed at

any other dental clinic or facilþ or move, Licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the new

address and telephone number within ten days.

18. In the event Licensee should leave Minnesota to reside or to practice outside of

the state, Licensee shall notiff the Board in writing of the new address and telephone number

within ten days. Periods of residency or practice outside of Minnesota will not apply to the

reduction of any period of Licensee's discipline in Minnesota unless Licensee dsmonstrates that

practice in another state conforms completely to this Stipulation and Order. If Licensee leaves

the state, the terms of this order continue to apply unless waived in writing.

19. Licensee waives the contested case hearing and all other procedures before the

Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the Minnesota and United States constitutions

statutes, or rules.
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20. Licensee waives any claims against the Board, the Minnesota Attorney General,

the State of Minnesota, and theìr agents, employees, md representatives related to the

investigation of the conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution of this Stipulation and Order,

which may otherwise be available to Licensee.

21. This Stipulation and Order, the files, records, and proceedings associated with

this matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its

consideration of this matter.

22. Either party may seek enforcement of tlús Stipulation and Order in any

appropriate civil court.

23. Licensee has read, understands, and agrees to this Stipulation and Order and has

voluntarily signed this Stþulation and Order. Licensee is aware this Stipulation and Order must

be approved by the Board before it goes into effect. The Board may approve the Stipulation and

Order as proposed, approve it subject to specified change, or reject it. If the changes are

acceptable to Licensee, the Stipulation and Order will take effect and the order as modified will

be issued. If the changes are unacceptable to Licensee or the Board rejects the Stipulation and

Order, it will be of no effect except as specified in the frrllowing paragraph.

24. Licensee agrees that if the Boarci rejects this Stipulation and Order or a lesser

remedy than indicated in this settlement, and this case comes again before the Board, Licensee

will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this

Stipulation and Order or of any records relating to it,

25. This Stipulation and Order shall not limit the Board's authority to proceed against

Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any
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act, conduct, or admission of Licensee which constitutes grounds for disciplinary action and

which is not directly related to the specific facts and circumstances set forth in this document.

VIIL

DATA PRACTICES NOTICES

26. This Stipulation and Order constitutes disciplinary action by the Board and is

classified as public data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.4I, subdivision 5. Data

regarding this action will be provided to data banks as required by Federal law or consistent with

Board policy, While this Stipulation and Order is in effect, information obtained by the Board

pursuant to this Order is considered active investigative data on a licensed health professional,

and as such, is classified as confidential data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.4t,

subdivision 4.

27. This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no

other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation.

LICENSEE COMPLAINT COMMITTEE

l4lual,onh/darur By Qrrat
MeÁcgþ.N'e. ún$.nR, L.D.A.

Dated: /glq I ,glt

JOYCE NEL Ñ, T.b.R.
Interim Executive Director

t2 I iltf2015 Dated: 20
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ORDER

Upon consideration of the foregoing Stipulation and based upon all the files, records, and

proceedings herein,

The terms of the Stþulation are approved and adopted, and the recommended

disciplinary action set forth in the Stipulation is hereby issued as an Ordet of this Board effective

this day of S.nt.a.r./ ,20u

By

MINNESOTA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Board
J
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