April 12, 2013
New Board of Animal Health rules now in effect
The Minnesota Board of Animal Health announced earlier this week that its new rules are now in effect. The Board has been working with livestock groups for over four years to adopt rules that allow the Board to control diseases and are sensible for Minnesota farmers.
Each month in Animal Bytes, one piece of the rules will be highlighted. The complete Board of Animal Health rules can be found on the State Revisor's website.
Rules Review: Cattle and Bison, Official Identification
Breeding cattle, rodeo cattle and all cattle for exhibition must be officially identified upon movement from the herd to another location.
Breeding cattle moving within Minnesota do not need official ID if they are consigned to a state/federal approved market or moving directly to slaughter or a slaughter-only handling facility.
New vaccination requirement for horses entering Canterbury Park
All horses first entering the Canterbury Park grounds must be accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection (CVI) issued within the past 10 days and a negative Coggins test certificate issued within 12 months of arrival at Canterbury Park.
All horses entering the stable area are required by Canterbury Park 2013 Horse Rule to be vaccinated for EHV-1 (Rhinopneumonitis or Herpes Virus) between 14 and 60 days prior to entry. Proof of vaccination must be included on the CVI. Horses with a CVI originating from a state with recorded active cases of Equine Piroplasmosis (EP) must also have a negative test for Babesia (Theileria) equi and Babesia caballi taken within the previous 12 months. This includes only Texas currently, but is subject to change if other states develop active cases.
Running Aces Harness Park entry requirements
All horses first entering the Running Aces Harness Park grounds must be accompanied by a CVI within the past 10 days and a negative Coggins test certificate issued within 12 months of arrival at Running Aces Harness Park.
Horses with a CVI originating from a state with recorded active cases EP must also have a negative test for Babesia (Theileria) equi and Babesia caballi taken within the previous 12 months. This includes only Texas currently, but is subject to change if other states develop active cases. All CVIs will be valid for 30 days and must also show vaccination for Equine Herpes Virus within the previous six months.
Change in federal interstate movement regulations
The U.S. Department of Agriculture recently announced a federal rule change relating to traceability of livestock. Please remember to call the state of destination prior to moving animals interstate as requirements have changed.